-
Trout 1770 (again)
Went out as the sun was coming out yesterday morning, over a dead flat flat bar. First stop the bait grounds!!! Took a bit of hunting around to fill up with bait, all very scattered, but after a bit of persistance managed to fill the live bait tank with 60 or so nice yakka's. The wind had come up a little but we were on a mission, Dean and I both had low stocks in the freezer.
By the time we arrived at spot X, it was quite sloppy, south east. First anchor drop, produced a couple of nice trout, a few large hussar and a stripey. All went a little quiet after that so a shift was in order. Moved about 30-40ft and dropped anchor again. First baits to the bottom were smashed once again by the ever reliable x-trout. Fishing was a little slow but we managed another 5 trout, a grassie or two and the odd parrot and hussar. Seemed to be quite a lot of small samson fish hanging around and we released several that hammered our livies. Dean pulled up a few big goldspot cod, one released and one kept. We pulled a pair of just legal reds, and with the esky chockers headed home at about 11.30 am. Another succesful spot x trout mission!!!
Some photo's!!
-
Re: Trout 1770 (again)
Handsom little fellas them trout
-
-
I think this one was the largest for the day at 15.10lbs
-
-
-
-
Ausfish Gold Member
more of those tiny trout!!
-
That last trout is a record!!!!
(smallest trout we have pulled from spot x)
-
Ausfish Gold Member
Way to go mate. You don't know of any reliable live bait spots a bit north off Turkey? Tony.
-
G'day Perko
No mate, sorry, We don't tend to fish up that way much, I will ask around though, some of the locals head up tha way sometimes.
Most bait marks should be producing at the moment, there seems to be a lot of bait about in general. The small black marlin have been hanging around the headland at 1770 since about easter, they wouldn't be there unless the bait is pretty thick. (another small black was caught yesterday by ausfish member "luscombe")
Regards, Tony
-
-
Hi Tony,
Nice massive coral trout...
few weeks ago I learnt the threads regarding ciguatera some subject claims trout over 6 kg does carry ciguatera. many years ago used live in Townsville I ate them often and now I doubt if its still safe to eat more than 6 kilo mark. Do you have any problem with it?
Know its shame its quite a large coral trout leaving us risk!!!
Silent
-
nice trout them. love all the way!
how do you catch the livies out there. i was contemplating casting for live herring and mullet in the creeks before heading out, but my mates said, they dont go all that well?
whats your opinon?
-
G'day Silent!!
I would be concerned about the larger trout in high risk areas for sure, around here I have never heard of ciguatera in trout. These Trout we have been eating very consistantly for about 3 years now, all are around the 6-8kg mark and never had a problem with them. Will let you know if we ever get crook from them!!! It appears to be a localised problem with cig in trout, and always seems to be in certain areas only.
Regards, Tony
Ps...I know of a Trout that was close to 20kg caught off here a few years back, that too was eaten with no probs.