Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Possible week long trip

Possible week long trip

I have always dreamed of a trip to the top end on a boat like carpentaria seafaris but costs are pretty high, any suggestions plus interest / when would be good.

Re: Possible week long trip

a lot cheaper alternatives but desire is desire A river somewhere thoughts hey Jb

Swains is my pick JB although a week on Pugwashes houseboat at Weipa would be good too

Yeah Rob... A river somewhere...

Rich.

Didn't register on one of those but I's really like to do the Kimberley's.

I'd want the ability to fish outside and well as estuary on a great big mother of a boat with a 16 centre cab for eastury work. Beautiful scenery and great fishing.

Bugman

Jb, how about a 1 week trial and another 2 weeks after that if it works out some mates are fishn the rivers east of darwin for the next 2 weeks as a diy trip split 3 ways, it is around 1700 each.

Now is a good time to throw the ' Stanage Bay " charter up here.

qik run down.

you'll be picked up at your door. #taken to house at Stanage. #fish either reef, estuary, bay, river, crabing, lures, fly, trolling etc etc. #Have a 30ft boat and numerous small inshore tinnies at disposal. #sleep at house every night. all meals. #byo grog and gear. #fillet and freeze all fish. return you to your door. 7 day for 8 people. $1,500 each . ( last time I enquired )

Stanage Bay is 100 k's or so Nth of Rockhampton. Pretty remote and pristine reef fishing country both inshore and off.

Just a thought.

Sounds too good to be true Phil...

But I'd be interested

hmm something around 1500 sounds good, that is affordable (just ), i'm easy on location i'm sure they all would be pretty damm good.

what about one of the fresh water barra impoundments not to far up north from what l have seen the fishing has been pretty good and the cost would be way down , most of us could trailer our boats red claw , barra and beer bbq s

have done weipa several times as a fly in trip staying in caravan park cabins based on three of us with three days guieded fishing and one days tinnie hirer and some spending money you wont get change from $ 1,700
    on the plus side the fishing is brilliant , not wanting to be a party pooper but from experience it isnt easy to find guys who are willing or able to spend this kind of money . also if you are considering weipa it is nearly to late to book a guied as they will start booking out for the best tides and times pretty soon
    if you think you can do without a guied you could probaply bring the cost of the trip down to 1300 each
    ps best money l ever spent

Justme

Have an M&G at Stanage Bay for a week. As Phill said, it's all at the door step.
    A house for 8 costs around $570-$600 per week including all linen if you feel like havin a sleep.
    Share the costs = not a lot each.
    Just a thoughty.
    Cheers Larry

hmm, phills sounds interesting but a swains trip sounds good, not much chance of me ever gettin out there in the tinny... I will investigate some costs and charters, if anyone has prices or times they were thinkin would be good please post that up. There is no hurry, even if we did a trip in september or something give some time to save

I'm with Phill and Larry - "STANAGE BAY' !!!!

Would also need plenty of time to save up.

i say get some prices on the rowley shoals off broome. sailfish, tuna's, mackeral, wahoo, trout, sweetlips, cods, broadbill, sharks marlin... just to name a few.

Justme

Gday Craig,
    How ya goin?
    $600 for a week's lodgings at Stanage Bay for 8 people only works out at $75 each mate.
    Add your travel and boating costs and I bet it's still heaps cheaper than any charter.
    Great spot for CYCLONES
    Larry