Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Thread: Poll Results. A prediction

Re: Poll Results. A prediction

Good comments Paddy & the unanomous feedback from everyone who manned a booth was that it was just a good fun, social day out...just like you described. Nothing to be scared of and nothing sinister. I manned a booth down here and got to talk to heaps of people...just by asking..are you a fishermen mate? to everyone walking in. There are lots and lots and lots of us out there.

KC...and I'm still going to bloody bed

Quote Originally Posted by el_carpo
    You did well! You now have the attention of the major parties as well as the general population of Australia. 30,000 votes is quite a prize. Even if you decide not to run again, you still hold power. 30,000 votes for either party to go after will allow you to make demands. "You wash our backs and we'll wash yours." Here in the U.S., we have the NRA (National Rifle Association). It consists of folks who got together to stand up and defend their rights to keep and bear arms as spelled out in the constitution (though it's still illegal in Chicago somehow>).
    E.C.
    The Second Amendment
    A well regulated Militia, being necessary to the security of a free State, the right of the people to keep and bear Arms, shall not be infringed.

Its always interesting the NRA neglect to mention important parts of the 2nd amendment.

Anyway, point remains you don't need to control the government, just control the swinging vote in one or two seats and a the major political parties will listen.

http://www.saf.org/pub/rkba/general/FoundersQuotes.htm

Those who wrote the constitution were pretty clear about how they felt about it. At the time, the militia WAS the people.

I'm not going to go on a whole different tangent again though (I do that too often), so this is all I'll say about this.

My point about political influence was the purpose of my post, which we agree on, I think.
    "When we remember we are all mad, the mysteries disappear and life stands explained.-- Mark Twain"

Maybe a tad early in the wee hours of the morning KC but have you thought of maybe getting a monthly write up in Bush N Beach n Qld Fishing Monthly..
    Maybe do a write up informing readers what the Fishing party is all about..How it come about and its future aims or goals..
    Know i got on the bandwagon a tad late but i did have quite a few people wanting to know the history of the FP along with info i couldnt or didnt fully know as i was dishin out the stickers etc..
    One would think bein a Fishing magazine the above would only be too willing to give the column for the benefit of its readers ..
    Along with that, some written history for futur memberships and donators of the party for the purpose of passing on the word more or less ..
    The best publicity and at the lowest cost may yet be via word n mouth, The purchasing of T-Shirts, Caps n larger Boat stickers as someone earlier mentioned..
    May take time but at least the word will get out there somewhat easier??..

I will endorse nqcairns comments along with everyones congratulations on the effort,Onward & Upward,Should be an interesting next three years! & I hope the party can use this election & the experiece gained as a springboard on which to build(as I'm sure they will),One thought,comes to mind as to voters/fisho's awareness,What about the big boat shows we have here each year both in Brissie & the Sanctaury Cove one,(not to mention any others in N/Qld ect.),Would this not be an ideal platform/s for reaching like minded people?. Sorry just a early Monday morning brain explosion back in ya' shell n shutup Touchy.Cheers.><>.

Hi Volvo,

We did have full page adds and write-ups in NQ Fish & Boat, QFM and Bush and Beach, as well as big mentions in Modern Fishing. Trouble is the majority of fisho just don't buy these magazines. Most of which have print runs of only 20,000 and there are 800,000 rec fishers in Qld alone.

It is a long process which kind of starts now and at the end of the day 3 years might be just enough time to get the message out.

It needs grass roots support, it needs the fishing clubs involved and it needs a decent membership base. If every member actively recruited 5 people and those 5 people recruited 5 more each we would have 25,000 members, $100,000 in the bank and anything would be possible.

Be the first to get on board. If you want to form a Bribie branch of TFPQ I would give you all the help I can and even fly down for your formation AGM.......or anyone elses for that matter. It will be branches in coastal towns right up the entire coast of Qld which will give us the profile and booth workers we need to take this forward...balls in your court.

REgards

KC

I voted for the Fishing Party.

It's important that you REALLY do your thinking about MARKETING early on (now). Like any business, marketing is about the 'perception' your brand has in the marketplace.

The Fishing Party needs to balance the name with a highly professional image in my opinion to achieve BALANCE. Fishing unfortunately in the general public has a 'redneck or similar' sort of feel to it as a name.

Average citizen could think that 'FISHING party' is a joke - a piss take on the political system (many examples in the past and present). They would seriously have a difficult time understanding.

The best way to achieve balance is to combine the name "Fishing Party" with very professional branding. This makes people take notice and ASK "what is this Fishing Party about?" instead of just passing through the brain without any HOOK.

