Thread: Gold Coast Fri.

Gold Coast Fri.

Hit the water early today for a session towing looking for the elusive Mr. Hoo . There have been quite a few about following the big seas last week but were tapering off the last few days . The halco was hammered almost straight away but the tell tale thump thump of the tail said tuna . Mack tuna and big ones at that about 6 - 8 kilos . Bugga - try again same result . They were like fleas on a hound dog . Kept three for a mate with asian connections who love them . They wern't taking the skirts so changed both rods to skirts and headed east looking for roaming fish .

After getting to the 24's and the sea conditions great took a quick trip to the 36 's only to find the current raging and damn near unfishable . Ten minutes later the south wester that was forecast for this arvo arrives at 25 - 30 knots . Conditions went from good to very interesting in nothing flat while I headed for home into some now very big potholes - glad I was in the Yalta .

I detour on the way to catch up with fello fisho Ted in the Yalta sister ship who tells me on the radio he has got something he wants me to see . Caught on a two hook bottom rig on 1/3 of a cut pillie . Buy a lotto ticket cause your luck is hot today . Check it out - he's gonna have to suck a lemon to get the smile off his face . I asked him should I post the GPS marks - the reply could not be printed here .

Re: Gold Coast Fri.

G'Day Chris,

Yeah mate sounds like it was lucky you wheren't in a haines then she can turn from good to crap in no time flat eh.

If the weather holds might do a tag along trip with Brett Sun morn to check out a few 'lumps' worth investigating.

Damn fine Jewie alright, need more than a lemon to wipe my smile ....

PS Hows your new camp chair going
    Light travels faster than sound, that's why some people seem Bright ...... untill they speak

I say wot...
    wozzawrongwiththehainesythen...

Damn fine fish, and 8kg Mactunas fight well too

knew if I threw a burley trail out someone would bite ....

Hey BB, when are you gunna change your avator???

now I see I've got a double hookup ....... hey Daz
    Light travels faster than sound, that's why some people seem Bright ...... untill they speak

where abouts were the mac tuna congregating?

Hey BB.
    Bloddy ex Haines owners [smiley=smash.gif] [smiley=wut.gif] [smiley=zzz.gif]

Cheers Dazza

Your mate must know something you dont know there chris.
    Going out with brett in the morning and giving the new donk a try at sea.
    See if we can catch a big ? what ever
    Graeme

Awesome Jewie mate well done

1337 - Nine mile is lousy with them this time of year .

Joakim - nothing wrong with a Haines mate just the extra size, deadrise and bulk of the Yalta for the same lenght makes all the difference in a crap short sea like yesterday . The thing just amazes me for a boat designed nearly 20 years ago . Was lucky enough to fish in Ted's for some years and saw how good it was .

Gawby Brett & Skippa - working Sunday but am still on for a trip north to your bumps out wide .

Scarecrow

checking out "The Holy Grail" - beauty eh! Still can't wipe the smile off his face! Julie (Ted's sister)