i use the ramp and wish to keep on being able to so mine in sent
it can be bloody full on a weekend already god help us if we lose more
jeff
i use the ramp and wish to keep on being able to so mine in sent
it can be bloody full on a weekend already god help us if we lose more
jeff
Well said Cheech. Good on ya Gary and Kev.
I too am disappointed with some of the comments made by supposed pro rec fishing/boating people on this board. Opinion of the people has changed the course of history for ages. We have just overturned a zoning decision in Caboolture Shire by people power so dont be put off by the negative nevilles guys.
Derek - If you are always going to be negative then perhaps you should refrain from posting on this and any other "Fishing Party" issues as you already have stated ??? or cant you help yourself.
Subzero, great reply mate!
Re Dereks reply: he is entitled to his "personal" oppinion & is entitled to voice it if within the site rules. If anything to do with us mods becomes an issue, Steve (site owner) will make the call. We just help him out.
I think the crux of the issue is that there will be a reduction in parking spaces. Whatever reason the council has decided to do this is not the issue, the point as I see it is that we need to voice our concern over any closures or limits to access. Gary using his sons was putting it in some future perspective IMHO. I recon most ppl (including the clowncil) will see through it to the issue at hand.
On the future of fishing practices & access, I am positive there are agendas out there by various political/lobby parties, some with angling in their sights.
We need to be vigilant to oppose any & all unreasonable threats to our fishing future. If they know we're going to kick & scream, it will give the pollies some pause before they go ahead with any changes. If we consistently lay down, then it will become all to easy to give in to the radicals who would see fishing outlawed.
fitzy..
Australian Lure & Fly Expo - Australia's largest ever gathering of Aussie lures under one roofwww.lureshow.com.au
Australian Lure Shop - Get aussie made lures direct from the lure makers at www.australianlureshop.com.au
I have said it before and I will say it again, I am not a member of The Fishing Party and neither do I support it. The Fishing Party is a political party and it is my right as a citizen in this democratic society to choose NOT to be a member of, or support any political party. In fact I am not a member of, neither do I support any of the political parties in this country.Originally Posted by Cheech
As far as Ausfish being a club, I have never heard that suggested or spoken before. What I see Ausfish as is a group of people from varied and different walks of life, with differing and varied interests and different views on life and matters. I would expect the main thread attracting all of us here is an interest in fishing and it's related activities.
There is nothing in the rules of this Chat Board that says I or any other member has to agree with and support a political party or the views of other members.
If people place posts on here that are controversial and/or contain untruths or misquoted facts, then they should expect them to be challenged. I am not a sheep and I will not follow anything blindly.
To create a post with the subject that this one has and then to suggest that the redevopment of a public carpark is part of a bigger conspiracy to eventually stop people from going fishing is bound to create lively debate, especially from reasonable thinking people.
Lets stick with the facts and remove the emotionalism - this is about a council decision, rightly or wrongly, to redevelop a carpark. It has nothing to do with a conspiracy theory or master plan to eventually stop people from going fishing.
I have never told or suggested to people that they should not write and protest this decision of the council. It is your right to do so if you wish. I just am getting sick and tired of all the conspiracy theories and innuendo about fishing, area closures, rules and regulations and banning people from fishing.
I have heard stupid conspiracy theories about different things all my life but this is as ludicrous as the one that man didnt walk on the moon or that extraterrestrials and flying saucers from outer space have visited the earth.
I to, do not hide behind a false name. My name is here as is my photograph.
Derek
Fishing is law on my planet and you're all welcome when the mothership returns...
Any fishing is good fishing(should probably say Any fishing is...probably going to be illegal soon)
Derek say's : this is about a council decision,
A council decision that we think is wrong Derek. >
They are doing something that's not fair on paying citizens who need the facilities.
What's the issue with you ???
We obviously voted them in..... so are you happy that facilities for boaties are being diminished?
Col
Gary maybe you and the others on here that feel that strongly about this subject should go and spend the weekends at the boat ramp and get a petition going.
As for the attacks on anyone who doesnt agree with some of the things that have been mentioned on here, everyone has a right to their own opinion just like you have the right to be upset with whats going on.
