Finally,
everything worked out right, weather, work and fishing companions all alined, which saw me do my first banks session today.
Acompanied by Darryl (crestcutter) as my faithful deckie we met up with Brett (brejen) Graeme (Gawby) and Terry (maztez) all in Gawby 11, Graeme's new Yalta. Darren (2DKnB) his deckie Chris(sharkbait) also met up with us at the servo. Be there at 12.00am I was told, but Brett who was late ... Anyhoo its funny who you run into waiting at servos at midnite on a Friday nite eh Craigie, hope you had a good trip mate ... youn forgot to bring the crab sangas tho ..
After a quick chat with JB at M/bar ramp we where heading out to the 'first mark' to get us in the general area, supplied by one of my AF friends. It certainly wasn't a spot x, with more boats out there than cars in a Woolies car park, but very much appreciated all the same.
After daylight the Lowrance 107 and 3500 where working over time as I sounded around for grounds to fish today, while others I left for later inspection on my next banks trip. One particular spot was working fine with fish bought boatside on every drop, untill a coupla dolphins arrived and wouldn't leave us alone. They even swam with us and rode our bow wave as we move to another spot, great if the kids where there, but this was suposed to be a serious fishing day.
The weather conditions we had to endure where terrible We where able to fish many locations, which was great as I took the opportunity to explore a large area of the banks for the first time.
Most fish caught where snapper and Pearlies (bagged out) while the rest of the esky was filled with mixed reef fish. Tally for SS Southwind was 4 snapper, best going 60cms, 10 Pearlies and some assorted mixed reefies. Snapper and Pearlie my PB
Northern end of banks saw a huge Hammerhead, actually nearly ran over him ...
It was a great day where mother nature looked kindly on me ( for once) not forgetting the great company too .. Thanks Darryl, Brett Greame, Terry Darren and Chris.
Some quick pics...