Thread: Reds, Sharks and more Sharks

Re: Reds, Sharks and more Sharks

hey greg,
    good on'ya mate on gettin the reds to the boat Alot of the reds we were catching were around the 60-70cm stuff with the biggest making the boat also only 10kg, we actually moved off trying to find the big girls,( seems like theres alot of school sized red at the moment on those grounds.) Looks like we were fishing VERY similar areas. Good pics and report.

catch ya, ty.

Top fish again Greg. Looks like you might be preaching to a packed house on Sunday

Best of luck with the talk and congrats on the catch.

Ranger 188VX - "Sweet Chariot"

Markpeta
    Some say the big fellas don't taste all that good but as long as you cut them into similar thickness fillets they taste very much the same in my opinion

Macca- When the Sharks are thick there is no way to avoid them. Even with deck winches it's still hard. A good way would be to have 4 people all on deck winches and hooking up at similar times and all winding like crazy in hope that atleast one makes it up. The best way to avoid them is by sticking away from large reefs with big rises as this is probally more shark heaven then Red heaven.

liltuffy - Have been launching from either Tin Can or Carlos point (carlos has fish cleaning table) The bayside of DI has been washed away from recent seas. You have to see it to believe it And the palm trees at the Toilets have been cut down

Mitch- Look forward to meeting with you. If you really want a good crack at reds then go from fraser because it's so far to travel from the bar and if you are new to the area then you will soon realise how much ocean there is out there. Mate the new bub has slowed me up a little but the weather has been crap to match. I have many red years left in me yet so might have to stay low for while until the kids grow up a little otherwise i could be single pretty quick.

Fixation- Those Sharks almost ruin the trip and take alot of the fun out of it but we should be gratefull for what we still caught anyway. Mate came and say gday if you get time would be good to meet you.

Seapup-
    Mate the boats only 5.5mtrs so you have to pick your days thats for sure. From Noosa upwards is more suited to reds but the area between Noosa to DI is pretty hard to find good quantity of reds and the reefs are very patchy and hard to find. You have to have loads of patience and plenty of time. There on one reef one day and gone the next.

Az- Come to the Tackle and Tinnie show this weekend and i will cover all i know about Reds.

Ty- We will beat them one day mate (I'm dreaming)

regards Greg

www.wickedfishing.com.au The place for wicked fish pics, articles and DVD's. Your ultimate reef fishing DVD "Double Island Point & Beyond" on sale now.

top report greg, congrats
    cheers dale

hi greg some ausome reds there
    hopeto catch up sunday

cheers pete

Wilson

Once again topshelf!

Hey Greg,

Yeah I'll try and get over to you after your talk. Be good to meet you. See how the crowds go. Looking forward to it.

Catch ya.
    Craig.

Thats a great story and the pics are excellent, the colour of those fish is amazing. Top effort!

Whats the Hussar like to munch on???

Still slaying em Greg!!
    Well done, Thats a huge hussar mate.
    We've had some big fella's around here lately too, but not that big!!

Regards, Tony

Quote Originally Posted by White_Steenbras
    Thats a great story and the pics are excellent, the colour of those fish is amazing. Top effort!

Whats the Hussar like to munch on???

I rate them as one of the best!

Cheers mate will keep an eye out for them at the markets, thats if they have them there.