especially with men in grey suits around
pete
That cat maybe the one that got blown-out thru the s/p bar 6 months ago
hi greg
nice catch
would have hated to hit that on a dark night
especially with men in grey suits around
pete
Just saw that upturned sharkcat on the Sunshine Coast news. It washed ashore this arvo at Coolum beach. Can't believe no-one has identified it. There must be a name or id on it somewhere?
G'day all,
We were sent some pictures today from Powercat to let us know they had found our boat and they were on this forum.
This was my farther's boat and which broke it's anchor at Days Gutter, Moreton Island in September 2005. No one was on the boat. This was during the big storm we had around then with 100k/h winds and massive swells. They wave indicator of Point Lookout was saying about 4m swell.
Powercat told us the boat wouldn't sink unless the hull was damaged, and they were obviously right. It would have only sunk if it hit rocks, which we would of found it a long time ago or it was going to be hit by a ship. We had also heard of another boat a few years before doing the same thing from days gutter and washing up 6 months later on the north coast of NSW.
Luckily for him he was in the process in upgrading to a new model, so it wasn't to long between boats, but unlucky for a friend who was about to buy it.
To the poster, it would be really great if you could email a copy of the photo so we can frame it for him.
Great story, it's amazing that it travelled up and down the coast for over 12 months and ended up not far from where she was originally lost! Sure am glad no one was injured, out of interest, did your old man buy another cat?
Last edited by leezor; 17-01-2007 at 07:57 PM.
Yeah bought another powercat 3000 with twin 200 suzuki 4strokes. It's great boat.
Good stuff mate, had a 328 Powercat many years ago, was one of the few boats I actually felt safe in when the weather turned bad. Powercat and Suzuki, what a great combination!!
Lee
Sounds like the cat washed up on the Sunshine Coast. Reports said that it had no motors attached. Mighty_Quin
Was a story in this mornings Courier Mail about it with a picture.
Apparentlythey found the owner. He said it broke its mooring and was lost during a storm at Kooingal, Moreton Island in September 2005.
Long time to be drifting.
Anyway I bet the insurance company will be interested now they have found it..... i assume at extimated worth of $80K they reported it would have been insured. Your opinion......... you think the insurance company will be interested?
I reckon it would of already been paid out, you will probably see it up for auction soon.
Anyone up for "Project Powercat"???
It made the news this morning aparently its was stolen in 2005 and the police & authoritys believe its been floating around moreton bay since then.
I heard about that Cat today on the radio,
Apparently washed up at Caloundra or Mooloolaba I think. The police contacted the owner who said the boat had gone missing 2 years ago in a storm at North Moreton Island area.
Cheers Ryan.
G'day all,
My mother went up there today to check it out apparently the boat was still intact untill it hit the beach. Then it lost the hard top and both engines were still attached.
It was absolutely insured with club marine, who were really good about the whole thing, but they did do the full investigation. All up i think it took about six week to payout which was pretty good. The boat was around $115K when we bought it 2nd hand around 2002.
The only thing we ever had left of the boat was the anchor, a bruce. We found the chain leading to it at low tide. At least we have a few more memories of a great boat now.
When i get some photo's of it on the hardstand i'll post.
This is it before and the new one.
Last edited by powercatboy; 18-01-2007 at 08:26 PM. Reason: update photos