New Fishing Show
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: New Fishing Show

New Fishing Show

You never know what can be achieved if you don't try. How come fishing is supposed to be the most popular sport/hobby in Australia (or the world for that matter).

If it was wouldn't we have more fishing shows on TV, Surely us poor fisho's deserve a bit more. What we have now (in Qld) is pretty pathetic and I am not putting down the TV shows that are already on. But wouldn't it be nice to have something more in line with what a lot of people need. It's great to watch some one 2000k away catching huge fish on a boat that only a few could ever hope to afford.

Maybe a series of shows on different aspects of fishing like, lures, how to use them, different tecniques, different lures, how to make your own lures. what about gathering bait I know heaps of people that can't throw a cast net, and not through lack of trying. How about fly fishing, one only has to look through the chat boards to see there are a lot people that don't even know where to start. Fly tying demos, tying a differen't fly each show, different fly fishing tecniques. What about knots there are heaps of guys that get by with one knot all there lives. Different lines and what they do, hooks the possibilities are there.

Once again I'm not knocking the shows that are on but I think the $$$$$$$$ made by the tackle industry could probably afford to sponsor some decent shows. I feel they would get there money back by helping to fund such shows.

Anyway just something to toss around and see what happens.

Cheers Poppy

Ausfish Gold Member

Re: New Fishing Show

Poppy,
    couldn't agree with you more. All too much bent rods which is good but not enough technique or info about lines and rigs.
    Yibbida Yibbida
    Luke

Good point poppy!
    Saturday arvo on rex's show Bushy was explaining how to tie on backing and fly line etc.

I reckon we need more basic stuff. A few people at work have asked me "What can I get for about $80?" recently.
    When I thought about it for a bit, there isn't a great deal of stuff that will last for that price!

Anyway, I reckon we need a few more 'back to basics' lessons on telly. Like throwing a line in from a river bank and casting a lure at a bream under a log etc etc.

Cheers, Slates

Guys

You've hit the nail right on the head. The value of a show that is for fisherpeople and not about the "stars" would be of tremendous value.

Basic boatcraft, even how to clean and fillet different types of fish. The list is almost endless.

Need a "personality" with push to get into the suppliers' heads, if we are to have any luck.

Who's on?

AJ

Cremated_Reddog

Poppy I'd have to agree whole heartedly with you.
    AJ maybe Reddog could do it .
    But yes I think that there is a need for basic info for learner fishers and experienced also.

Bloody oath...

Heath's Fishing Adventures has a good ring to it, don't ya think?

I think that the shows get too complicated & in the end spiral out of control. They become too expensive to produce etc. I've thought about this for a while, if ever they allow community TV, on the likes of PayTv, I reckon that would be an excellent opportunity for amutures to have a go at making usefull programs that people can actually learn something off.
    Gold Coast
    WWW.GCFISHING.COM

Hey Guys

What a fantastic idea. How about a bit of variety, we could introduce "Bullocks Camp Oven Cooking". I reckon I could give that current bloke a bit of a run for his money.

We might be on a winner hear guys. How about it, Channel 10. What about a bit of sponsorship.

Derek

Dave Strongs your man with his contacts it would have to be a winner.

Theres a group of serious, local anglers I hang around with that have been saying all this stuff for ages. Yep, top Idea. We would love to see a local show with basics. No exotic destinations, rather, the local creek in a canoe flickin lures. The local estuary, bay or impoundment.
    Zac Piletic from Fishing Down Under, started a series that Nathan Weil and I were featured in a few years back. We did an episode in the upper reaches of the Brissy river fishing for Bass. It was incredible just how many peole commented on how interesting it was to view a couple of unknowns just havin fun fishing.
    Nathan was pulled over by the Gympie Police a few months later and was recognized by the officer. Apparently the Gympie boys were all serious fishos and wanted to know if more shows were to be aired.
    Sadly that series fell through due to lack of funding I think. Nathan and I have always wanted to persue this so oneday maybe, we will.
    Regards, Randall.

Hi,

I cannot add a lot to this other than to say this idea has been tossed about by many anglers over the years. The problem i see is the front person, funds and a TV time.

The front person would not be that hard to find and in fact does not always have to be the same person. As for the anglers in the shows you need to sus out the locals without "EGO's" to be involved and i'm sure this would be a winner for the general fishing public. Down to earth basic stuff covering a vast array of topic's already mentioned in above posts is by far the best path to run.

To obtain sponsorship / advertising the company that puts out will want a return (fair enough) and would want there product in the faces of the viewer and this can be a problem as only the big guys can afford to advertise on these shows at the expence of many very good local persons.

I hope someone can take the ball and run with it as it is about time we had a good local show for local anglers

Onya Poppy, what a bloody good idea.

Isn't it amazing how the "name" fishing personalities start off doing a good show and then get tied up with their own self imnportance and forget what they are there for.

You always see the same faces and the same stars on the shows and most of us here have forgetten more about fishing than half of these guys have ever learnt.

Anyway when you get the show started don't foregt to invite all of your friends here onto it and we'll all dop our bit to improve techniques.

yours in fishing.

Wassa

Guys

Heaps of interest and lots of replies. You're on, Poppy.

"AJ's Angling Antics". Sounds great.

Seriously though, it wouldn't take a lot to research and then present the info to someone like BNB, for publishing.

Who's on?

AJ

What great replies, thanks fella's. One thing is that fact that the fishing shows always seem to be on Saturday afternoon when most ardent fishy types would most likely be out drowning some bait.

The other point is, if it was a local show what great tourist attracting possibilities there are. Maybe we could charge a toll to fish of the new walking bridge in Brisbane, at least then it would serve a really useful purpose. Ha Ha.

Cheers Poppy

great idea fellas, it got me thinking, and i sat down today
    and made notes from the basic hook,lines thru to how to cast in the surf etc etc, the list is endless, we should get together
    and put out old minds together??? never no what culd happen
    8) ??? maybe ausfish and b n b could help out??

Hey, guys, this would have to be one of the hottest posts on the chat board. I don't think I have ever seen such a response.

Are we just all giving lip service though or are or there many of you who are prepared to go the whole hog??????

I've taken the liberty of emailing all of this to someone I know who is involved with Briz31. 8) 8) 8)

Who knows, something may come of it.

Keep watching.

Derek