1770 trip

Thread: 1770 trip

1770 trip

For a supposed offshore trip to 1770 we( Myself,Rob K and The Bomber) spent an aweful lot of time in the estuary, the weather was terrible there was only a couple of windows during the week to get out and then only to the closer grounds but we made the most of what we had.

The first day was rather hectic it involved an early start 2.30 am then a 6 hour drive to Agnes waters a quick unpack and then a 8hour fishing trip before the blow started. The fishing was solid and we had a good haul of trout, reds and grassies to clean the next morning. The next few days involved working the high tides in the creek ( day + night ) to get a feed of mud crabs which while sucessful was made a whole lot harder by pot raiders > you would think they would at least close the pots after they had taken the crabs.

The last day was again a hectic one with the wind still blowing but supposed to abate during the day we crossed the bar at dawn and headed to the closer reefs again good trout and grassies came aboard at a steady rate but it didn't last long and the hunt was on for some good fish,this was a little hampered by a sounder that wasn't working to anywhere near its potential. After scraping together a feed we finally came across a good show and after a second attempt at anchoring on the spot we were hooking into good Nannygai in the 8kg range lots of large cod( all released, some sucessfully) more grassies and Rob K got a Red that went 29lb6oz or about 13.5 kg so all in all a great end to the trip.

This just left getting back to the ramp ,going back to the house packing and driving to Brisbane, just the way to finish a holiday , a 23hr day ,14 in the boat and 6 in the car i was shattered after the drive but very much looking foward to the next trip.

Rob K RED
    Alcohol doesn't agree with me, but i sure do enjoy the argument!!!

Re: 1770 trip

My Nannygai

Rob K Nannygai

The Bombers trout

another

Esky shot

Our ride for the week

nice very nice im heading to turky beach 2 weeks hope i get the same

Nice one Ian

Got some good fish there for your efforts.

Retired Honda Master Tech

Ausfish Platinum Member StevenM's Avatar

Nice work guys, looks like you got a couple of good fish.

On another point I thought that the crab pot thief was found and shut down

Steven

Steven

Iain,

Seems 1770 can be like that - perfect or ordinary. Some good fish in amongst them.

I'm guessing no billy chasing - how far out wide did you get. Did you visit Phil?

Saw a heap of trout (Rainbows and browns) myself yesterday - last of the spawning run up the highlands. Great sight!

mmmmmmmm ! Was expecting the phone call Ian ?

Well done fellas. The wind finally abated Saturday and then by Monday it was light as ! And I went to Brisvegas.................BUGGA! !!!!!!

Lucky phil

Sorry about the no contact Phil i got zoned into the crabbing and the high tides were all at night so i tried to stay away from the temptation of the PUB

Buggy

Got that internet up and running mate! How long till Trout season opens?

Hi Ian,
    You did very well! Those Reds and Nannygais look like good chewing!
    Ben.

Quote Originally Posted by finding_time
    *snip*. The next few days involved working the high tides in the creek ( day + night ) to get a feed of mud crabs which while sucessful was made a whole lot harder by pot raiders > you would think they would at least close the pots after they had taken the crabs.*snip*

Can someone explain to me -- Is poaching/sharefarming a sport in 1770?? I mean crab traps don't cost THAT much - surely it is better smarter safer to be setting your own traps than raiding someone else's. I just don't get it.

Some nice fish BTW Ian