A large majority of people with boats do some rec fishing and we're talking about people with serious money here guys - how many boats over $50,000 are there floating around or in people's garages? How many over $250,000? = heaps. What does this mean? most of these people didn't inherit their money - they earnt it.... this generally means they're business savvy or lucky (or both). What a great source of advice and contacts (+ financial backing) if you can get them keen (branding) enough to assist. You need to tie in closely with boating...

I've got to get back to earning money myself, but would be interested in discussing this further on either this post or privately.

I had a quick look on the web and found some dismal information on the Sunfish Qld site. I own a web design company and would consider doing a site and possibly some design work for free - I need to know a little more about the party, but if you guys look like doing good stuff then I'm interested.

I want to make sure our leisure time is looked after now and in the future.

A change of plans late in the week saw me not being in Cairns so I never called Wayne from Mitchells about manning the Carovonica booth, sorry about that guys. Early days though and I think next election will give very good results.
    Cheers, Mark.

Was chatting to some people the night before who were whinging about not having anyone/thing decent to vote for and I mentione TFP they thought I was taking the mickey. After we discussed some of the issues and what TFP wanted to achieve (according to my very ltd knowledge) I think they were swung.
    The realistic, commonense, balanced approach is what works - once the people see that TFP is not a joke or radical and that they have a plan to make things better your aims of having real influence in govt are very achievable.
    Word of mouth, presence at the boat shows etc - even if it was a half hour presentation i feel it grow in momentum quite well.
    We don't want to see big flashy banners around the place we need to see real people committed to real issues and going about it in a dedicated way.
    Keep up the good work, it's a solid early start and with people like KC and co. at the helm and more support from the apathetic majority of us it can only grow from here.
    I fish, I voted and it did count.

Me and my girl voted for TFP.
    I was always going to being a member and she didn't really like any of the others and throws a line in with me so thought why not.

That could be a big vote the undecided/dont like lib/labour but fish occasionally. As already stated would require far more money to advestise on TV or some other blanket medium.

Keep up the good work Kev it was a good result I feel considering mainly the hardcore fisho knew about it.

yes I must apologise KC. Can completely understand. I honestly new almost nothing ???about the Fishing Party until a few days before Saturday where I read some posts.

I put a big number 1 in the box on Saturday.

I;m too used to no sleep (new born baby) right now. I am very interested in helping, but would have to be clear about time restraints - I run 2 businesses and with 2 kids under 18months - I haven't scratched my balls for months .

I just bought my first boat 3 weeks ago so any spare time is spent trying to get out or go fishing at present.

I guess I'm a good candidate to assist as I have never been a totally committed fisherman (haven't gone fishing until 2 weeks ago for about 2 yrs +). I enjoy it and moreso now with boat (becoming very keen) . Therefore I somewhat understand the average citizens perspective.

But I am very passionate about us losing our rights and ability to enjoy our country responsibly > - I'm sick of losing access - 4x4, motorbikes, boats, camping, fishing - because of a very small minority. This whole friggin country seems to be run by the minority groups (squeeky wheels) while the majority sit by and watch it happen. >

It's time to get squeeky!!!

Thanks Cooky & be good to have you on board...we don't have a web design man on the "team" yet so your it!!

I know Gary has send you some stuff which would be the forerunner to a web site. Might even be able to set up a system of selling TFPQ merchandise on line. We got some great ideas for t-shirts last night over a few beers with the booth workers from down here...the more beers we had the better?? the ideas got for t-shirt slogans..hmmmm!

I Fish & I'm sick of taking it up the $#$@^ was one I seem to remember at about beer number 403..........don't think!!

Anyhow mate, I have 3 businesses and 3 kids so stop Ya whinging............one of the joys of your life will be taking your kids fishing in a few years time..if we are still allowed.

Thanks again for your offer to help. I think now that we have actually made it though an election and proved we can get a decent number of votes we will get a lot more members and hopefully some corporate backing & if we stand as well funded and well organised next time the majors will be falling over themselves in the rush to get our preferences. THEN we can do some deals!

KC

to everyone invovled in TFP... thanks for giving me something to vote for , sorry U guys(gals as the case may b) didn't get up. but considering the lack of organization/funding/advertising i think U (we) did very well, i hope U don't get dissapointed and give up as i look forward to voteing 4 TFP next election. perhaps a 3yr membership drive will improve the primary vote 4 next time(remeber i'm no expert) some idea of things TFP may target or vision/mission statement may help as well. many many thanks again TFP member405

Deal - I'll help as much as I can.

What about

Fish stink - so does GBRMPA
    [list][*]

anyway - easy way to generate slogans - put a post up here - you'll have plenty in a short time.

yo kc. i missed the membership costs. how much? when from? where to? not a bad result, considering. lets know, all the best, kevy.