Thread: Sat & Sun off the GC

DaneCross

Sat & Sun off the GC

I'll try to make it short'n'sweet; Saturday morning we headed through the Seaway with JB and another mate on board, wasn't long before we came across 8-10 boats all casting slugs at the same tightly packed bait ball. It was mayhem with 20+ people all casting slugs from different directions. Tangles were common but there were enough people hooking up to spotties to keep everyone trying. JB managed to pull 2 nice spotties before things went quiet (I must say things might've fired for a lot longer if the w@nkers in a *name withheld* boat stopped running over the bait ball >). With 2 fat spotties in the esky we put out the marlin spread and headed wide. We trolled for about 5hrs for 1 striped tuna. We covered some ground too, made it as wide as 'Spot X' before heading for home.
    Sunday morning Brad_Watts and my Ol' Man went back in search of some more Mackerel fun. Signs weren't as obvious on the Sunday, so a spread of mackerel lures went out and we trolled the general vicinity of the day before. After about 30min of trolling we had a double hook up and managed to drop both. Not long after that we spotted some boats congregated to the North so we headed over to investigate. Sure enough, the bird activity had increased and, although scattered, the fish were busting the surface. Brad got to spinning and was soon hooked up (2nd cast I think?). I had a bait out that also got taken but was dropped after its first run (0 from 2 for me ). Things would've been fairly quiet if it wasn't for Brad spinning his arm off, his persistence paying off though as he was rewarded with another 2 big spotties and a nice yellowfin tuna. His last spottie would have to come close to the biggest I've seen and the yellowfin was a first for Brad.
    All-in-all, a great weekend on the water
    DC

DaneCross

Re: Sat & Sun Off the GC

JB spinnin'...

DaneCross

Bit of Claret...

DaneCross

Sunday's esky...

DaneCross

Nice size

DaneCross

Last 1, Brad the spinning master

Re: Sat & Sun off the GC

nice work dc, i kinda think you need a bigger esky though,

Great score Dane. I see Jas is handy with the fish priest. Lol. Knocked 'em by the look of it. Were you floating pillies while the boys were spinning? On certain days, they seem to be feeding on small froggies up here on the Sunny Coast. Trolling a pattern of ganged 3/0 tru-turns with pink/white skirts seems to be accounting for a couple.

Ranger 188VX - "Sweet Chariot"

noluck

good work DC [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]
    yep need biger esky so fish will camm in easy thay just like nice and roomy esky
    cheers no_luck

TIM-DONSELAAR

some nice fish there guys,looks like you had a good weekend

cheers tim

Thanks for the trip DC, was precision casting time there saturday , hopefully the fish will hang around a while and we can get back into them sooner rather than later. Im still trying to work out what old mate that was driving over the bait ball was trying to achieve. Too much gear and too little brains LOL.

Jas

Should have stowed away in the boat at the servo.

Good to see a few around [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]

DaneCross

LoL, yeh I know I need a bigger esky, but with the amount of gear JB brings I'm guna need a bigger boat

Paul - yeh I had a 2 floating pillies out while the others were spinning (double the chances ). The bait ball on Saturday, I'm pretty sure were froggies, anyone have a pic of one?

Fadil - I like a challenge, wouldn't want them just jumping into the boat

Michael - any more slugs flying around that bait ball would've just added to the mayhem

hahah, yeah mate i'm buying some more gear, so you will need to upgrade to a 6m Fisher .

Thanks in advance

Jas

why
    you can get there in your rig no probs.
    the weekend gone was perfect .
    i should have gone north instead of south.
    DOH
    cloud 9
    then it realy gets ughly