what a great time on the water well done mate
Had a ball on the weekend at the Rock 26 August. On the water at 6am and headed for the Rock. Anchored up on a good spot and let out the berley trail. Filled the Esky with doggies and spotted macks by lunch and ran out of bait. Saw plenty of other good sized Macks following their unfortunate friends in close to the boat. Got busted off big time by a couple of monsters. One draw back the missus now likes fishing, she kept all the smaller stuff at bay, landing around 25 juvenile queenies and the like. If the weather is as good this weekend, I know where I am going.
what a great time on the water well done mate
was a great weekend up here wasn`t it! did you see any whales while you were out there?
there were 4 of them out off picnic bay yesterday afternoon.
No way!!!
When do I get to post a story like that? The freezer is empty and we're hanging for some fresh fish. Twice in the last 2 weeks I've been out chasing the elusive makka dakkas but still to open the account.
Went right around the island last Wednesday. Got stuck into a hard-fighting school of bludgers on the last 2 pylons, but nothing at West pt. My time will come.
Good to hear the 'rock does fire - will definitely try there next time.
Mozza
Didn't see any whales up close, but a pod passed by around a kilometre from the Rock. There were about 7 boats out at the Rock at the same time we were there. I didn't seen too many fish being landed by them, then again I think I was the only one laying a berley trail. One bloke with his young fella anchored up just off my trail and ended up with a nice mack for his efforts, as for the rest, they had lots of hookups on the Rock itself.
I guess we were just lucky this time, spot has been marked on the GPS, so I will hopefully get to anchor on it again if the weather improves this weekend.]
Doubtful though, we are looking at 20/30 kts. Might have to be a really early run out and turn chicken when the breeze kicks up.
Feel sorry for the Townsville Game Fishing Club, they got their Bill Fish Torny on this weekend and its gunna be real uncomfortable for them.
Tight lines to all and look for to seeing ya on the Rock. Look for the little 4.1m SeaJay Side Console with a 30 Johno. She's tidy and gets us to a few good spots. Missus reckons she wants a bigger boat for trips further offshore (take her fishing anytime with comments like that). Could have a bigger purchase on the cards in near future, but the young fella has already got dibs on the tinnie and won't let me sell it (inheritence).
Gidday Sooty66,
Where's Burdekin rock? I guess it is in Green Bowling Bay?
Silent
Between the Bohle and Rattlesnake Island. will post the GPS Coords for you tonight.
Thanks and no need to send GPS cord...
I was only curious, because I used live in TSV
I can remember old good fishing days at Paluma shoal toward to Rattle Island. Most fish were reefie and mac's
Silent
Still gettin them at Paluma Shoals. If you are still in the Queensland area, buy yourself a copy of the Northern Fish Finder. Has quite alot of good info, not to mention a heap of GPS coords for WA right around to Southern Queensland.
Tight Lines!!!!
It was good weather that weekend but i couldn't get hot catching any fish. I went to salamander reef after seeing 4ft and 20ft rocks covered in boats and salamander wasnt much different. Some mates went to w'point and joined another 40 boats fishing that area but it was quiet aswell. Good to see somebdy was catching fish that weekend.
Threw the lures out going past Burdekin Rock in the attempt to gather some for bait. Didn't get any bait just a 9.5kg spano, talk about a fluke.
Good to see someone finally putting some fish in the esky.Originally Posted by Kendall249