Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: JACK AND SNAPPER ATTACK

noluck

Re: JACK AND SNAPPER ATTACK

Quote Originally Posted by jackextracter
    Nice reef jacks mate you get alot of them that size on the reef this time of the year because there all schooling up to BREED it a shame they did not go back in the water.
    jackextracter
    we did not know for long time what is niling us down all time after i go tru box of sinkers and hooks some jack start comeing up and we got only 5 for trip
    i dont know if we going get any more this year but this ones had to go to esky next ones we will let go
    cheers No_luck

great stuff fadil awesome day out there by the looks and some ripper fish too. that big jack is bloody massive

cheers matt

The stuff dreams are made of.

Well done.

DaneCross

Champion effort there Fadil & crew! Great report, Chemmy would be happy you took so many photos You were well within reason to throw those Jacks in the esky - I would have as well. Great stuff [smiley=thumbsup.gif]

Top jacks there fadil and some good size snapper as well. We have'nt caught any jacks out there yet, but have been bitten off numerous times in a row on some marks we have out there.

Luke

absolute awesome catch man.I bet those jacks tasted great on the plate. Some quality snapper as well were most the fish on floaters and what was the current like?

noluck

Quote Originally Posted by reef_king
    plate. what was the current like?
    no curent at all

Excuse my ignorance but are the big jacks large mangrove jacks?
    Great haul.

Quote Originally Posted by mirage
    Excuse my ignorance but are the big jacks large mangrove jacks?
    Great haul.
    Yep, when jacks reach sexual maturity they move out offshore. Thats why there arent any that size in the rivers....actually theres the odd freak-show size, very seldom...
    morty

Hi No Luck,

Great effort some real nice fish there as others have said that name should be changed .

I am curious as to the shape of the tail on the jacks, they appear a lot more rounded than smaller ones I have caught in estuaries just wonder if others that have caught then offshore notice this to be the norm.

Matty

Re: JACK AND SNAPPER  ATTACK

Fadil, I think you can drop the" no luck" tag now Well done mate, and I'm sure it wasn't simply luck that got you onto 'em. Good on yer.

Live so that you wouldn't be ashamed to sell the family parrot to the town gossip

Hey Morty, thanks for the explanation on jacks.

fadil

great catch ...

see ya on the water
    "whats the time"

Good catch.
    Last photo Chaps, red fish has a deep pit in front of the eye!!! Red Bass???
    not sure, please correct me if Im wrong
    rando

YEP
    just checked some photos of jacks , and Im pretty sure the dorsal fin& tail on the red fish in this thread is the wrong shape , more like a cod of some kind.
    And the one with the pit near the eye Im pretty sure is a Red Bass.
    Can one of you online Gurus confirm or refute my suspicion.