Tight Lines
Adrian
Just make some muffins for everyone Derek lol![]()
![]()
Tight Lines
Adrian
Derek,
Yeh no worries. (By the way I use my son's user name at home ..to lazy to log in and out.)
I guess it's apathy and frustrations that stir things up a bit here.
Will be nice to see if we can make a difference with a bad decision for once.
Half the time not sure which post to go to on RedlandsGary has definately got it fired up.
Snappyone..Attacks??? How about opinions with passion
Subzero....Your onto it mate .Well done 8)
Col
Great to see this rumbling along. I have been too busy making a living the last few days to follow this up much but it seems the apathy so usual in rec fishers (after all the reason we go fishing is relaxation) is being stirred.
It took an issue to get the rec fishing community motivated and organised up North...this may just be the catalyst to get things going down there.
As for me personally coping a few knives...I really have no problem with that...it come with the territory....anyone who stands up to be counted will always get a few knockers and at the end of the day..life would be pretty boring if we all agreed on everything. Debate is good for us and good for everyone.
At the end of the day, I personally take a lot of heart from those who support us, many of them fishing legends like Jack Erskine and John Mondora, and guys like Gary....by no means a legend but a top bloke who works tirlessly for the sport,
than those who bag us.
Just as an aside I got a copy of a letter yesterday sent from Senator Boswell to GBRMPA regarding the Arlington Reef issue and he is clearly living up to his word to champion the issues important to TFPQ and our members & voters....so far so good.
Cheers all
KC
Derek:maybe "circumstancial, rather than conspiracy" then Derek....... ???Lets stick with the facts and remove the emotionalism - this is about a council decision, rightly or wrongly, to redevelop a carpark. It has nothing to do with a conspiracy theory or master plan to eventually stop people from going fishing.
From WA...recently
Posted: Jan 10 2005, 02:38 PM
There is a proposal which will transfer ferry parking at Hillarys to the northern car park and reduce the access to the boat ramps and parking used by recreational anglers.
More ramp congestion, less parking, longer delays????........
Public meeting about this is in the Breakwater Tavern at Hillarys on Tuesday, January 11 from 3.30pm to 7pm.
Report in West Australian during the Christmas break said:-
Hillarys boat harbour will get a $9 million extension if plans by the Wyllie Group are approved.
Plans before Joondalup City Council include a new tavern and shops linked by a boardwalk from the marina's northern carpark.
Council acting chief executive Clayton Higham said the new buildings would be built on the northern side of the existing shops.
"The additions proposed are for an additional retail floorspacc of 800 sqm and a two-storey tavern of 1500sq m," Mr Higham said.
He said the Wyllie Group would hold a public meeting in the Breakwater Tavern at Hillarys on Tuesday, January 11 from 3.30pm to 7pm.
"An independent person who will report to the city on the outcome will oversee this session," he said.
If the city's caretaker commissioners, who are standing in for the suspended council, back the plan it will go to the WA Planning Commission for final approval.
The Joondalup Combined Residents' Group was unaware of the proposal but said the community was generally happy with the marina."
-------------------------------------------------
This with the reduced carpark at Mindarie...is the sign for things to come...
Remember who you vote for guys.... the elections soon will be your chance to exercise your right to change who changes your future, fishing future included.
The Hillaries Ramp is a nightmare at present for big trailors like mine!!! and smaller car park will just end in tears, fights and a loss to all Fish'Os
thanks for Posting this as I and many others missed it when we where away over chrissies Terry.
Derek - I have decided I cannot hide any longer either my name is Gene Poole and here is my photoor that extraterrestrials and flying saucers from outer space have visited the earth.
I to, do not hide behind a false name. My name is here as is my photograph.
[img][/img]
Just sent my letter. Even though I don't live up there its the issue thats important. Council probably doesn't appreciate the tourist dollars that people like me bring from out of the area. Derek - you make a very good point and perhaps Garry's post tried to hijack our emotions - but in my humble opinion , at the end of the day this issue is still about the various Government agencies still not recognising the importance and benefits of the rec fishing community. If enough people object everytime an issue like this arises then the message may finally get through. But it needs numbers. Twenty or so people have taken the time to reply to this post - I hope they have all taken the time to write to Redlands Council also.
Hey Kooky.....stick to the subject!!!......
![]()
![]()
![]()
DOH!!