Economics of prawning

Thread: Economics of prawning

Ausfish Platinum Member Cloud_9's Avatar

Economics of prawning

this is just me haveing a dummy spit, so all those of you that luv prawning, good luck to ya.

After F##kin another bloody cast net have desided that cast nets can stay in the shop for some other sap to buy.
    In the last 3 years ive bought 4 cast nets the first 1 was a 6 footer as i was learning how to throw .
    next was a 9footer for bait gathering for mullet and the likes.
    third was a hand made 12foot top pocket and 4 a 10foot top pocket .
    so the story so far i';ve spent $530 for nets .
    i've got maybe 5Kg's of prawns in that time.
    ive spent maybe $50-$60 fuel for the boat
    + maybe $30-$40 Fuel for the Car.
    so now the tally is $630 Cost for 5Kg's of Prawns.
    that is just a guesstamate for fuel for boat and car but the running around looking for the rain coats and getting to the ramp and back again. These prawns are pretty expensive.
    at $126 a Kg. F##k that.
    i can buy great cooked prawns from guy down the road for $16 Kg
    for the $630 i could have Pigged out on almost 40Kg's of top table fair without the trouble of getting wet and having to clean the crap off the boat after a trip to the river.
    so
    to the Die hards Good luck to ya .
    I'll buy mine from the guy down the road.
    to any one who wants 3 cast nets that need repairs. just PM me to arrange a get together there all yours. ???

now ive had my say.
    Cloud 9
    then it realy gets ughly

Re: Economics of prawning

Cloud_9

just think about the fun and good times you have had

i would hate to add up the costs of boatong and fishing, its something i wouldnt really do cause its my hobby etc.

Doing "it" is what it's all about, anything else is a bonus 5kg you did well, what were you expecting

The other way you have 2 choices

1) buy farmed crap
    2) buy commerial product

So what's it going to be

Cheers, Kerry.

check your PM's
    Gold Coast
    WWW.GCFISHING.COM

Ausfish Platinum Member Cloud_9's Avatar

Black-jack love the fishin spend heaps on that, but i get a return for my effort.
    Kerry 5 kg's for three years thats rooted. another young guy at the ramp got 4 kg's today but lost his net so he paid at least 90-100 dollars for 4kg's again expencive prawns.not countings his fuel.
    Heath have replied buddy.
    then it realy gets ughly

and heres my pro mate tellin me he wont even start the motors for under a hundred kilo of product.

Hey mate, I go and I don't even get to eat the suckers!

how's that for a stupid waste

in south carolina during our shrimp season (what yall call prawns we call shrimp) 12-16 count white shrimp (they are about 8 inches long). are sold at the dock in 50 lb. boxes for $2.25-$2.50 per pound. these are wild caught. we still go castnetting for 'em. we are allowed 48 quarts per day. its not a money thing i can buy 'em cheaper than i can catch 'em. its a nice day on the water with some good friends ....ya can't buy that!

ps. in the seafood market those same $2.25-$2.50 shrimp cost about $10.00 plus a pound.

stay on shore and try a scoop net Hey no fuel, but you can get your arms beefed up while working an appetite.

seriously I've had one 10 ft cast net for 7 years. Yep sure it's got a few dings in it, but they are fixed up personally. I've even lugged it all the way round Moreton in a walking trip. You've gotta love them. Allways wash it (in cuddley fabric softener) and allway fix the lead (I have lead chain).

Caught plenty of big flathead, whiting, prawns and live bait. So it's paid itself many many times over. Most of the time I don't go out with any bait - just the net.

At 75 bucks it's a bargain. The next one I get will be personally made - as I've bought a book on making nets.

Then again you might want to import your prawns and cook them in "Big red O" which is a possible carcinogen

know where to throw!!!

I figure fishing is my hobby... and that hobbies cost me money.

hobby? more like a damn obsession

Sportfish_5

Jamie - better stop doin the maths or next thing the boat will be up for sale.