G'Day guys,
Whilst most reports here highlight the successful days we have, this is one of those "gee that didn't work" stories.
Head out from Scarborough at 4.30am yesterday with 4 blokes from work on board, rods and reels all rigged for some bottom bashing out at Deep Tempest. Hadn't been there before and thought we would give it a try.
Armed with some starter marks and some assistance from people here we dropped our lines in with good pilly and squid baits.
But ohhhh the drift..... out went the sea anchor but the current running across the wind had us fishing side on to the waves. Sea was pretty good so not too much of a problem but the odd big one had us holding on.
We soon found that it was damn hard to get the baits down though, big lumps of lead went on that had the rods buckling under the weight but with the amount of current we still struggled to get to bottom.
We put in about 2 hours and hardly lost a bait, not a lot on the sounder but definately fish down there. One of the guys was quite crook by now after his 3rd or 4th spit (down to the bile) so we got the shits on and headed back to Bulwer so he could walk the beach and get his legs back. Poor show in the ice box with only one snapper on board.
After a break we sounded around some channel markers and pulled up near one to see what we could entice, bugger all again.
Took the guys for a run around the bay and then back on the trailer at 2pm and a couple of beers before heading off home to clean up.
So, if anyone contemplates fishing Deep Tempest I reckon you need to time your trip around the tide and not the daybreak. You need a good sea anchor and I reckon you need braid not mono to get the line down straight.
As mentioned bit of a shitty fishing trip, but it still beat being in the office all day.
- Darren