WE DID IT!!! - Page 2
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Thread: WE DID IT!!!

Re: WE DID IT!!!

Hi All
    Well I'm glad to see we had a win agianst the pro's but we better wait and see the final out come first as well as the facts is the new rule is it bag limits or in possesion is what I would like to no.

Out of the 92 Petitions that where sent out I recieved 12 back with a total of 412 signatures of them this shows just how much the fisho's will stand up and be counted, these where all sent to Mr palaszczuk office mid week.

so which ever way we go the cut in the bag limits in one way is good but in the other if it is the Possesion rule ??? ??? ??? ??? ??? ??? ???

it's a shame we call their trade professional fisherman. the thing i hate most is when you see shows of the pros. bringing fish up in their nets it appears that not only do they catch everything in their path, undersize crabs, fish, etc. but it also appears that most of these fish are dead before they get released back into the water..

it's a terrible loss of life, and for what a few prawns.

a professional fisherman shouldn't have to use nets, they should just use fishing lines. atleast that would make it fair on the fish.

it's good to see this rule coming in though.. and even though some of these fish's bag limit and keepable size is increasing, i'm not too fussed about that either.

a good move for the every day joe bloggs.

The new totals for recreational fishers are "in possession" limits. No such thing as a "bag" limit in Queensland.
    Note on all my postings I use the terminology "commercial" fishers. Most in the industry are hard, honest workers doing what the law allows them to do. But it is not a "profession" and to my mind never will be, the same as being a tour guide for recreational fishers is not recognised as a profession.
    Vern

Hi All
    just a question then I would like you all to go to the DiD You Know and answer the the poll

if you read all the fishing magazines tide books or your alll faithfull Beacon to Beacon, Hooked in Paradise or what ever the book may be that alll fishing in Queensland are in Bag limits this to me means per/person per/day not in possesion

I've been In Queensland now for 16yrs and have always believe that it was a Bag Limit not in possesion as some said to me today that so excuse my ingnorance but ingnorance is not and excuse so just a quick quiz to see have many others are in the same belief

Ausfish Addict

Steve with the new size limits its been made in possession, see the new reef fin fish ris, which also covers moreton bay not just the GBR. so I am under the impression if i go to mooloolaba for a week, catch my bag limit on the first day, thats it, cause i keep all the fish in an esky in the boat. Its in possession the same as tailor.
    cheers.

Hi Jaybee.

Not only do you have to worry about what you have in your boat esky, but also any fish you have at home or campsite in your fridge/freezer! For the purposes of the Act, in possesion means in your possesion anywhere - home and campsite included. Of course you would have to tell them (inspectors etc) that you have others at home.

At the same time, if the inspectors have a suspicion that you are not being fully truthful, then they may apply for a warrant to search your home! Of course the suspicions have to be strong enough to convince a magistrate to grant the warrant.

Those are extreme cases but they can't just be dismissed. Mostly those powers are there to apply in major cases but you never know when some officious inspector might decide to test you.

BTW - the powers of search etc are not new - have been there for a while - just come into focus with changes to limits etc.

Scary stuff!

Seems to me that the QFS is not doing a v ery good job of informing the public of what their legislation really means. Makes you wonder what they do with all that money they get.
    Vern

Gentlemen,

Do you really believe that with just 120 fishery patrol officers in QLD and around 8 in the moreton Bay region that any of these guys have the time or inclination to check home freezers.

As big muddie said they've also got to get a warrant from a magistrate to search your home. Now my thinking here would be that Fisheries must have a bit of evidence on you that you do a bit of poaching in your spare time to warrant asking for a warrant.

I don't think that too many of us have much to worry about here - unless you're an illegal poacher then I hope you go to jail and never fish again.

Posession limits have ben extended slightly for live aboard charters as well otherwise the industry would collapse. Somepeople may think this is a or bad thing but it's up to the individual. Personally if I don't have access to my own big boat to fish some of the areas that charters go to but have another money to buy a trip on one then I'd like the ability to bring home a few more fish.

But that's my opinion.

Ausfish Addict

Maybe this is the reason the QLD is now trialling the QLD police as inspectors as well. The police are also inspectors in NSW. I might be wrong here, but didnt the joh gov, give powers to police to enter ones home without a warrant.
    cheers.

I agree with Bugman about being checked on your own property although there is always the risk and I would not take the chance.
    Cannot agree that charters get extra allowance. The weather and other commitments has stopped me from getting to the reef for the last 2 months so should I get an allowance as well?
    Charters run big boats that are rarely affected by weather. Are we talking about being able to buy more than your fair share of the resource or are we talking about sustainable and ecuitable management. The later I hope.
    Vern

Quote Originally Posted by Vern_Veitch
    I agree with Bugman about being checked on your own property although there is always the risk and I would not take the chance.
    Cannot agree that charters get extra allowance. The weather and other commitments has stopped me from getting to the reef for the last 2 months so should I get an allowance as well?
    Charters run big boats that are rarely affected by weather. Are we talking about being able to buy more than your fair share of the resource or are we talking about sustainable and ecuitable management. The later I hope.
    Vern
    Hi Vern , yeah mate, the 'level' playing field ain't quite perfected yet

Charters???........time will eventually require a TAC per surveyed 'capacity' ,and even e.g. non-fishing of Gold coast GPS marks for Snapper ,day in ,day out (by charters)...whoooops a 3 winged ,2 headed pig just flew past

Mate , "in possession" (to me) ain't a restriction , as such.........

Says ( to me ) IF I go fishing from 6p.m. to 6a.m. .......it ain't (2) bag-limits.

Holiday camping ramifications "is a worry" ,but then again , me and family would eat/drink/smell of fish daily, and a 'good' day on e.g. flatties limit ???, would then be supplemented by whiting/tailor/macs/jacks/jew/crabs on future days........just my POV

p.s. I personally prefer a 'range' of fish ,rather than heaps of one specific type..........anyday

Gazza

(and keep batting/battling for us)

In possession limits don't affect me either Gazza. I fish for fun mostly although I like a feed as well.
    There is one thing worse than not catching any fish - not trying.
    Vern

Quote Originally Posted by Vern_Veitch
    In possession limits don't affect me either Gazza. I fish for fun mostly although I like a feed as well.
    There is one thing worse than not catching any fish -

[not trying].

Vern
    not trying Vern ???......I respect your efforts.

Keep batting/battling for us RecFishos (good,bad 'n ugly).......
    fair & reasonable FUNDING ,is hopefully in "webby" and co's wishlist ??? ??? ???........I trust/assume ??? ??? ???

Nothing less and maybe 'more'..... ??? ??? ???

Just my IMHO
    Gazza

Remember the next RIS is due in before the 16th of this month!

Ausfish Addict

In possesion limits mean I wont be fishing mooloolaba again on a 3 day to a 3 week holiday. Granted some fish will be eaten, some maybe given away, (bbq in the park with tourists from overseas) however, fresh is best, these trips are not cheap, and frozen is best in the long run, so the tourist and fishing dollar is gone there and I am only one person. go figure. Whats the government got up their sleeve to compensate for the loss, fish cages in moreton bay, I wonder.
    cheers.