Bills On GC

Thread: Bills On GC

Bills On GC

G'Day,
    Been fishing offshore Goldy regular for last 7 months or so but still pretty new to the area. Getting psyched up for the coming run of Bills & was looking for some pointers.

Are there some general areas that the bait/bills tend to hold and are good places to start looking with L Bait?
    Or do most boats find the warm stuff and go the miles with plastic?
    Was looking at the charts and the 50's east of the pin seems to have some bottom contours that may create some eddies, is this a good place to start?
    Understand the seasons change but about when is it normally time to start chasing them?

I know all the ground as far out as the 50's and up as far as the Cathedrals OK but didn't get a chance to work it last summer. Any tips would be great.

Ausfish Platinum Member kitty_cat's Avatar

Re: Bills On GC

scott if you join the gold coast game fishing club you will learn in 1 year what it would take you to learn in 5-6 by your self ,iam sure there are plenty of guys in ausfish that are with this club. Not a bill fisherman myself but work in the industry and here how helpfull the guys are down there
    i think doug burt is also a good start he has a tackle shop on the coast and also is in the club
    wayne

Spot on with the 50's curves and lines... ive seen some big bills came from there. I dont know how they caught them though.

Definitely join the club, it will be well worth your while.
    You say fish, I say yes please.

Can't wait to get out on the RIP TIDE scotty and have the tyrnos screaming with a big billy on the end.Heck just to get out will be nice.

Hey scott,as the rest of the guys have suggested come and join our club,we meet the first wednesday of every month at the hope island resort at 7pm.I have only been apart of the club for 2 years now and the information i have gaind is priceless,if your looking for a bit of tackle you cant go past doug burts and the guys are allways willing to assist with information and where the fish are biting.As for the blacks there at there best in a month or 2,but people are still getting fish rite now with xmas being the peak time. MICK OUTWIDE1

find the bait and you will find the stick faced fish

Thanks for the info & agree on the club idea. Only trouble is I live in Toowoomba so maybe difficult to get the best out of it although I'll get some more info on it.

See you out there somewhere.

we berly up on the close reefs where you find the bait and stick some liveys out, mind you we r anchored and we do alrite. it would b nice to troll all day but with the price of fuel i would rather stick the liveys out for a chance, plus a chance for a dolly is always good. on da close grounds, i'm talking 45 to 50 metres, but you have to find the bait schools and work over them, thats only 5-6 miles out from the seaway. if a billy takes the bait and we r hooked up we let the anchor go with a float on the end so we know where it is and chase it down. its up to u mate it looks like a good season for the bills with wats going on out there at the moment with a lots of bait and nice warm blue water out wide to the 50's. i've hooked marlin at 12 fathoms 2 years ago and i know you don't have to far outside to get small blacks up to 30kg anyway good luck i'm sure you'll get some and i hope you do

got a really nice spot which is only a 20km run NE of the seaway
    have only pulled a few good snapper from it but it holds plenty of bait
    and would be worth a troll over
    seano

Cracker, Vertico,
    Thanks for the info. I've been thinking that maybe the 24's and couple of bumps I have marked on the 36's NE would be good places to look for some bait schools given what I have seen in these areas through winter.

Careel

Cracker is not so crackers, He's on the money. Also try to fish around the full moon.

Good Luck

bump

hey scotty, hooked our first black for the season, did the same thing as what i said before, and sure enough among the mackies on yakkas, i put a huge slimey out and bam!!, jumped once and spat the hook unfortunately, and for the rest of the day do you think we could get a slimey [smiley=bigcry.gif]. didn't see any dollys but the water is warm and heaps of bait around. we went to mermaid to try for some spottys, with no luck so pushed east from there and found a nice bait school which looked like it was getting broken up, anchored and berlyed, got some undersized pearlies two trag. baitiful day i mean beautiful day and not much current to start with then it picked up a little, but all in all a great day and good signs showing all the best

cracker