Last night I caught my first ever mangrove jack, which i'll post photos of later. It measured 48cm and weighed 4 & 1/2 lb not huge but it will be nice for lunch. The best part is that I christened my other halfs new abu combo with it.![]()
![]()
![]()
Last night I caught my first ever mangrove jack, which i'll post photos of later. It measured 48cm and weighed 4 & 1/2 lb not huge but it will be nice for lunch. The best part is that I christened my other halfs new abu combo with it.![]()
![]()
![]()
Hi Angelena,
The largest I have caught is 48cm's but my daughter landed a 50 cm here on Bribie last year both fish were released to fight again another day.
THE BOMBER
with a topic like this your certain to berly up yourself a brett finger or two![]()
![]()
![]()
![]()
Hi Angelena,
Well done on a nice fish, lets see them pics too.
Hey if you keep on outfishing the the other half be careful that he doesnt stop taking you![]()
![]()
Was it on bait or lure?
Glen
Eat Sleep FISH!!!!!!!!!!
Cheers Glen,
One Life, What will you catch next!
My biggest so far, is 63cm & weighed in at 4.5 kg.
He tasted great too![]()
I caught it on a live mullet. As for the photo my camera is on the blink but when it goes in the paper I'll post the photo.
Some of you may have already seen this pic, but hows this for a Jack, mate of mine Mike wilkinson, who i fish offshore with, caught this sucker off Moreton (14.5kg), makes some of the ones i've caught look like a herring.
Imagine one of these in the estuaries.
g'day
heck, thats one hell of a big fish!
How big was the live bait ???
Bloody marlin or something?
Did he taste as good as the small ones or did the chemicals that mutated him make him taste, well chemically-eeeee
anyways Brian thats one hell of a big fish.
cheers jack
errrrr i mean brent![]()
I was going to brag about my 8 pounder...........think I'll just keep quiet.
That's not a jack! That's a very sunburnt Black Bass. Seeing that photo has really got me exited about the prospects of catching similar fish in Tinaroo in a while. They are already catching legal jack up there, and it emphasises my point that you will soon have to be fishing with Penns and TLD's just so you can retain some tackle. Imagine hooking onto that brute amoungst the submerged timber!!!!!
CAN'T WAIT![]()
Southwind SF20 'Piscatoreous'
Savage 14ft tinny "About Time'
Bugger Tinaroo, get them in Somerset. You fellas have got the barra, we at leaast deserve a few jacks. Damn nice fish.![]()
48cm is a good fish Angelena. Well done.![]()
Best to date is spot on 50cm and 2.4kg - and all from a very local Brissy waterway.I have hooked and lost them in the 60cm class - too good for me.
Webby - that's a bloody horse of a jack. I reckon your mate would have arms an inch longer after that. Are they prone to the cigeratera like the red bass, chinaman etc. when they get that big ??? ???
Caught my very first Jack last XMAS up in Captain Cook Creek (Town of 1770), measured 54 cm, though didn't have anything to weigh it.
Lost quite a few that day, the fish were very close to the snags.
Used live whiting as bait.
Tasted absolutely delicious. Caught a few more in a creek that's in the National Park near there (is it Deepwater?), though none as big as the first.
Was a great trip. Highly recommend 1770, get there just before Chrissy to beat the crowds.
Hi, No Mike reckons it was all rite, he's still alive so must have been.
He has the jaws mounted on the wall at home, you can put your fist through with out touching the teeth and i mean teeth (would do a white pointer proud). Dont know if he's arms are any longer, but i know he just about had a coronery (heart attack) getting it to the boat.
Have seen the jaws myself and they are awsome. If I remember correctly, Mick caught the fish while in a fishing comp. and didn't get anything for it. No best "Other" species I think. Made his own trophy with the jaws.
Clutter.