Thread: Spanish down deep!

Spanish down deep!

Hi all, I havent seen any reports up lately about the mackerel so I'll share a couple of shots of the past few days.
    Even thought the water has been a bit shitty in color it is still warm and the fish are definatly here. Spanish, cobia, yellowfin tuna, knobbies, nothern bluefin tuna and Mahi Mahi all caught on slow trolled live slimies. The downrigger has been 'going off' with 80% of our fish caught on the 'Scotties' and live slimie mackerel. Even some good knobbies caught on the troll.
    Anyway, got to get ready for tomorrow. Cheers
    "May your ratchet keep screamin"
    www.ausfish.com.au/bpc

Re: Spanish down deep!

www.ausfish.com.au/bpc

how nice are those new live fibres, hey, got afew they are so smoothe

www.ausfish.com.au/bpc

Some awesome spainish there mate! I am keen to give the downriggers a shot! Just out of interest what kind of depth are you running the slimies at?

Mitch

Nice one Mono - some great macko's and some HUGE snapper

How's the new rig goin? - or need I ask (good by the looks).

One more post and you're a silver member

fad

Great fish mono i am up that way next mon & tue are u going out if so can u pm me details if u have a spot available on short notice and would love to catch one of those blues .Cheers Adam

Come on mono! its all verry well catching spaniards on the troll but please give the reef fisherman a chance and leave us some snapper!
    Top photo's mate and nice fish...foxy

Thats some ripper fish. Haha they sure are about. even with the dodgy water. Top stuff
    JAckash

wayne_cook

yea! something to think about.
    great results.
    Do you drag 1or 2 baits?

great post and even more encouraging with the pic,s mate the snaper im familia with the rest are only a dream. My dream and your having it , great stuff mate
    cheers Kimo

great post and even more encouraging with the pic,s mate the snaper im familia with the rest are only a dream. My dream and your having it , great stuff mate
    cheers Kimo

Some nice fish there mono
    good pic

cheers pete

Hi again,
    Mitch I normally run the downrigger about 50 to 60 feet on our local reefs which are about 80 to 90 feet but move the baits up or down according to where the fish or bait schools are spotted on the sounder or if going over a shallow pinnacle.
    brrbear normally run 1 bait on the starbourd side downrigger, 1 on the starbourd side outrigger and 1 on the portside. I've got 2 downriggers but lately its only been necessary to run one as this keeps us busy enough.
    Today the mackerel were a bit quiter (I think too many people were watching when I came in yesterday) because I ended up with heaps of boats all around me today >
    Still managed some good fish, mackerel, cobia and yellowfin, once every one went home
    www.ausfish.com.au/bpc

wayne_cook

much apreciated valuable information.
    thanks heaps
    bear