Do you think this is a concern ?

Thread: Do you think this is a concern ?

Do you think this is a concern ?

Gents,

Some of you may be aware I snapped the bottom 3-4 inches off my skeg coming into Raby Bay a while ago. Finally got around to fixing it as part of last weeks general service and other odds and sods at the local dealer.

Dealer told me they had someone who could do it after they dropped the leg. It was $130 just for the rebuild.

As I hooked the boat up in the yard I noticed the angle. The dealer hadn't looked or didn't notice but said he had now noted it - if it caused problems in the water. Photo doesn't do real justice to the bend - or curve, which goes to the left and is quite prominant.

Have taken it for a run yet but what do you guys reckon.

Bugman

Re: Do you think this is a concern ?

I think you should straight back to the shop where you bought it from, and tell them that your sidchrome shifter is bent!

Sorry mate... Had to do it...

Bugman,
    Nah mate, if you paid for the repair then a proper job is in order. Take it back and tell them you want it right. Just my thoughts. Big question is, Are you happy with it ?

James.

I'm with James, pay good $$$ to get the job done right..........do the job right to get the big $$$$

Take it back and get them to fix it
    May the winds blow lightly upon your sails
    May the seas buffet gently upon your hull
    May your chiller be full of piscatorial delights

Brett, the pics have me stumped, is it the skeg thats not straight or the leg?

Rob - definitely the skeg. It acutally sorta curves from where they made the join.

I don't even know who did it has the boat shop organised the repair externally.

The issue I have is time - as mid next week I'm heading to North West for a fortnight and don't really have the time to take it back and wait for repair - I'm cramming at work.

I will definitely be taking it back after north west - but I'm just interested in people's opinion as to whether I should notice it while driving.

I doubt you'll notice. But saying that I'd take it back after your trip.

I don't think it would cause a noticable difference, but the job should be done right.
    I would take it back after the North West trip for shore.
    Worst comes to worst you may have to correct your steering technique so you don't do circles around the island for the whole trip. 8)

Regards, Tony

i doubt very much you'll notice at all. My skeg is bent quite a bit worse than that and I don't notice at all.

The biggest problem that it may cause is cavitation during turns. Thats the only hassle I can think of.

it may affect the resale value if its not fixed even if it doesn't affect performance.Take it back but warn the shop now and take it when you have the time.

just dont put a straight edge near it ever again and on one will ever notice.
    oh what type of motor is it ? just in case you ever go to sell it.

Brett,

GET IT FIXED TO YOUR SATISFACTION, NOT THEIRS.

I did a really really bad thing to the prop on my old outboard, when a rock jumped out at me whilst I was steaming across Kingscliff bar.

I settled for a bit of a dodgey job and paid the price a bit later on.

Roz
    GO THE CRUISER UTES!

....OH WHAT A FEELING!

Brett,

Please be aware each time you weld alluminium it weakens it, Also the more heat you pour into the area adjactent to the Gearbox Seal the likelyhood of warping the seal surface is increased. The slight bend that you have will not have a noticeable impact on the performance of the boat.

IMO you should wait till the next time you break it off to clarrify the quality of the repair No one will ever be able to repair a broken fin on an outboard Gearbox back to original strength.

Retired Honda Master Tech

Bugman ,we'll let you know ,after the finfish dicking around 'project' is completed....

Mate ,TALK to the people who "did" the job ,findout & ASK

IF you consider that you normally have a Zinc? anode that doubles as a steering balance? that normally goes to the 'right' i.e. above your prop....

It MAY in fact , reduce the tendancy to 'pull' the motor to oneside(more noticable with a tiller-steer) ,and be a 'bonus' in that your 'anode' would be nearly straight with the waterflow ,past your prop.
    (hard to tell ,with hydraulic or maybe cable steering)

Summary
    stop dicking around with finfish restrictions,unnecessarily ,and curve may be 'on purpose' in motor straight-line performance ???
    [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]