Hi Guys
Just got these cobia weighed in by Lucky Phil and a local guy caught this morning off 1770. One weighed in at 22kg the other 24kg. I'm sure Phil will fill you in on the other details
Cheers Sandi
Hi Guys
Just got these cobia weighed in by Lucky Phil and a local guy caught this morning off 1770. One weighed in at 22kg the other 24kg. I'm sure Phil will fill you in on the other details
Cheers Sandi
YEAH go Phil nice fish mate, hey Sandi the new shop looks great in the pic & Phil's fish
WE headed out at 4am this morning. Conditions were great to bloody fantastic ! This is ideal as most folk up this way tend to fish " gentlemens " hours.
Started at an area north of the wreck for limited success. Unusual catch was some " Frying Pan Snapper ".
Headed to the wreck as the sun poked it's head over the horizon. We were alone. Yee Haa. On the drift and I told Shane ( deckie , virgin offshorer ), that the Trevors will pull harder than the Whiting he has been donging off Agnes Beach. He was first to trouble the scorer with a nice Brassey at 2.5kg. A couple more into the esky, then I was watching his rod slowly buckle and line start to sing. He was using my Okuma Coronardo filled with Yo-Zuri Hybrid 25lb main, 80lb Penn 10X leader on a new Catana 6-8kg rod. Dead Yakka was the killer bait.
Some 10 minutes later we get colour. I have explained to him that most people lose their first Cobe and usually at the boat. With much persistence, grunting and groaning the 22kg Crabeater was thrashing around on the floor of Skanky Hoe.![]()
After a well earner rest, we dicided that one more drift for another trevor or 2 and we'd call it a day as the Cobe would not even go close to fitting in the esky. I will learn one day that you have to take the " BIG " esky when fising off 1770.![]()
![]()
![]()
I did take the 100ltr esky, but still too small.
Anyway, I hook up and get bricked while Shane calls out " I got another of those big things on.....bugga ! ". During the course of the fight, some %$#@ in a 6mtr Glass 1/2 cab, comes to within 3 mtrs of the boat and asks " is that a fish you're fighting ? ". Calm words to the effect of remove yourself from this area IMMEDIATLEY were issued.
This fish stayed deep for the whole fight and took several screamer runs. Eventually came on board, placed a wet towel over the pair and headed to shore. Stopped on the way in when we spotted " themooks " and wife Terri bobbing corklike out at the bait grounds.
Hit the ramp at 8.30am, to see the ' gentlemens hours " rush happening. Went to Tony's shop for pics and put the pair on the lie detector.
First pic of Shane latched onto his first ever Cobe.
Shane onto his second. People dream about this sort of stuff !
Notice the goose coming over to have a sticky !!!!!!!! >![]()
Some of the stomach content from the 24kg Cobe. Yes, 8....... three spot crabs.![]()
![]()
Who says you need a big boat to get big fish go the tinnys![]()
Well done fella's
I can not believe the dumbo in that other boat coming so close while your in the middle of what would be fairly obvious to most people with a quarter of a brain, a rather intense tussle with a large fish!!!!
Regards, Tony
Gee I'd have been very friendly to the goose that came in for a closer look and said "Hey there mate, how are you going? Now P*$$ off!"Seriously, what an idiot. Well done Phil. I remember meeting you at the M&G at Bribie? That is a great set up tinnie you have.
You went out at the best time today I think as the weather turned to crap real fast. Well done on the cobes.
He who aims at nothing is sure to hit it.
Must have been a bloody hungry cobe with all that in its guts
Steven
Great work Phil, you might want to pop a link in the M&G thread...this'll get the boys excited!
Good luck,
Seriously Phil - can YOU catch fish
You'll be eating cobia fillets until you grow gills.
A good three spot crab in prime sandy country is a gun bait for those big fellas but then again they will really eat anything - the bloody garbos.
Where's Sandi and Tony's new shop?
nice fish and you even get to eat crab 2 for the price of 1 hehe![]()
![]()
great pics yous have there.