that is a big cobe love the report and great pics
GET THE CHAINSAW OUT TO FILLET THAT ONE, LOT OF FOOD THER MATE. THE NEIGHBOURS ARE GOING TO LOVE YA.
WELL DONE [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]
BIFF
Gday again,
And Hi to one of our great customers Darryl (Daz) and to one of our very regular and extremely keen, tackle mad, Live for fishing customers and mate Brent (Brent P). And to all the other Ausfishers.
Here's the facts about the 41kg cobia,
We headed out the seaway at 12pm for our second half day charter for the day, The morning was very busy with a seemingly endless run of mack tuna 6-7kg with most customers practising catch and release, There was quite a few trag, tailor and school sharks for a feed for the guys.
On both charters we headed to one of our spots in approx 45 metres 4 nautical miles from the seaway. We then found the big bait shows and dropped the anchor.
The afternoon charter was a group on a bucks day out fishing.
After a slow start we hooked up a couple of mack tuna, tailor and trag, the boys were already ecstatic by this stage.
The buck (Dack- as his mates call him) hooked up first with his mate Bob hooking up 10 secs later. The boys were fishing paternoster rigs on the bottom with cut baits but I think Dack had a live yakka on.
Unfortunately Dack soon dropped his fish with the paternoster breaking, Bad luck buddy, better luck in marriage eh!.
So now with all other rods cleared, all eyes are on Bob.
Jason and I still didn't know exactly what Bob had hooked, Cobia was on my mind and probably Jasons as well but being slightly superstitious fisherman we didn't want to say the 'C' word until we were sure. We've been disapointed too many times with big arse sharks etc trying hard to disguise themselves as large cobia. And unlike many areas, 99% of our Cobia are hooked on the bottom, not the surface so we sometimes don't get a look at the fish for 40 mins.
Fight time was only about 30 mins and lucky cause old Bob might not have lasted much longer!
Jason gaffed the fish and I helped him lift into the boat.
After landing the fish (and clapping and cheering for 10 mins or so) the boys got the lines back in and much to our delight the cobes were just waiting there for us-Happy Days.
Unfortunately Dack lost another good fish, What can I say Dack when your luck's not there it's just not there! That's Fishing.
Anyway we landed a couple more smaller cobes and they all ate cobia happily ever after!!!
Matt Johnson
PS. The photos didn't really do this fish justice, The photos don't always show the true size.
nice cobe
It looks a huge fish Matt. Great to see you're putting your customers onto some quality fish on a regular basis. Top report too. Very comprehensive.
Ranger 188VX - "Sweet Chariot"
very jealous guys...
Cancelled my last 5 trips due to bad weather.
Nice work. Heading to the seaway for a fish this Saturday. Hope I dont bring the bad weather.
Coffs
Why is all the good weather around on weekdays?