Are these photos FAKE. If not what species arethey - Page 2
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Thread: Are these photos FAKE. If not what species arethey

Re: Are these photos FAKE. If not what species are

keep it coming

who cares what thay are ive cought bigger and uglyer things than that just ask me and i will tell ya

Throw one at us Wildone . Give us your biggest and ugliest catch! Be hard to top that nasty carp wouldn't it?

there are unknown species of Squid, alot of them do have a short bell instead of a long one such as a arrow squid or the calamari squid, the Architoothus variety of squid are shorter in the bell then a normal squid.. but they are also bloody big!

After looking at photo no4 I gotta get a bigger cando!!!

cissed as a pitch=canoe you idot

Can't resist this one

#1 is indeed Esox Esox - the humble Pike. This fellah can grow well over 5' and 60lbs. He's shaped like a torpedo and goes off like one. I still have a scar on one finger caused by the razor teeth on one of those! Wire trace & big livies essential. The siamese mutation?? Not sure, although stranger things happen in nature.

#2 could be a Collossal Squid. This pic is very similar to pics of a CS that washed up on the shores of (IIRC) New Queerland some time back and caused mass spooge among the marine biologist mob. Could even be the same pic - a quick Google will confirm.

#3 methinks is a fake. It's some species of Koi, but the shadows are poor PS work.

#4 if it's not a fake - and I'm undecided as yet - then I'd go along with the Zekester and say it's a caviar donor. Little silver spoons, anyone?

#5 is probably the single worst fake I have seen in a long while. Shame on anyone who thought it was genuine. Shame, I say! You want your eyes checked and your bumps felt.

#6 has the look of a forgery and also an Alaskan King Crab. Personally, I don't think it's a Jap Spider crab as zeke says, because the legs on those fellahs are much longer and spindlier ('scuse invented word). Also, there's 8 of 'em and two unfeasibly long claws, too.

Having said all the above, chances are they're all fakes, but hey, who cares - they're fun

R

Some interesting pics,
    I reckon....
    1. 2 x Pike (either European or American) interestingly arranged. Looks too well conditioned for siamese twins.
    2. A big cuttlefish …. Not giant squid
    3. Siamese Giant Carp, Catlocarpio siamensis They grow huge but the guy in the picture is sitting well behind the fish. Check out Fishing Adventures Thailand http://128.242.42.118/index.htm for other pics
    4. Dunno... Some kind of catfish is my guess. Fin placement is wrong for a sturgeon.
    5. John Dory,(not another type of dory, you can see the spot on it’s side) It’s a trick shot with miniature tackle.
    6. Red King Crab from the north Pacific

Do I win anything?
    Mugil

Check this page...

http://www.fishbase.org/Summary/Spec...name=siamensis

It contains the below pic.

So the original pic in this thread is a Genuine fish, but a poor fake, although I can't for the life of me think why they'd bother. Unless it was the bloke in the pic trying to claim credit for it. The site says they grow 3m and bloody heavy!!!

The Dory 'pic' is an awful awful Photoshop fake, not a trick, Mugil, mate. Check the shadow angles.

R

Ausfish Platinum Member craigie's Avatar

G'day Render,

Beautiful Spangled Emperor that last one

Cheers craigie.

wonder how they taste

yes the two headed fish can deffinatly happen. as most of you know i breed african cichlids and on a few occasions i have had the odd mutation.i have had a 2 headed fish before (a lombardio) and have had a 2 bodied fish with one head and also 2 fish joined together!also had fish with deformed mouths and ones with deformed spines! these fish normally dont make it past the mothers mouth but sometimes there is the odd one that does! i will try and find a pic of one of them! mainy the one with the deformed mouth!

Ausfish Platinum Member craigie's Avatar

Hmm, the famous 'Dusky Banded Snapper'

Big_Kev

1 from the nuclear power plant outlet.
    2 giant squid
    3 carp
    4 Loch ness monster
    5 No fxxxing idea.
    6 Jap spider crab.

G'day fellas
    I couldn't resist here. I think number 1, 3 and 5 are definatley fakes. The picture of that "thing" that render showed is the same picture minus the people as # 3. Your opinions. Also # 1 look at the top right corner in the water looking very carefully it looks like a pike that is laughing its head off just beneath the surface. Number 3 and 5 are deadset fakes.
    My opinions intersted to hear yours as well on 1 and 3.
    Cheers ,Matt