Estimated to be the same weight as the 47lb version above, they were exactly the same length
Hey Guys and Girls
Bit of a quick report of the action up here. We went out Monday morning to hunt down a few Spanish Macks and christen the new boat with a bit of blood. After 30 mins we were at our spot and the lines went out. After coming over the ledge the show of macks on the sounder was awesome and about 5 seconds later when the lures came over the ledge they were smashed. We had several double hookups. I was fishing 20lb gear and my mate 30lb, the sharks gave us a bit of curry as you will see in the photos. My mate had a small tuna hooked up and was bringing it in when tuna went deep and all of a sudden it seemed it was on steroids. We both called it for a shark but after a while a Spaniard came to the surface with chunks missing and about 10 sharks under it, I quickly gaffed it and got it in the boat. We were pretty stoked as its the biggest mackerel we have ever caught, pity about the missing bits!
We were about to call it a day when I hooked up on another big mackerel and boy did it take off! About 15-20 mins later a lovely big 47lb spaniard was boat side, with no chunks missing! I was happy to land it on 20lb line and thinking back probably could have done it on 14lb no worries. Good practice for the comps coming up!
We managed to land 12 mackerel ranging from 12kg-22kg and several tuna. I also managed to catch one of the sharks that were eating our macks.
All in all we had an awesome days fishing.
Sam
This is the biggest whole one!
Estimated to be the same weight as the 47lb version above, they were exactly the same length
The all too common mackerel theif!
what great fish, extracted from a fishing paradise.
is ciguatera a problem with the big spaniards up there ???
gret stuff great pics
Top report there. Looks like you had an absolute ball.
Ranger 188VX - "Sweet Chariot"
Nice size spaniards there Sam.
Are those Mackeral thieves always a problem up there.
Gazza
Awsome pics. Bet you get fish like that all the time. Envious mate. Very envious.
Rich
Damn too many taxman @ top end...
Fish2eat
Ciguatera up here is not as bad as it is down in brisvegas. The pro boats catch and sell bigger ones so i guess it is okay.
Gazza
Yeah anywhere there is good fish there are usually sharks. The mackerel were jumping out of the water when we were catching them. One jumped out about 10 times before we boated it. Was busy driving, would have been awesome to get a shot of it out of the water.
Sam
Nice catch!
In that second pic, Your mate looks like he was a little scared of the sharks too!
great fighting fish pity about sharks
least u can fillet one of them
pete
Nice fish... I'll swap you jobs. You can be a mechanic for a couple of days and I can go out on your fishing boat. Sounds fair
Well done
Why is all the good weather around on weekdays?