Thread: Rotten People with NO IDEA, Adelaide River Mouth

Rotten People with NO IDEA, Adelaide River Mouth

I was fishing last weekend on saturday at the mouth of the adelaide river. It has 4 large holes in the area it covers about 1.5km of water square. When we pulled up there where 2 boats already fishing the area, we pulled up about 200 meters away from the nearist boat and I caught a small snapper, the closest boat saw me catch the snapper, pulled there anchor and pulled up within 10 - 15 Meters of my boat after driving around me in circles looking for whatever I was fishing on. This make me EXTREMLY MAD. It area is huge and these BRAINLESS goons jump on top of people because they don;t have a clue and they have no RESPECT.

Within 10 minutes another 3 boats have pulled up within 30 meters of our boat, By now I was beyond anger.I cracked the shits and moved my boat another 200 meters away from these BRAINLESS IDIOTS, Within 20 Minutes I had a big run and missed the fish, within ten minutes all 4 boats had pulled up within 30 meters of my boat. I hate this.

What rights do I have..... who thinks that this type of fishing is MORAL or DECENT. I think that if yo don't know where to fish, ask someone, pay attention to where other people are fishing and check it out once they have left. In such a HUGE AREA, why pull up so close to someone else. IDIOTS.

I than turned my efforts to catching small snapper, when i had caught a small snapper, I would throw it at the nearist boat, with no intention of hitting the boat but of sending the small fish down under there boat, throw the fish out the front of there boat. The old rule of releasing a small fish usuasly drives away the other fish. So all the rotten buggers had fish thrown at them. Wrong on my part, but I didnlt care anymore. One of the boats got the idea moved 30 meters away and he promptly caught a jewfish, he deserved it. I hope the other buggers boats sink and the 4wds rust out and ther trailers fall apart, They shouldn;t be aloud to own boats.

I know this is a pointless dummy spit on my part, But I can;t put up with these people. I would never do this to anyone, how can they morally bring themselves to do it. I

Sorry to anyone who disagrees, but this is my POV.

??? > > > >

Re: Rotten People with NO IDEA, Adelaide River Mou

Jewie,

Fair enough call I reckon. I'm sure it's happened to most of us.

I'll even admit I've been guilty of it myself when I first started fishing in my first boat in Moreton Bay . and had no experience. I'd idle past other boats (15 metres) just to see what they were fishing on.

However I quickly learnt that this wasn't very nice and I never ever circled people while fishing.

Bugman

Ausfish Platinum Member whiteman's Avatar

It always seems a pain in the a*** when boats pull up on "your spot" but a couple of very experienced fisho mates of mine (one is a pro) welcome this "wagon train mentality" as they reckon it helps to burley up in a small area usually attracting better quality fish than what a single boat can expect. They both reckon that in this situation, the best fisherman will still get the best fish. And I too have joined the pack at times so guilty as charged!

What irks me is the sudden revving when the hoon element gets involved.

Keep calm and simply smile every time you pull something up!

Our new idea is when the see a boat coming, I will stand up, pick up the old faithfull barra outfit and send out a surface lure at right angles from the boat and so will the guy i go fishing with, next by pure chance we will both get terrible messes in out baitcasters and have to spend a few minutes untangling our lines, so if the bugger comes too close and messes up my line I can express my feelings on the matter.

Good on you Jewmaster. I've had similar. Once at Snapper Island when a boat followed us around at night and anchored only 10 metres away each time. Yes that's right, 10 metres AND we kept moving to get away from him. He was clearly inexperienced and wanted to catch fish so stuck to us like glue....pissed me off.
    Another bad one was up the Daintree sounding a deep bank and about to come up on a snag we knew was there when a tourist operator flew in front of us and chucked his anchor into the trees to claim the spot. We had to turn around and locate another spot. He seemed to be having a bad day as he then started abusing his customers for losing the fish he'd put them onto (we could hear as we were about 60-70 metres away which I think is a fair enough distance). >

I understand how you feel, but these people probable, as others have pointed out, dont know where the fish are, or they are new to fishing. I think that the friendly approach is better, I invite them over, lots of burley, tell them the rule that if they tangle me i cut their line, maybe swap some info on other locations( might learn something). most boaties in my area are like this, I like to think its the TASSIE way

If they come that close, they should be saying hello etc. not just intruding on our anchor rope to the point of it being dangerous. Just my opinion.

Jewie,
    this little trick has worked on the water and on land when camping.
    Bung on a bit of a blue when they get close.
    Get your deckie to give you a mouthfull and return the favour, if they are still interested in anchoring up next to you a coulpe of knives waved at each other will often do the trick.
    When camping and someone wants to put their tent on top of yours (when there are heaps of other spots) do the same thing. Bung on a bit of a blue, throw a few tinnies around. Get the missus to swear at you and carry on a bit.
    Plant the seed " if they are like this now, what are they going to be like at 3am"
    The result is usually a nice quiet spot to yourself.
    dazza

All the people who don't know where to fish should sign on to AUSFISH and ask us a question or two, be much better than following people around.
    Dazza, we have a method of talking loudly to each other referring to our new friends with colorfull words and phrases.