Not my capture but putting a couple of mates onto some barra up at Hinchinbrook in Sept. These guys were jumping out of their skins and beaming smiles.
Fitzy - I can see how warm and fuzzy it must be at times to put people onto the fish.
Not my capture but putting a couple of mates onto some barra up at Hinchinbrook in Sept. These guys were jumping out of their skins and beaming smiles.
Fitzy - I can see how warm and fuzzy it must be at times to put people onto the fish.
![]()
![]()
![]()
![]()
![]()
![]()
IT WAS A STINKING HOT DAY AROUND THIS TIME LAST YEAR.
I WAS SITTING ON THE BANKS OF THE YARRA RIVER ABOUT 10KM FROM INNERCITY MELB WHEN A 6LB MURRY COD TOOK A BELLY FULL OF WORMS I HAD SET UP ON A VERY LIGHT LINE.
WHAT A GOOD TIME TO SEE COD ALIVE IN THE YARRA RIVER.
Any year we are able to get out and Fish has to be considered a memorable year.
Still trying for my first Jack and Jewie. Hooked a big fish in the 'Pin' Bar back in June that stretched my arms a bit. No Mullaway but a 6-7 foot Shovel Nose. It was still a pleasing capture, regardless of their Vermin reputation.
Happy New Year to you all !!!
Craigie.
G Day Dave,Originally Posted by Jack_Lives_Here
It's great to see folks go away with big grins & some fond memories as well as some new ideas/techniques to help them out in the future.
Took a couple of fellas out today to Lake Somerset. Got them onto 20 odd bass & they were grinning like cheshire cats with a couple of PBs in there for them.
Good to see!
Fitzy..
Australian Lure & Fly Expo - Australia's largest ever gathering of Aussie lures under one roofwww.lureshow.com.au
Australian Lure Shop - Get aussie made lures direct from the lure makers at www.australianlureshop.com.au
I'm happy to say there's been a few, but to choose one I would have to say the 105 cm Barra I caught at Mapoon in September. The photo is posted in the Saltwater section and the amazing luck story with it. It is the one called "Another Mapoon Barra"
Well. . .
Mines not so much one single capture but a trip. . .to 1770 with two mates for a week. . .caught a lot of first for me. . .and had a great time. . .good fishing and great company![]()
The winter,one hell of a winter fishwise and guess couple of occasions come to mind
One...decided ta seek a little shelter behind Erskine while the cook cooked a feed of fish n chips(and Greek salad) and hoiked a floatin Pillie out while i sunk another pillie to the bottom for a lipper or two and the floater with the 9000 attatched started screaming ta hurry up and pick it up before it run out of line lol.
Cut that story short, Mackeral!!!!, Big mackeral!!!! and each cast before the count of five had another mackeral hooked up. Not that i normally go out of my way chasin Mackeral but the thing i mostly remember is that, that reel (9000) didnt let me down once and kinda grew more attatched to it ever since and can assure ya there was some big fellas caught and lost that day.Not tryin ta rustle up business for Abu lol but do think a good reel only becomes a good reel after its really been put to a test ey.
Had a simmillar trip chasin Reds adjascent to the Shoals one trip where i had ta tell(not ask![]()
the missus ta up line as we'd caught enough Reds for the evening. And good size fellas too, and can tell ya thats somethin you dont do too often lol and the thing that stood out about that trip was the night, the flat seas and just layin back watchin the stars lol. Might sound a little romantic but some trips stand out more so than others for some isolated reason or other ?? and maybe not just because of the fish
Had my first trip out for the year with my boat last Thursday and YES!!! lookin like a top year again with Nice size lipper on the chew and no shortage of mackeral droppin by ta say "G'day mate , got a spare pillie onboard".
My stand out fishing memory for 2002 woud have to be my first Moreton Bay snapper I caught at Mud Island, one cold June morning. We have caught good squire over the year out there, but this was the only one you could call a snapper, it went a tad under 5 klg. I hope 2003 is just as good, and we all catch that big one we dream about.
Cheers Reevesy.
I found most my fishing trips memorable during 2002 having moved to Brisbane from Melbourne at the start of the year (most noticably I started catching fish more regularly!)
First bream on lure, PB flathead, and a few new species I'd never caught, but probably the most memorable...
A wild windy day I ventured out to Cobby Passage (in all honesty, if I had of known what the wind was like I would have stayed home.) I'd just bought a new bream rod that needed to be christened but it was to windy for accurate casting around the snags so I thought I'd try fo a flatty around some of the sand flats and gutters.
Eventually hooked up and had the fish coming in fairly easily when it decided it was hooked. Wind and tide was pushing me south and it wanted to go north! As line disappeared I tried to put a bit more hurt on but pulled the hooks.At this stage I had no idea what I'd been connected to.
Wind and tide was getting stronger so paddled back to the top of the passage on my way out. Found a spot out of the wind and stopped for a few more casts.
Finally hooked up again and had a pretty good fight, didn't feel like a flatty, then I saw this flash of silver and eventually boated (kayaked?) a small jewie. This gave me a pretty good idea what I'd hooked earlier. 50cm may not be very big as jews go but I'd never seen one before let alone caught one. Needless to say I was pretty happy with my new rod.