Thread: Sea Sickness

Re: Sea Sickness

I regularly fish 40-50 km off the coast, however the only time I've been queasy was 100m off the headland! I don't believe there are many rules when it comes to seasickness. When any of my crew get crook I tell them no one has ever died from it. P.S. I don't want to know if anyone ever has!

when i use to go diving as soon as i put on the wetsuit i felt sick almost immediately. this worked whether i did it before i left or when i got to the dive location.

the strange thing was, when i went out to the same places on the same boat, but not to dive (ie. no wetsuit) i never even felt queezy. at worst i'd have slight cramps in my stomach that evening.

so. another thing about seasickness is it's all in ya head. mentally.

Go to your local quack and tell him you been chuckin all night....he should give you a script for STEMITEL...30 to the script...one tab on the way to the ramp is good for 6-8 hours....a lot cheaper than the so called seasick or motion sickness tabs for around $15 for 10.....

Also the silent chuck is nearly always hand in hand with the loud fart and the stinky crap.

cheers fellow sicko's.....rosella

p.s ..i get sick walking on a wet lawn. all in the head???why does my guts ache.

Quote Originally Posted by Volvo
    Kerry , how come your not out on the water with the way the weathers been?? or are ya on shift like yours truly??.
    Been out at all??.
    Was out Thursday, did the usual 95nm round trip. Was thinking about Today but after what the wind did early Friday it's not much fun doing that type of distance in that type of slop.

Thursday was all right, no real weather all day, by Friday morning it was already above the 13 knot mark before 6am. Even early today it was (and most of last night) it was gusting towards the 20's and still 13 odd knots early this morning. So I'll finish cleaning the boat instead.

Cheers, Kerry.

G'day Phill,

The silent spew eh! Suppose I could give it a try, but I do like to share you know. Well Bill sure cranked 'er up and we got moving pretty quick.

I did tell a lie though cause I do remember one other time giving Raplh a call. It was snorkling in Blue Pearl Bay up in the Whitties. I was ok on board even though it was rough, but there's one thing worse than chucking in your snorkle and thats..... eating it again then spewing out thru your snorkle and feel it land on your back waaaaaa!!!

Skippa 8) where's those Kwell???
    Light travels faster than sound, that's why some people seem Bright ...... untill they speak

reagarding this story,

from skippa

I did tell a lie though cause I do remember one other time giving Raplh a call. It was snorkling in Blue Pearl Bay up in the Whitties. I was ok on board even though it was rough, but there's one thing worse than chucking in your snorkle and thats..... eating it again then spewing out thru your snorkle and feel it land on your back waaaaaa

that is the most discasting thing i've heard of.
    scottyb

Breamreeper

One of the old time recipes before we had drugs for C Sickness was Bananas. Eat as many ripe bananas as you can hold normally is about 4 before you go. Take some with ya just in case. They are very high in potassium which will settle the stomach. This works.

Reeper

WHAT THE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! YOU GO FISHING WITH BANANA'S!!!! Don't you know, that is the biggest sin there is in fishing!!!!! Don't let anybody tell you that bananas don't bring bad luck. A couple of years ago, was getting a heap of prawns in the drag net out on some mud flats. Went to go down the next day, had to borrow a mates drag net, and he left a note on the top, saying "good luck!!!!". Opened up the bucket, he had a bunch of bloody 'nana's in it!!!! Needless to say, we got about three bloody prawns that day!!!! Now i don't even let people bring Banana boat sunscreen onto my boat!!!!

Southwind SF20 'Piscatoreous'
    Savage 14ft tinny "About Time'

Breamreeper

I don,t think it was the Bananas mate?

Bananas and boats DO NOT MIX....end of story. >