Currumundi Wide Sat 8th april pm

Thread: Currumundi Wide Sat 8th april pm

Currumundi Wide Sat 8th april pm

Headed out of M'ba 2.30 pm Saturday arv with a couple of mates I'd been promising a trip for some time and the nephew. When we got out of the entrance we were greeted with slight seas with some small chop pushed up by a sub 10kt South easter and I was very tempted to head out to the Banks but with the price of fuel and Easter around the corner in the back of my mind I headed out to a mark some 14k south east of Pt Cartwright.

We found a couple of likely shows so shortly after when we were swinging on the pick the lads dropped in to 30 ish metres to see what was a round. We boated a few rat lipper and undersize squire which were quickly returned to the deep then we started to get a few legal squirey things. We up anchored to try and find some better fish and ended up on another promising show around a 2 metre rise.

The afternoon sunset was a ripper, what a lovely time of the day to be on the water.

Nathan pulled up a small trevor so I sent it down as a livie...shortly after that rod had a massive run only to be snipped...I can only wonder what it may have been. That happened a couple more times and I wonder if there may have been some spanish/wahoo around.

The nephew picked up a nice lipper around the 3kg mark and a similar sized snappery thing so I thought we were in...but back to the just legal squire...then dusk.

As the light was abating a freight train hit the full large arrow head squid I was floating down the burley trail...this thing really took off, but didn't have the head thumping runs of a big snapper so I must admit I was a little puzzled. The drag on the big boss 7500 was working overtime stopping this brute...the braid line screaming through the runners. What a fantastic sound and sensation.

I thought at one point I was gonna get bricked, but with the rod fully loaded I was able to start wrestling the fish toward the boat..This too-ing and fro-ing kept up for 10-15 mins and I could just make out a disturbance on the water some 15 metres from the boat. It was a very solid Cobia over a metre long. Hadn't caught many of these before but I can see why blokes rave about them as a sport fish...This beastie wasn't done yet...another blistering run in a final attempt for freedom saw a quick 15 metres or so of 15 kg braid stripped from the reel, but the drag was too good putting the hurt on and pulling the beauty up. Another couple of minutes of pump and wind and the fish was ours.

Man I was pretty chuffed...best Cobia and the pen/rovex combo performed so well (see tackle forum for story on outfits performance) and I got my whoel squid back to boot.

I sent it back down again and picked up a nice 3+ kg Estury Cod after dark things quietened down a bit...a young friend that tagged along had a pretty lean time of it so at 8.30 we called it.

Final count 15 squirey things, 1 nice lipper, 1 nice esturary cod, a fair Rock cod, a solid cobe and 4 happy fishermen.

Til next itme

><((((º>.¸.•'´¯)

Life is a mystery to be lived, not a problem to be solved, Gabriel Marcel

Re: Currumundi Wide Sat 8th april pm

Good stuff Rhys. Good feeling when you land a fish like that. The banks were fairly quiet so probably best saving the fuel. Conditions werent to bad tho.

Ausfish Platinum Member Big_Ren's Avatar

Great report Rhys with plenty of anticipation. A good reward for your efforts.

Ranger 188VX - "Sweet Chariot"

there were a few toothy things on the chew i had a at least 3 kilo pearly nailed below the boat that sent myttle tld 15 to the work shop.maby macca maby big amber or some other brute followed him up from 80 meters but to make me feel better i called it for a angry old shark although the run and head shakes and action on the line tell me it was a big brite fish but loosing an old toothy bugger would make me feel much better.

Thanks Dave...with all the success we've had at the Banks it was hard to not head out given the conditions...I saw a mate who had been out there back at M'ba when we got in and he had half an esky fully of mixed pearlies, venus, snapps etc but I'm glad we didn't head out there...means the family can do some stuff next weekend...thinking we might anchor up off Tanga's or something.

Yeah Paul, must admit I thought I might have upped the ante' on the drag too much and popped a knot...I find braid difficult to tie good knots in...I'm still getting the hang of the bimini twist and deckies knot to join braid to mono...I'd still rather prefer tying in mono, but I guess I'll get used to it...the anticipation was very real.

Thanks for the encouragement Foocky, after reading seapup's report it was probably a spanish or another member of the razor gang...

><((((º>.¸.•'´¯)

hi ryhs
    it was a lovely day and nite on sat
    conditions were best they have been for a long time
    at least u got a good feed for easter

cheers pete

Nice kingy rhys would have been nice to be out there ten days off coming up can't wait.

TIM-DONSELAAR

great report Rhys....nice cobia mate [smiley=thumbsup.gif] [smiley=thumbsup.gif]

cheers tim

You still ended up with a good feed Rhys, and save a heap of fuel.

Luke

Hey Pete, I did spare you and the missus a thought...congrats on 34 years mate...hope you were able to celebrate with a few good ones too

G'day Indy...10 days off...lucky bugga...all the best mate and hope you can hop into a few as well

Hi Tim, yep was pretty happy with the Cobe, best one of them I've caught so far...Have to get you and your fairest out soon to get some blood on all that new gear matie...not forgotten

><((((º>.¸.•'´¯)

Oh you're not wrong about the fuel Luke, don't know whats going on but that 150efi Merc sure is thirsty and likes a drink!

rhys
    ><((((º>.¸.•'´¯)

good results for a quick fish rhys.
    cheers dale

Nice bag of fish to go with the Cobia. You should enjoy eating that one. They melt in the mouth.

TIM-DONSELAAR

Quote Originally Posted by revs57
    Hi Tim, yep was pretty happy with the Cobe, best one of them I've caught so far...Have to get you and your fairest out soon to get some blood on all that new gear matie...not forgotten

cant wait mate,i really wanna put the missus onto a decent fish

cheers tim

Hi Rhys,

Sorry I didn't catch up with you on the 2 way. I was workin hard trying to find some bits and pieces over at one of our usual spots at cal wide. Worked hard for little results. Ended up back over your way on some of our old marks. I'll post a report later. Looks like you guys did alright. Well done.