Thread: Where do you draw the line?

danthurlow

Where do you draw the line?

I just got my new boat(5.5m halfcab) and planning a trip to one of the close offshore reefs. As i'm new to the offshore scene, I am wondering what people think is the minimum weather conditions for a successful outing? Obviously there is a number of factors to concider such as wind, swell, seas/chop. From looking at other posts, most people seem to catch more fish on the days when the sea is calm, apart from being more comfy as well #

where do you draw the line?

Bottom-basher

Re: Where do you draw the line?

Most important mate is
    Know the capabilities of your boat. Get to know your boat in calm conditions first, and progress from there.
    Be aware of how varying conditions may affect any bar crossings you may have to face. Make sure you have all the correct safety gear, in good condition and easily accesable.
    And be sure of your own capabilities.

If you are unsure of any of the above, have a chat to your local VMR and other local fisho's, who can share thier knowledge with you. Hopefully some one from your area will pop up on here to give you some advise. Where are you intending to fish from?

Regards, Tony

danthurlow

i was looking to fish a spot at deep tempest in about 3 weeks time. went over to tangalooma wrecks a few years back, but never ventured that far out before. tips anyone?

b-b,
    Try & organise a trip with another boat crewed by people that fish off Moreton. Plenty on this site.
    Or take out a deckie who has his own boat who has been there heaps. Snappa likes a day out for fun.
    As Agnes Jack said, know your boat & your own capabilities. Good weather is 10-15 SE. Better is 5-10. Get out there early, catch em & back just after lunch.
    ROLL TIDE, ROLL.................

Hi bottom basher,10-15 knts or less and maximum of 1.5 meters sea height is a fairly safe standard.
    I leave from scarborough mainly so swell size is unimportant as there is no bar to deal with,cheers no worries

BB,

As Tony said mate, get to know your boat and limitations first and have ALL the safety gear and log on with the VMR.

If you can tag along with someone would be benifiicial also

Steven

Steven

BAR_UP

BOTTOM-BASHER, ALL OF THE OTHER MEMBERS HAVE THE RIGHT IDEAS. i'M SUPRISED THAT YOU HAVE PURCHASED A BOAT WITHOUT PREVIOUS EXPERENCE ON OTHER MAD FISHING PRICKS BOATS.All the Breast , Fillet and release, and look out for the to best boats on the water "BAR UP" 5.2 Southwind & Masterbait 1 5.8 Southwind.

whyo said they want a "deckie" ....

rods ready .......
    "whats the time"

Do a bar crossing course - you can do these with the likes of various commercial companies or I believe that some VMR or Coast Guard squadrons will also do them.

Also be awear that Moreton Bay is very shallow and thus the weather can change very quickly.

Finially make sure you have all relevant safety gear and are capable in how it is used. The police are getting very keen on this subject.

There are a variety of good weather web sites to keep an eye on.
    Tight lines, Look Cool - Act Cool - Be Cool

Ocean Kayak Prowler Elite 4.5 meter

check out some of the ground around smith rock of the tip of cape morten there is a lot of good bommies arround the area. a plus is the water isnt that deep there and you can practice anchoring in deeper water than you are used to. because a trip to deep tempest with little or no experence fishing offshore couldon your be a big waist of fuel and may have you wondering why the hell you just spent all that money on a new boat. i have had some very productive trips to that area. good luck

Bottom basher

All the above advice is good , the only thing i would add is i would rather be off cape moreton in 25-30 knts than crossing the nth bay in 15-20 st easter with the tide running in . The bay can be a real nasty place when it's wind against tide, the whole area i just so Bl@@dy shallow and exposed!!

Alcohol doesn't agree with me, but i sure do enjoy the argument!!!

liberty

Yeah I agree with Ian. With N/NE winds and outgoing tide, some of the waves get excitingly large. For my first crossing from Scarb, I'd head SE to the NW Spit marker then across East until you get inside Moreton and head up. You'll stay inside of the shallow bouncy bits.

The other place to watch out is going around Comboyuro point. If you hug the shore within 50 meters, you can stay inside the breaking surf (very much avoid). You will have a bank and you can go either of this.

Alternately go North from Scarb staying west of the banks and run out from the bottom of Bribie. If you swing north again you can avoid the really bouncy bits.

Funny though, sometimes the crossing is dead flat and you can head in a direct line to Combo point and you wonder why the fuss, but yesterday I dropped my (8m) boat off a couple of waves and moved an awful lot of water ...

Generally the morning crossing is easier, but watch out when the SE/NE picks up.

There are generally lots of boats heading both ways, so you can wait a few minutes and tag along behind someone.

On fishing, I'd also try Flinders/Smith Rock first and then migrate to Deep Tempest. There is lots to learn before you try deeper water.

Good luck - its Magnificent when you get to the north of Moreton - well worth the trip!

Nigel

PS Flinders itself is a marine park - so check the regs before dropping a line ...