Thread: Another Sunday Report

Another Sunday Report

Headed out for a morning fish yesterday. Only Johno on board for this trip.

We headed north, but not to the banks. It has been over 6 months since I fished Barwon, so I must be due to give it a go again, but this trip was the Hards ... again.

The conditions were great and we traveled out at 28 knots for a glorious run. The snapper were on early and we bagged out in under an hour. They were only average size with most fish in the 2 - 3 KG range. We threw a heap back once we hit the limit, and many bigger than the ones we kept.

Ended up having to drive away from the snapper and go looking for some pearlies. We searched hard but only found a few with some mixed reefies throw in for good measure.

Overall it was pretty hard going, except for the hot snapper bite early. Bought home 20 fish between 2, which is well below average for the area.

Here are a couple of pics.

Re: Another Sunday Report

snaps

pearly

This job fish was suprise. I think it is a small-toothed job fish, but I have never caught one before ..... can anyone confirm ?

last one - the catch

hey mate i seen you sunday mid morning. You were on one of our marks, that we cuaght some similar sized snaps off the night before, did you see us/catch any off that spot? Was thinkin of comin over and saying G'day but as the fishing was fairly slow i didn't want to scare what you had goin.

cheers ty

great fish

Nice feed,
    we were mid-nth banks, 27nm out from Mooloolaba, thought about Hards as i haven't been there yet & conditions were great.
    Punched in bottom of Hards another 12nm, would that sound right.
    40nm out of Mlba. ?

Mark,

That is a rusty job fish.
    I jigged two of them chasing AJ's on the southern Hards with Rhys a little while ago,not bad chewing mate.
    It looked like a great day to be out there.

Birdy

Mark we got uor bag of pearlies in the deeper water around lunch time. We found that we missed the morning snapper bite but they came onboard thro the arvo. What time did you head for home? i didn't here you on the radio, were you on 21?
    planning the next onslaught 6.5m Profish
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Hey Mark. Looks like you guys did alright. Conditions look awesome. Bit tough when you have to drive away from the snaps.

Craig.

Hi Mark,
    Good feed of fish there mate.. I surfed all weekend instead of going fishing....after looking at some of the Snapper caught on the weekend at the Hard I wish I had gone for a fish now!!
    Ben.

awesome fish

Hi Mark,

Thanks for the report ... good pics.

I am new to the area, and wonder what is the full name of "The Hards" and how far is it from Maloolooba?

Lindsay

You slayed em again Mark and Johnno. What's with the Trevors though? Are you saving them for the cat??

Great effort in great conditions. Me, I was stuck at home entertaining out of towners

Ranger 188VX - "Sweet Chariot"