Thread: Another Banks report Fri/Sat

Another Banks report Fri/Sat

Headed out friday afternoon for the boats first trip to the banks. On the way out stopped to throw the slugs at some schools of mack tuna. It was a fish a cast with the fish going ballistic all around the boat. I hooked onto what i thought was a horse of a mack tuna but after a 10 minute fight pulled a nice yellowfin up beside the boat. My mate got onto a smaller version on his next cast, and with a couple of yellowfin in the esky and a few mack tuna for bait we decided to keep going to get out to the banks before dark.
    On arriving at one of the marks suggested by ausfish member revs57 (thanks mate!) we sounded around for awhile then decided to have a few drifts over a small show of fish. First drop we hooked a couple of squire and a pearly, we were all pretty happy about this and picked up a few more on the next couple of drifts. After putting a few fish in the esky we anchored for the night with fish coming over the side every now and then.
    The next day we drifted over a few more spots picking up parrot, goldspot wrasse and few sweetlip, half a dozen red emperor just under legal and saw a marlin jumping. All in all a great first trip to the banks.

Re: Another Banks report Fri/Sat

yellowfin and macks

Is this a Turrum?

some of the catch

Hi Clint,

Glad you were able to get onto a few...and happy to help out.

The Turrum I thought was more trevally like...It kinda looks a bit like a juvenile sambo to me...happy to be corrected...one thing for sure is it would have pulled hard!

p.s. what did you catch the goldies on????
    ><((((º>.¸.•'´¯)

Life is a mystery to be lived, not a problem to be solved, Gabriel Marcel

Well done there boys. A great feed pu together.
    planning the next onslaught 6.5m Profish
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Rhys - I thought that amberjack had smaller pectoral fins??? the bait we used was mack tuna, yakkas caught at the kawana shark nets and fresh squid caught while anchored at night. Lucky i had a squid jig in my tackle box because there were foot long squid turning up around the boat all night.

no its' not a goldspot trevally/turrum- its a bludger trevally!

a question- what is the legal size of red throut emperor?

damon- the invert'a'brat

Hi Damo,

yeah had similar thoughts with a bludger...but thought the length to girth ratio was more a sambo, but the colour is certainly more bludgerish...goes really well in a numus brine and cooked in the frig...legal length for red throat is 38cm isnt it?

><((((º>.¸.•'´¯)

Life is a mystery to be lived, not a problem to be solved, Gabriel Marcel

hi clint06
    nice lot of fish a good feed for easter
    what sort of fish is that goldie

cheers pete

Slient

Hi Clint,

Nice yellow fin tuna you guys pulled...
    How did you manage to pull many yellow ones ? by sinking down slug further into water right or ?
    I'm determine to catch this specie sooner

Silent

Catching the yellowfins was more of a fluke, we were after the mack tuna for bait. We were using 35g metal slugs casting at the edges of the school, 15-20lb line and no trace. We only let the slugs sink for about 5 seconds then wind like crazy...

Clint

TIM-DONSELAAR

good variety of fish caught there Clint06...Well Done [smiley=thumbsup.gif] [smiley=thumbsup.gif]

cheers tim

Slient

Quote Originally Posted by Clint06
    Catching the yellowfins was more of a fluke, we were after the mack tuna for bait. We were using 35g metal slugs casting at the edges of the school, 15-20lb line and no trace. We only let the slugs sink for about 5 seconds then wind like crazy...

Clint
    Thanks for tip

Silent