First Sail for SeaSaw - Page 3
Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Thread: First Sail for SeaSaw

Re: First Sail for SeaSaw

Mark and Johnno,

Awsome work mate. Did he put up a good display. My only sail for this season was a touch disappointing.

Interesting to read about the double hook rigs as I've switched a lot of my lures back to a single hook. I have been thinking that the switch may have had something to do with a few dropped fish I've been encountering.

I'm thinking of switching back to doubles on anything from micro cockroach and up.

Nice work

Bugman

noluck

Quote Originally Posted by jeffo
    no_luck

9 strikes, 9 hook ups, 8 captures or tags
    thanks jeffo

seasaw

traffic was bad sunday... how long were u ...........

"whats the time"

nice sail mate. Ive havent been lucky to land 1 yet. Have had 4 billfish over the years take livies ment for reef fish. Seen a alot of free jumpers lately as well

Sails are the most incredible looking things, congratulations on your first one.

The colours they flash are absolutely amazing.

Again, well done!!

Roz
    GO THE CRUISER UTES!

....OH WHAT A FEELING!

Quote Originally Posted by Big_Ren
    I was just wondering whether Johno's right hand was tingling after handling the sail's slime?
    Both Johno & I ended up with red itchy patches on our arms after handling the fish. So what is it that causes the itching?

Thanks Kev & Foggy for the help ID'ing the shark. I new the verminator would have a plenty of experience with sharks. It was light blue on the sides going to dark blue and then grey on top.

Dicer, I think the parasite was lodged deep under the skin.

Brett, The sail didn't put on as good a display as the previous black we got. It only jumped 5 or 6 times and we had it to the boat in under 10 minutes. I am even running double hooks in Uzi's at the moment, although the hooks are VERY close together, so it is probably not that smart. I reckon your luck hit rock bottom with that sail boat incident, so it can only get better from here.

Thanks everyone else for the comments. Bring on a blue

mark and john, top stuff [smiley=2thumbsup.gif] [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]
    looks like sea saw cant put a foot wrong.
    congrats.
    cheers dale

mark- its the parasites that cause the itchyness.... now you have both caught a billfish there is no need to bring them into the boat for a photo from now on

much better left in the drink (for you and the fish).

have heard some sad storys from fish being handled and rubbed, rubbing their slime off is not ideal!!

Ausfish Platinum Member Big_Ren's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by jeffo
    mark- its the parasites that cause the itchyness.... now you have both caught a billfish there is no need to bring them into the boat for a photo from now on

much better left in the drink (for you and the fish).

have heard some sad storys from fish being handled and rubbed, rubbing their slime off is not ideal!!
    It's funny Mark, I only learnt that when I was at the last Sunny Coast GFC meeting. I learnt that you can take away the itchiness with fresh water, but as soon as you wash your hands again in salt water, the itchiness/tinglininess returns. Damn parasites. Still workin on getting my hands itchy for the first time myself

Ranger 188VX - "Sweet Chariot"

Mark you guys are on fire
    Congrats mate i hope there's more to come.

Regards Greg

www.wickedfishing.com.au The place for wicked fish pics, articles and DVD's. Your ultimate reef fishing DVD "Double Island Point & Beyond" on sale now.