Bugger I can't make it now, got some fishy business to take care of up north unfortunately.
Oh well Rob that means more fish in the dam for us to catch..lol
Cheers Brent
Thats a pity i was looking forward to the marlin story...next time mate.
Cheers Brent
What version would you like Brent
No one has mentioned handling bass yet, watch the gills very carefully, they arn't like bream
Good point there Rob...ive caught bass once before guided by the freshwater master (FITZY).
Yes you grab them by the lower jaw and suspend there body weight with your other hand but be careful of those sharp barbs behind the gills.
Here's a pic of my mate Barry with his first bass
Cheers Brent
Well, I hope all you guys have a fantastic time. I've been reading and wishing I could be there. I'm fairly new to ausfish but I'd love to get on a meet 'n' greet some time. The missus just walked past and asked what it was all about. She seemed almost keen so I'll keep my fingers crossed for the next one. I live in Rocky where there's bugger all water let alone dams. If there's ever one up this way (from Bundy north maybe), I reckon I've got half a chance now anyway.
Once again fellas, have a great time.
G'day,G'day PG,Anytime you & the better half head to Brissie let us know,any of the ausfish gang will make ya more than welcome,jeeze even three of the gang here can actually catch fish(the rest are full of you know what )but all would make you most welcome,Cheers Touchy.><> ><> ><>.
Those three being, Touchy, Fred and Betty Boobtube !
By Crikey Phil you are a wise man. .,Betty says she is not sure about the Cressbrook trip as it may turn out to be a family thing & she is not sure if some of the younger generation could stand the "culture" shock,we will just have to wait & seewhat sort of a rollup we get,tho' betty is dying to meet you Phil 'specially after all the "wraps" I have given her about you.Cheers T.><> ><> ><>.
I hear that Betty only makes ' late night ' appearances, anyway
Brent,Originally Posted by Aquarius
Some of the techniques I showed you & Barry will work early morning & late arvo at Cressbrook. If overcast they could well work throughout the day.
As the sun gets higher the fish will probably go deeper.
I'm an outside chance of getting there (work dependant) & will be happy to share some tips if make it.
Fitz
Australian Lure & Fly Expo - Australia's largest ever gathering of Aussie lures under one roofwww.lureshow.com.au
Australian Lure Shop - Get aussie made lures direct from the lure makers at www.australianlureshop.com.au
Been a while since I`ve been on any chat boards...busy lately with a whole mess of things.
Bomber and I also will do our best to get along to the M&G.
(If only to see Touchy pissed as a fart on the green stuff!!!)
Randall.
G'day fellas...
Well i've got a bit of a map for you guys of a few of my favorite spots...I have a feeling that the fish will be fairly deep after the comp but there may still be a few around the banks so yer there will be a spots in deep water that often hold fish and a few banks that usaul produce...no guantee tho
As for lures...well for deep water trolling Blitz baggas, UD Boomerangs, Strike Zone Cicada , feral Cat, Smak 19, Brogals etc the list goes on and on...soft plastics also work well in the deep as do spinnerbaits at times...colours well Black/white,Black/Purple etc most colour combs will work on there day
For shallow work...Beetlespins, soft plastic, spinnerbait and lipless rattlers.....also surface poppers if they are in the mood for them....
If you want to troll the shallows try Mirco mullets, critters, manns etc....
Sorry about the hurried reply i'm just about to go out so yer if ya want any more specifics lets us know...
Randall,I dont get "pissed"as you so crudely have stated,as you should remember the Awonga trip I merely just get "tired"& have very little to say ,I'm not sure some of the ausfish boys would be ready for Tarquin (of the passage ),Prof.Franger & perhaps Fitzy all in one place at the same time,The mind just boggles at that possability.Cheers T.><> ><> ><>.
JUST GET TIRED AND GO QUIET!!!!!?????
No Touchy.....this is a point I really have to clear up.
At Awonga, we spent 4 days with you and although you were the most organized camper we have ever seen, you have this affliction that causes you to talk NON_STOP when you have had a few Green deaths!!!
You also laugh at your own stories, which causes all present to piss em selves as well!!!
So dont go sayin you go quiet when you`ve had a few my man!!!
I`m ready for ya at the Brook!!!!!
Randall.