Damn this windy weather [smiley=angryfire.gif] I'll be giving it a miss too... There's always a next time
DC
Damn this windy weather [smiley=angryfire.gif] I'll be giving it a miss too... There's always a next time
DC
With the responsibility thrust upon me by the Fish Magnet ( Webby ), I have taken all things into consideration.
Sure, a 5am trip over to Peel is on the cards. A 37 degree predicted top temp for Sat, says storm ( although none is forecast at this stage ).
To fish in the winds, you'll have to be out of the wind and being out of the wind will place you in the 37. On water in that heat, the ice in your eskies will last as long as a snowball in hell. Thus making your beer warm
Getting back on Sunday could be the prob. The bay would be usable in the early am, but with the tinnies under 4.5 it is too risky.
SO< we'll try again next weekend.
Having said that, Sav and Craigie are down at the Nerang River chasing whiting. They'll be hitting the Seaway at dawn. Jigging for Yellowtail King, Trevally and Tailor.
Sav's ( John 's ) number is 0408 705 788, so if you want ot get on the water at all, maybe you can hook up with them down there. I will certainly be giving that some hard thought.
If the N/W W winds, as predicted, for the morning arrive, they should be mid to early morning. So a sortie from dawn til then will be best. Even a trip to the close reefs offshore will be a goer, with no swell to speak of.
Hope you all enjoy your weekend, whatever ya get up to.
Might even see a couple of ya's at the Seaway area.
0419 020 697
Guys.... The decision has been made here also that the trip is no longer valid... wind was blowin 18 knots at 7am this morning... looks the same for tomorrow...
Phil, Thanks for the call.... The Seaway sounds enticing, however if I was to go down there I would be too tempted to stumble those extra few meters offshore and I havent got a valid Epirb at the moment...
That and my mind has decided that in my depressed state I need to consume lots of alcohol tonight instead....
Think there might be a few hangovers tomorrow ,,, cause we all bought the extra booze to drink this weekend!!!
Adam
Southeast Coast Waters
Double Island Point to Coolangatta
Friday until midnight: NE/N winds at 20/25 knots this evening tending N/NW at
15/20 knots overnight. Seas to 1.9 metres. Scattered showers and thunderstorms.
Saturday: NW/W winds 15/20 knots with a possible late NE/N seabreeze to about
15 knots inshore. Seas to 1.8 metres. Isolated showers and thunderstorms north.
Sunday: W/SW winds 15 knots shifting N/NW at 20 knots in the afternoon.
Well I said, no swell to speak of. But it appears that the swell has reached the south coast.
I'll still be going down. Firstly to the arti to jig Yakka and then to the Seaway for anything big enough to swallow it !
hey phil l will be at the seaway around 5 30 am see yuo there
cheers spike
Glad no one decided to head acrosss this arvo, at the height of the storm the Banana Banks wind beacon recorded speeds of 100kl and bradbury beach was hit with a mini cyclone, tearing boat off ther mooring and parking them on the beach.
maybe next weekend.
webby,
two tulip wood trees out here at the airport had were ripped down the centre like a wish bone
G'Day Gang,Mrs Touchy once said something very sensible to me( I remember it well as it doesn't happen very often she said it costs the same amount of moola to go on a fishing trip in sh*t weather & have a sh*t time & no fish as wait till the weather is good & have a great time (& in my case still no fish )Geeze I hate it when she makes sense.Be safe fello fisho's,always a next time Cheers Touchy.><>.PS.Jack,Betty says Hullo big fella!
Well Guys,
Finally I get a full weekend off and its over to Straddie for a spot of camping/fishing (Amity Point). Send the missus over with mate Friday morning to setup while I tieup some loose ends at work. Plan to go over in the boat lunchtime Friday. Also planning to pay a visit fellow Ausfisho's at One Mile. Was over at Amity last Monday, picture postcard perfect!! even picked up a feed of Flatties!!
First glich, Boss coming Friday after lunch, have to stay back awhile, bugger. > Get to leave work 3.30 home by 4.15 Storm brewing, but still optimistic so hookup car to boat and wait for storm to pass, thinking this won't take long.
Storm hits........ unhook after storm passes, nearly having to recover car and boat (Haines17ft!!) from neighours front yard During storm couldn't see neighours house, but knew it was there, somewhere.....
Message missus to tell of pending storm heading her way (as if she couldn't see I know!!) but mobile service knocked out too.
Recieved message later on, Tarp GOOONE Tables/chairs GOOONE Tent there, but flat and broken. Still pieces of equipment missing somewhere. Missus, mate and kids huddle in car while 'cyclone' passes (winds at 120Ks)
Recieve next message, I want to come HOME, NOW!!
While I book them on a return barge for Friday night, friendly campers help them clean and packup, big thanks too. Trees down everywhere from Amity to Dunwich, needless to say no power.
Just as well fellow Ausfisho's didn't venture out, it sure wasn't the place for anyone to be in. Oh well theres always next time, at least everyone's safe and sound.
But I've got all this Grog and bait, what will I ever do with it all........
Skippa 8)
Light travels faster than sound, that's why some people seem Bright ...... untill they speak
Looks like the BOM got it a bit wrong again >
[issued 1100 Saturday]
FORECAST FOR MORETON BAY
Saturday until midnight: NE/NW winds to 15 knots. Highest seas to 1 metre
between Mud Island and Redcliffe.
Sunday: NW/SW winds 10/15 knots shifting NE/NW about 15 knots in the afternoon.
Seas to 1.1 metres.
Monday: NW winds 15 knots shifting NE/N at 20 knots in the afternoon.
Tuesday: S/SW winds 15 knots increasing S'ly 20/25 knots by the afternoon
Yeh! Tomorrow is looking good [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]... Well better than first predicted, we might be able to get out after all, fingers crossed...
Yeah they sure did ,,,,
Woke up this morn at 7 with a stinking hangover.... looked out the window and not a breath of wind....
as of 12pm the wind has averaged 5.6 knots .....
I knew I should have gone out....
Tomorrow is a definate 4am start ..... no matter what...
I did tell ya Adam
Where ya heading in the morning ?
May have to come along. I was considering Currimundi Reef !
Have lots and lots of fresh bait.
Yes touchy, sometimes words of wisdom come from the strangest places.
In hindsight, I made a good call, having said that, the gut feeling told me so. This only comes after many, many years in and around the water.
Sure the weather for today and Sunday are a bit better than first forecast on Thursday, but, ya just gotta make a call. There was a few boats going over Friday, and that was a concern.
SO< if the forecast for next Sat & Sun is se/ne 10 -15, it's definately ON !
So don't go and drink all that extra grog ya's bought. ???
Tommorrow looks to be ok for a morning assault ??? we've only just got electricity back after 24hrs. Phill there were a heap of boats on currimundi and further down around the nw fairway on monday.