Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst 123456 LastLast

Thread: new bag limits

NQCairns

Re: new bag limits

Hey Gazza I thought that too, but if they wanted ya, the lack off skin is not going to slow them down, with elecroporeses at sciences disposal, even I have done it years ago, it is a basic test these days but they would have to want you bad. I would like to know the legalities of food V fish fillets, now there is a loophole - it doesn'nt work with those special cookies some cook though . nq

Phil
    Im not trying to say that fisheries officers are going to start raiding homes and checking freezers, but I dont think it would be a good idea to tell the fisheries officer at the boat ramp that youve been bagging out all week. All im trying to do is point out what the actual laws are so we all know where we stand
    Sorry Phil but I cant resist:
    Phil wrote: possesion will be in your boat,in your esky,and while at the boat ramp. The day anyone gets pulled up going home, at home etc, Ill give up fishing and take up knitting.
    SEE:
    police enforcement of fishing rules. in general chat re getting pulled over on the way home.

Phil Wouldnt hold you to the giving up fishing bit, but I would love a nice woolen balaclava like mack maulers!

Kindest regards tony

But wait- Theres more!
    Fisheries have also told me that they will soon be releasing the new regulations on Rocky Reef species. This will include: Snapper Pearlies, etc So I assume everything other than pelagic species thats not a coral reef species are about to come under simmilar restrictions. Then apparently thier efforts will be focused on netting. Didnt get too many details but Im sure well get them soon!
    [smiley=wut.gif] Regards Tony

Hi All,

I contacted the Queensland DPI regarding the regulations for grassies yesterday via email. Below is the reply that I recieved:

YES, grass sweetlip are not covered by the coral reef management plan and do not form part of the 20 fish possession limit.
    There has been no changes to there size limit and there is no limit on the number that can be possessed.

Liz Smith from the DPI also invited me to post the call centre number for the DPI which is 13 25 23. The responses that I recieved to my questions were very prompt and clear and I would encourage others to raise their questions with the DPI. Maybe if enough of us call, the powers that be will realise that the new regulations are confusing and require some degree of clarification.

Smerl

Still reading info and trying to digest it.

here's a bugga !

Black-tipped cod ( Footballer Cod ) Ephinephelus fasciatus, are now regulated. There is size minimum of 38 cms ( before nil ) and big limit of 5 ( before nil ).

These fish only grow to 'about40cm', according to DPI info.

So looks like these tasty little suckers will be OFF the menu from now on.

BS

Was having a chat to a mate who's in the Water Police today. 8)... they're trying to simplify things a whole lot more than everyone here.

His thinking - If you've got more than 20 reefy's in the esky or 40 fillets, or both, they'll start asking questions, if less they'll move on to the next bloke. If the whole fish don't have one pectoral fin missing when they arrive, they'll have one off by the time the've left you alone.

He didn't say that there's going to be a whole lot more Police or Fisheries Officers to check the new regs so I think dawn raids is a bit over the top - how often has it happened in the past for checking bag limits of any other fish?????

when you think about it how often do ya bring home more than 20 fish just for your self. i know i dont, thats a lot of fish. i think people are worrying too much.
    i think SNAPPA ( peter ) has the right idea, he now goes looking for MR Big, not 224 keepers.
    then it realy gets ughly

Ausfish Addict

bfa
    If the whole fish don't have one pectoral fin missing when they arrive, they'll have one off by the time the've left you alone
    yep I was under the impression we had to remove a pectoral fin, but then i just recieved this press release, or part off.

who are fishing recreationally at the time must mark their fish as not for sale by removing a section of the pectoral fin.
    more confusion, so i guess to be safe its off to the nursery to buy a pair off secateurs

JB ,us MEATOS/fish-eaters are so bloody tough ,we will just BITE it off!!

BUT because the fish "has to be dead" before this simple BITE-it-off procedure ,suppose we'll need to get a stethoscope for the heartbeat ,and a brainscanner EEG?/ECG? for any signs of life ???

