Thread: Cape Moreton Tuesday

Cape Moreton Tuesday

Hi everyone! Tried to get to Deep Tempest Tuesday with my partner in our 16ft fibreglass. THe Bay was terrible with 18kn SE vs flood tide which made collecting bait difficult. We ended up with half a dozen Yakkas and some of those 'trevally' which never seem any good on the Bay. We also lost 3 rigs to big fish on the way up- but it was just too sloppy to stop and livebait. On to SW rocks(we were hoping the SE would drop as predicted) but there was not a touch. We did see a massive Cobe finning around on the surface but could not tempt him with a live bait or slug.
    We decided to stick our nose around the Cape and see what conditions were like- Very sloppy with 2m swell, 1.3m sea and periods of rain. The slog out to DT was looking very unsavoury but we had driven so far we needed at least one drop. Dropped the pick on the first show of bait past the Cape (about 200m out in 30m) and let a bait down (only trevally left). Within seconds it got smashed and after 5minute slugfest had a nice Ambo in the boat. Next drop and Jules was onto a beautiful red emperor- the bigger ones must go like freight trains! After a quick pic he went back. Next drop got taken immediately again and we had a nice cod in the boat as well. Another smaller Ambo came up soon after but we had enough fish and let him go too. The conditions flattened out and the fish went off the bite.
    Just as we were thinking of packing up and heading home (out of bait with a good feed on board) the floater got absolutely creamed with the Penn losing half its spool of line in seconds. We dropped the Dan bouy but the fish dropped the bait. As I wound in swearing at the long tail I presumed had swum by, I noticed a massive Cobe following behind the happless trevally- again, we couldn't entice a bite! I have never seen Cobia 'finning' on the surface before but here were 2 in one day and they were huge! Need to get out there again and will keep you updated.

Re: Cape Moreton Tuesday

Cod

Small red

Well done Rob. How lucky are you that the mrs likes a fish, bad weather or not.

shame about the big cobes. sometimes they need to be force-fed

btw, you're doing well to go that far in less than ideal conditions in a 16 footer. What sort of tub is it and what's pushing it?\

Damo
    Give a man a fish, and he'll eat for a day. But ,flogging him into submission will result in him taking up crabbing.... and once he gets a taste of that sh*t, well, he may never return again.

Nice Ambo, what do you reckon their pull power is like compared to a cobe (having never hooked a cobe) Pound for Pound what do you reckon?
    You say fish, I say yes please.

Very nice haul and well done,
    On the Q of cobe vs ambo pound for pound, I'll back the cobe, I reckon they go harder and longer than ambos

Cheers - Craig

Well done!

Pitsta

Nice fish there guys & top pics

Thanks for the replies guys, I have been a bit hesitant to post anything on the site although I have been following the threads for months. Some fella's seem to get caned for keeping too many fish or voicing a political opinion. Need to keep it about the fishing!

Deiter, the boat is an old cruise craft regal with what has proven to be a super reliable (touch wood) yamaha 90. We try to fish at least once a week (midweek) just to give the motor a run .

Duyz72, my mrs has caught much bigger cobes than me- see picture weighed in at 40 kg from the beacons last year, but I find that Ambo's and Kingies give a shorter but much more torrid fight. It might only last a few minutes but your heart is in your mouth as you try to pump it off the bottom and you often have that terrible rubbing feeling as the fish swims your leader around the reef to try and bottom you. Cobes have more stamina but in our experience they don't fight as dirty. I am still to catch an Ambo or Kingie over 20kg- A fish like that would leave me shaking after the gaff shot.

Jules's cobe was caught off a beacon on a tiny live herring in October last year. We fished for 30 seconds, caught the fish and drove straight home after an hour long fight on 15kg. Finally I must add that Cobes are much better than Ambo on the chew!

Nice cobe i bet jules was hanging up the rod after that one for a while

Nice one Robbo.

Never caught an ambo, but have plenty of backache the odd cobe They stack up OK against grinner (usual catch).

GF

Top effort there Rob, mate I agree totally with you cobes takes the cake pound for pound with ambo's a close second for their shorter but more viscious fight. Mate you have one strong lady friend there that cobe is a horse. . Cheers Shawno.

Awesome work guys ...... great stuff in less than awesome conditions... we are often around the Cape in our Poly 5.3. If you see us drop by and say hi...... Marion is a keen fish as well... us guys would probably get shown up I am thinkin!
    Norm

DOH!!! Now I feel like a wusss, after seeing a female fisher pull up a 40kgs cobe, I'm too scare to put a line in when know those thing and samsons are around. It's fun for the first 10-15 mins after that it's a just a pain.
    But awesome fish in anyones book. she's got my respect as an out & out fisho
    Humility is not a weather condition.

Good report Rob.

Don't worry about negative comments regarding catch.......they're few and far between and I'm sure you'll agree that it is generally a good natured site. The arguments have raged in the past but individual circumstances dictate what we keep. I have no fear of posting a report of me keeping a huge catch because a) It rarely happens, and b) I have a big family and when it does happen I like to keep the freezer full to make up for the majority blank days.........that's 99.9% of the time Top marks to the missus for landing the big 'un. My missus grabs the rod off me to "have a play" and ends up losing 'em