Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Thread: Mission Point Trip

Mission Point Trip

Hi Guy's, Touchy i think that Misson Point sounds like a plan. As previously posted the weekend of the 19th October sounds like a good time to go (except for Bug Man). I have never been up there myself so i don't know what to expect maybe you could let me know a bit more about the place so i can decide wheather i should bring my waders.

gruntahunter

Re: Mission Point Trip

hey dom , in october mate ur waders won't be thick enough to keep out the mossies up there. lol . U'll have to camp with my truckdriver mates with the fire and u'll be all right.
    Serenity is the ideal term 4 mission point mate and u and tom will love it .I 'm going next w/end actually with my 2 boys and next door neighbour and camping saturday night up there if ur interested .

g'day all
    im definately keen if i am available that weekend. imminent career change may determine though. otherwise where abouts is mission point on Bribie. dosent show on my maps. also if lifts needed the landy can hold a lot of people for beach runs. although seats are not involved so sore arses all round.

G'Day Dom,Yeah the spot should be firing in Oct.some good Jack spots 'round there & some nice whiting if you now what tides/areas to fish,will do a bit more homework re the19th but a quick look tells me the bite percentage for that w/end is very low,but if it suits most of the ausfish members then that will be fine,more on bite times ect later.Cheers T.><> ><>.

sounds like to GO !

oH shoot, I'm at Fraser from 17 til 20.

Let me see........Fraser or Mission Point. DOH ! Fraser it is.

The Fraser trip is a purposeful exercise to see if I can nail a Jewie from the Beach. I'll be thinking of youz !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Touchy if that weekend does'nt sound like it will produce the goods i am open on when we go up.

By the way, how bad are the mozzies up there?

Ausfish Addict

Sounds good to me even just to get away from here just don't know if I will be able to get the Sunday off at this point starting in a new job..which requires me to work sundays..waaaaaaaa..but then i have 3 days during the week to fish

Landy,
    Mission Pt is water access only. I have been there a few times mainly during Winter. There's an environmental loo, open fire BBQs even a table and chairs. There's heaps of areas to wade around Mission but must agree that the mossies will be thick, Mission backs on to swamp land so good luck. By the way no water available there so take it with ya or travel back to Donnybrook to top up. To find it look on ya map for Donnybrook and then go across the passage about 2 o'clock and you should find it.
    It's a great place and very peaceful.
    See ya
    J

gruntahunter

Yeah Jedster it is peaceful, but not when this crowd is there.The mossies Dom, r like, big enough to put on ur hook for a jewie bait and twice as mean.

Dom,The mozzie/sand fly problem is much the same as any similar area,worse at low tide tho'I mix a brew up in a spray bottle with a small bot of Rid,small bot Dettol & then fill the bottle up with baby oil,I always keep this stuff in the boat and it is a top brew that will keep all the nasties at bay,Harro put me onto this mix & I can vouch for it.Cheers T.><> ><>.

gruntahunter

A nice big camp fire keeps them at bay as well fellas. There really not that bad if you take precautions.
    Speaking of camp fires,is there any fire bans on in any of these fishing and camping areas we visit at the moment because of the drought?

Ausfish Addict

Hey touchy can you post the amounts that you use..ie how much baby oil to the small bottles of dettol and rid..and what size spray bottles..are they the ones with the trigger you buy at woolies

G'Day jaybee,thats right spray bottle I call them ceaners spray bottles as all the cleaners here at work use them,hardware or woolies have them,I use the small plastic bottle of rid(all of it)the hipflask size of dettol(all of it)then just fill to near the top with oil,just make sure before you spray to give it a good shake as the rid will settle on the bottom one of the good things in using this method is that you dont have to put it on your hands to apply & then onto your bait ,just adjust the nozzle to a fine spray & bobs ya uncle.Cheers T.><> ><>.

gruntahunter

Hey Touchy does it keep ok for an extended time and still work...I would think it should?

Ausfish Addict

thanks touchy one last question..with the baby oil..does it tend to burn you on a sunny day