As wouldn't it be funny ,IF you got pinched for a fish still twitching/gill movement with it's P'fin BITTEN off

Ausfish Addict

Gazza the way the greenies are going lately you may be more closer to the truth then you think eh. roflmao
    joe.

hi,
    i agree with cloud nine,
    20 fish is ample, i don't really see the problem, i guess it is those that sail close to the wind or flout the laws that might be a bit nervous.
    this is a big step towards a sustainanble fishery.
    i am fortunate enough to get out on the water once or twice a week. i have never been pulled up by fisheries yet. i wish i was pulled up every time i went fishing, least i would know the laws are being enforced.
    i can't really see a fisheries officer persue someone on a technicality (??spelling). if someone is making a genuine effort to fish within the law i recon they are pretty safe.
    as someone said previously keep a copy of regs pamphlet and if pulled up ask for clarification, i think they would only be to happy to help.
    dazza
    dazza

Dazza,Dazza,Dazza
    OF COURSE to you 20 is plenty ,you fish 100 times a year
    (say very conservatively 2kg.each ,times 20 ,times 100) EQUALS 4 Tonne of fish. #

Dazza,
    I would be totally pissed off , IF everywhere I went I was "checked" car/boat ,show us your Drivers Licence ,do machinery check ,etc.
    Geez , be real , is/are we both living in Australia or living in Checkpoint CharlieLand #

But it is NOT a perfect world mate of "baglimits" or "checkpoints" ,and I certainly aren't going to have us ALL wearing the same dress # ,so we're all EQUAL

p.s. 2 times a week #> , i'm just [s]jealous[/s] envious mate ,but realistic ,not IDEALISTIC #

I do about 60 or 70 trips a year/ maybe abit more but as much as i loovve fishing. on the average trip i'd usualy get maybe a maximum of 10 or 12 fish per trip but my trip are short! out at sunup back before lunch and most of the fish are still where i caught them in the water . because it's a sport/hobbie to me, i still keep the odd 1 or 2 for a feed but im sellective about what i keep, i like the slot limit idea for flathead and barra because it get me a shot at catching that all elusive trophy fish to photo and let go so to try to catch the bastard again.

they change the rules of the game. you just learn how to play again and so no.

just like in business with the tax laws.

cheers Cloud 9
    then it realy gets ughly

I have to partly agree with Dazza, I would like to ' see ' the Law on the water a lot more, maybe not get checked everytime, but certainly like a presence there.

And Gazza, mate, you sound a little jealous of people like Dazza and Cloud_9, and come to think of it, about a 100 other fishoes on this site, that fish twice a week or more.

I used to do the same theory about 1 bloke going fishing twice a week every week of the year and say, hey you caughta thousand fish this year, and I only go on a charter and am allowed 20, or I get out once a month and get 10 times less than you. Well, so what. Fishing is a lifestyle that sits in different positions in ones list of priorities.

This ' Life " is NOT a rehearsal, it is here and now and no second chances. Prioritize your life. If it is tyhat important to catch the same amount of fish as the twice-a-weekers, do it.

Over the years ( and I have been around for many ), I have had numerous folk say to me, ' Hey, next time you go fishing, give me a call and I'll come along ". I call, and they always seem to find an ' excuse ' not to go.

I use the 3 strikes method now, and have my list of deckies shortened to ' real ' fishoes. At the end of the day guys, and that's all of us, practice good fishing methods and practice the rules, you get that warm fuzzy feeling inside, and that's what counts.

Let's face it, the more you fish, the better you become and the more aware of your ' fishing' surounds. There will come a stage in the " Ladder of Fishing Life " where you reach a rung that allows you to be selective. For those of us that have reached this, you know what I mean. But some of the most rewarding experiences is climbing that Ladder.

Yours.......Phill the Fill-oss-a-Fir

8)

Ausfish Addict

The question here also is the tourist industry, who is going to tow a boat a few hundred plus klms to only be allowed 20 fish in possesion if you are going to be away three weeks. I know quite a few people from NSW who come up here to fish from mooloolaba to hinchinbrook. Recreational fishing creates a lot dollars, so the affect is going to be detrimental to say the least. I have no worries about 20 fish in possession if i can catch them, But over three weeks one is bound to acheive just that if not more, however, the offspin has to be detrimental not only to the tourist industry but the boating industry as a whole. So if its going to be cheaper for me to buy the fish, then try and catch them on a three week holiday, is then going to put more pressure on commercial fishing? too little too late eh.
    Joe.