Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Thread: Thieving....

Re: Thieving....

With sinking the pots, the rules are all pots must be marked with an identifying tag and when not fixed to something they must have a 15cm min light float. I will argue that a brick is fixing it to ''something'' #as regulations specify.
    Kev, I think that I just can't hook up my pots as with those ones I threw a brick in them(as so not to sweep away) but never ran a rope from them to a brick reducing my area to catch them. I'm still planning a dive to see in the hope they didn't catch a heap of weed and sweep away.
    Also, if someone stumble upon and pull up the pots and brick with their lure, read the tag just as they would a float and then steal the pots there is no helping me. After losing the pots in southport and then putting a good lenght of rope to a brick, I haven't lose a pot or had them raided yet. Touch wood.

We lost 6 of our 8 pots last Easter hols on the Southern side of Peel Inside the beacons, well out of harms way, several were run over, several slashed open, the rest just GONE
    Then last Christmas, we were doing very well with the muddies thank you very much, up in the mangroves in Jumpinpin area, until the young fellas in the next camp saw us walking off to check them > no crabs after that! I would even go so far as to say that a pro crabber checked our other carefully hidden pots for us too that trip, when he saw us tying off to a branch one day. That really sucks when you cant even be certain that you are the next person to open your pot.

Geez,
    I honestly didn't think that it was so bad out there. It's a shame that some people have got to the point ( after many $$$ lost ) they feel that it's not worth the hassle. Still, you cant go past a nice fresh crab sandwich, so the rewards for keeping an eye on your pots is still worth it I reckon.
    Ads

Simple way to beat the thieves if you're using rectangular pots, is to tie 'em up with your float rope. Makes for slow going for yourself but most thieves are in a hurry and just can't be arsed to untie 'em. It really works.

G'Day Y Not,

Safe Pots, Peel, Easter Hols don't mix. I reckon u might as well throw $30 down in Queen st Mall on a Sat nite, and see how long it lasts there.

Not suprised that even inside the becons at SWR's area, they are run over either. Seen plenty of boats ( big ones too ) cut the corner off. Secretly would love to see one of those big cruisers rip their bum out cutting across there.

Sad sign of the times when you have to watch your pots or anything else for that matter, or they will be gooooonnne.

One reason why I can't be bothered to go crabing anymore. >

Tony 8)
    Light travels faster than sound, that's why some people seem Bright ...... untill they speak

Yes, just puts a dampner on your day if your always stressed about losing your pots. It's unfortunate people have to stay in a close proximity to there pots to ensure some lowlife bastard doesn't come along and commit robbery (a criminal offence isn't it > ). > It restricts the fishos who have gone out to have a good fishing and crabbing day on the water - to not be able to fish in specific places away from the pots.

It would be an interesting time to be involved in a sting? Only preoblem is the offenders probably wouldn't learn - slow learners. > MAYBE IF THEY LOST THERE BOAT THEY WOULD.

Hmmmm...........a sting........now you're talking Chris! I reckon this little concept is worth developing!!

Lawry

I reckon the razor blades in the rope sounds like a goodie! THAT'LL FIX EM!!! [smiley=wut.gif] [smiley=wut.gif] [smiley=bigcry.gif]

I completely understand the anger and frustration you feel but I would warn against using the razor blades on the line. The rat would sue you and you'd get taken by him again only for a whole lot more than a crab pot.

Happens a lot. We fight back and the courts chop our legs off. I guess we're just supposed to act like victims. I remember reading a story from England a while back. The farmer attacks some thieves he finds trying to steal his pigs and the stupid court gives the thief the whole farm.

What to do? What to do?
    "When we remember we are all mad, the mysteries disappear and life stands explained.-- Mark Twain"

Not only the rats might sue, if a customs, police or fisheries officer pulls your pot they won't be happy little chappies either.

Went crabbing once,put all the pots down and went for a fish.All is well two or three hours later thought to myself just pull the anchor up and drift back towards where the pots were flicking lures on the way just as I rounded the last bend in the creek to where my first pot was located and here is old mate with my pot in his boat helping him self to what turned out to be a good sized buck.Started the motor and went over to him to find out what was going on,when I pulled along side him to my surprise here are my other three pots on the floor of his tinny name tags ropes and floats still atached after a very interesting talk including a lot of F & C words on my behalf all was returned including three good size crabs.I felt quite well afterwards knowing I scared the living daylights out of a low life but it still has'nt made up for all the pots that I have lost over the years

Never had a pot stolen in my life.... I guess I'm lucky in that respect. But Its bound to happen one time.

I remember a good friend of mine once said (while looking at my new boat)... "Gee Mick you musn't be trying hard enough with your crabbing, your prop doesn't have enough dints in it".

It sort of rings true. If you go deep into shallow creeks where its hard to get to, the thieves wont be bothered going all the way in to steel from you. They are lazy buggers.

Well i went up to Donnybrook on saturday 8 pots between 2 of us i had bougt 2 new from Amart. As usual we drop pots at glasshouse and go pump yabbies on the bank opppsite Mission Pt. Pumped yabbies for 45mins. Fished for an hour or so then went & checked pots. to our amazement some low life scum had checked all pots not closing back properly and thought the 2 new ones would look better in their boat than mine. So you can count me in for any sting. There is nothing worse you start to look at boats driving past thinking did you steal my pots. It just really spoils the whole day.

Count me in on any "Sting", I can add vigilante to my resume... he he...

Whenever I am casting or drifting past someone elses pots, I can always feel "eyes" on me.... Saying or thinking... Are they your pots your near??... Is he going to look in my pots??... Whats that guy doing near them, they aren't his pots... etc, etc...

Its a sad world when you can't trust anyone....

You can trust me tho... I own a boat... I must be trustworthy... he he he

It sad to know that you can't even enjoy going and putting your pots and leaving them over night for fear that they are going to be taken by some scum bag. I avoid putting them out on weekends for everyone is out on weekends and during the week it is alot quiter. Usually put them out just on dark then go and collect just on sunrise the next morning.