Thread: Bait feeder/runners Worth the $$$ Good friday

Bait feeder/runners Worth the $$$ Good friday

After getting creamed by my deckie last year on cathing snapper with his 6500 baitrunner, i decided to buy a Okuma Epix 80 EB.
    Good Friday left Mooloolaba 1pm for a trip to mid b-banks & fished until 9am Sat.
    Ended up with an esky of mixed reefies, 9 snapper + pearlies, wrasse, parrot, moses perch.
    Well the piont of the post is that I caught 4 snapper all on the Epix and lost another 4 good runs, while on the other rod (pasternoster & lead) only managed to catch the mixed reefies.
    Picture attached of nice table fish & epix in background.
    Can't wait until next trip.
    ps. yes i know, 9-4=5, so the deckie still won.

Re: Bait feeder/runners Worth the $$$ Good friday

people who dont use baitrunner dont know what they are missing out on,
    the only way to fish
    the banks have been firing lately wonder if its got to do with all the good rain theve had down that way?
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Lacey

Dont you just love that noise as the bait is lowered. I practise at home when no one is watching....

Bluedog

well done.. i use a 6500 most of the time out there
    planning the next onslaught 6.5m Profish
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

G'day Snap and others - what do you guys have your baitrunners / Okuma's spooled with?

Have a 6500 aswell. I'm spooled with 8kg platypus pink. Havent had the pleasure of using mine olffshore yet but damn I love that sound of the baitrunner squeeling.
    PRECISION DETAILING
    For all your MARINE DETAILING needs
    www.precisiondetailing.com.au

Hey Snap.... now you've got the hardware #looks like i'm gunna get creamed this year, i'll have to sharpen the hooks better...

LBD... mate don't them reels sound good when the fish first takes off!

also guys i use 10kg maxima on my 6500

# #regards Col

Hey Snap....now you've got the hardware ,I'm the one who'll have to catch you up!!..i'll use sharper hooks next time!

LBD...mate don't them reels sound good when a fish chomps yer bait!
    also guys i use 10kg maxima on my 6500..

regards Col.

Scarecrow

snap #did you have any lead at all on baitrunner rig. # # or just a smile on your face regards ted # # # # # # # # # # #

Hey guys,
    thanks for the replies.
    20lb pink platypus, good stretch ( that's what you want so they say).
    15lb leader + 8lb drag. 3 gang 4.0's

+ bean sinker small asssss

gogecko

Why do you want stretch? Why is mono beter than braid for floatlining? Sorry, Im a bit new at floatlining, but I might be doin more of it this season.

TIA

i was using 30lb trilene it was doin the job on the snapper and jobfish at the banks ,now im up here in the tropics ive had to go to 40lb as there is xos cobia ,spaniards and some things that are impossible to stop.
    i just love hearing it go off
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Hi All,

Interesting topic for me this week. I bought a 6500 pn Friday, and used it for the first time on Saturday. To cut a long sotry short, I'm very, very impressed, and can't believe I took so long to getting round to owning one. I'm seriously considering ditching the overheads for all but the heaviest trips.

I spooled it with 30lb Jack Erskine Penn 10X.

I'll probably get a 3500 now for my smaller 3-5Kg snapper rod when I save up.

Good luck,

Great reels for their price . I use Shimano Thunnus reels and they are even better however more $$$$ required. Baitrunners are very handy to have onboard and suprisingly very robust reels.

Redhead