check current #yellowpages A-K page 1234 "Grain & Produce - Retail" or a local pet store for smaller quantities.
G, Day. Can anyone tell me where to find a feed/poultry outlet where I can buy some chook pellets for berley?? I live in The Gap area.
Cheers, MON.
check current #yellowpages A-K page 1234 "Grain & Produce - Retail" or a local pet store for smaller quantities.
G'day mon!
Try the Brookfield Produce Centre opposite the Brookfield Vet Clinic off Rafting Ground Road.
I buy pellets from them - one of the guys there is also a keen fisho and will put you onto the right stuff - tell him its for berley
Good Luck - Scroman
I see you may be gathering the tools for a winter assault ?
The pellets work great on the bream.
I tend to buy them in the 10 or 20kg bag. Distribute them into smaller plastic drums with lids and they will last for quite a while. It is a great deal cheaper this way.
Scroman, is on the money with someone who knows they are for berley. !!!
Just add tuna oil and WOW, Bream heaven !
Cheers guys picked some up today.
I normally mix some bread, a tin of cat food and tuna oil, works well.
MON.
Tried the chook pellets with sand and tuna oil. Just chucked the odd handfull over every so often and let it drift with the tide. Created my own little eco-system. We were catching everything from Rays through to BIG mullet.
My questions are:
Is there a better way to distribute this type of berley?
Should I be using a better mix?
Any tricks for stopping all the unwanted friends (Mullet, Rays etc)?
Finney
Finny,
For what its worth i mix the following.
1. Chook or Guinea Pig pellets
2. Wheat
3. Mashed up pilchards
4. Water
5. Prawn shells if you can get them
I put all this together mash it up very well and let sit until the wheat has absorbed the water. I then place it in milk bottles filled upto the bottom of the handle and freeze them.
When you take them out u cut half of the top out of the milk bottle and tie the handle to your boat so the action of the water going past enters the bottle and take a bit of the burley out as it melts.
Now why i said prawn shells is i take a feed of them tasty fellas with me and when i get a soft one on the hook it goes and float it out in the burley trail, the BREAM will love you for it . The other bait i use with this method is yabbies and i fillet the pilchards and float them in the burley trail as well.
This method has caught me heaps of quality bream over the years and the ones i have taken home have been full as books with the wheat and prawn shells.
Hope this helps and good fishing.
Brian
P.S this mix by not using tuna oil has cut the rate of rays and other non wanted species by heaps.
Brian