Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Thread: WHERE IS THE FISHING PARTY ? ? ?

Re: WHERE IS THE FISHING PARTY ? ? ?

I too have lots of membership forms if anyone wants to join up and show some support.

Regards, Tony

tshort

I'm not a member of the fishing party although I have learned a little about it through submissions to the EPA etc. so really have no right to comment but here it is anyway. I see the slashing of funding to the Australian Conservation Fund (leaned from this forum) to ba a good opertunity for the Party and all fisher people to be pro-active and ensure that these funds are now directed to organisations that complete restoration work(instead of office work)ie. plant more trees, errosion control, soft drainage, improve water quality. These orgs create employment and recognised training while improving the environment that ultimately affects our fishing in some way (I think they are non profit orgs as well). Think of the riparian/esturine work that could be done with those millions of $. The party getting in support of these projects would be seen as pro-active in the community as a whole instead of reactive and self preserving that is seen by some at present. I am very non-political yet do support any projects that will benefit the community as well as the environment we all fish in. Participation like this I feel would be good publicity for TFP and win my vote.

You can download an application form from Sunfish at http://www.sunfishqueensland.org/fishing_party1.htm

Derek

Thanks for advising the above shortcut to download a FP membership application Derik.

Unfortunately, the form displayed is a "Declaration of Party Membership", not a "Application for Membership". I have pointed this out to the Fishing Party on several occasions over the last year. Their response was to the effect that they would fix the problem ASAP.

It is very dissapointing to see action has not been taken.

In the meantime, most tackle shops in Queensland have the Membership Application Forms on hand.
    Timber lures - just bung 'em in the water mate & hang on !!!

I am a member of TFP and since they have received my membership application and cheque for $22 (which isnt much.), I havent seen hide nor hair from them. Oh except a piddly excuse for a membership card.

I have received absolutly no correspondence from them, of any description. I cant understand how anyone can claim to run a party which advocates to be the voice of Fisher people. Basically I am disgusted by their total lack of communication and professionalism. I would be more than happy at this stage to get my $22 back. It has annoyed me enough to discourage a number of people I know from joining TFP. I have also heard other TFP members make comments regarding TFP's flaccidness. " Maybe those old fellas need a shot of Viagra to get them to stand up and do their jobs "

I am betting that TFP wont survive very long if they dont get off their butts and start doing the things they said. So what if the Boss is out for the day the job still has to be done.

James

gif

James

I am sure that the spokesperson Kevin will respond to you soon. he is out of range fishing in the North right now.

But I would like to make a personal comment because I feel you are unfair.

Have you ever been on the other side of membership? Like have you ever been a Secretary of a Fishing club or a P&C or anything like that? Ever?

I know that people are spending hundreds of their own hours for nothing. In fact they are paying out of their own pockets for the privilege - lots of incidentals like phone calls and petrol, photocopies and more.

You seem disappointed - what DID you expect for $22? That’s $7 a year. Why would they waste $ on a Nicer membership card? They cost maybe $10 each.

Did you expect a glossy magazine ? They would cost $10 each to produce and post ( because they would not be subsidised with advertising unlike )

It seems to me that TFP is about Fishers finally getting off their buts and doing something. Have you attended any meetings or volunteered any help? I am sure they could do with more

they save their limited resources and make the noise when it is important. And a lot goes on that you don’t see here or in the paper. I have been following only one issue of many and I happen to know there have been, just in the last few weeks 2 private meetings with 2 Senators, 1 major presentation to a board, 4 other meetings and 4 rounds of discussions with senior public servants. Each of these have taken hours of preparation and work.

None of this should surprise you. Just like the committee of my kids soccer club - we see little of them but I know they spend hours and hours and hours behind the scenes.

Give me your address I will personally send you $22.

Quote Originally Posted by Derek - Camp Oven Cook
    You can download an application form from Sunfish at http://www.sunfishqueensland.org/fishing_party1.htm

Derek
    Derek,

Sunfish is NOT a lobby group for recreational fishers. It is at best an educational group. Their hands are tied - they receive funding from the Government so they can't be too critical.

"The underlying spirit of angling is that the skill of the angler is pitted against the instinct and strength of the fish and the latter is entitled to an even chance for it's life."
    (Quotation from the rules of the Tuna Club Avalon, Santa Catalina, U.S.A.)

Apathy is the enemy

Quote Originally Posted by Big_unit
    I am a member of TFP and since they have received my membership application and cheque for $22 (which isnt much.), I havent seen hide nor hair from them. Oh except a piddly excuse for a membership card.

I have received absolutly no correspondence from them, of any description. I cant understand how anyone can claim to run a party which advocates to be the voice of Fisher people. Basically I am disgusted by their total lack of communication and professionalism. I would be more than happy at this stage to get my $22 back. It has annoyed me enough to discourage a number of people I know from joining TFP. I have also heard other TFP members make comments regarding TFP's flaccidness. " Maybe those old fellas need a shot of Viagra to get them to stand up and do their jobs "

I am betting that TFP wont survive very long if they dont get off their butts and start doing the things they said. So what if the Boss is out for the day the job still has to be done.

James
    Whoa big fella!

I haven't even received a membership card myself (a little disappointing), but hey, at worst my $22 was a donation to try to improve our lot. Less than the cost of a slab to get some political impetus and voice behind us. I reckon GREAT value for money. Gees, I would be happy to pay $22 a year, not every 4 years.

Like Gary said, they are only new and still small. They are all volunteers and as such I reckon they are doing a great job.

Mate it is a real shame that you have talked others out of joining. Even if you are dissapointed that they have not lived up to your expectations, what better proposal/solutions can you think of to get some power into the rec fishing lobby group?

"The underlying spirit of angling is that the skill of the angler is pitted against the instinct and strength of the fish and the latter is entitled to an even chance for it's life."
    (Quotation from the rules of the Tuna Club Avalon, Santa Catalina, U.S.A.)

Apathy is the enemy

Very well put Gary!
    These guy's are doing heaps for us in support of our sport, leisure, hobby.
    The funds they have to work with are very small, KC has always kept us informed of whats happening on this forum when necesary. Personally I would be SPEWING if I thought that our valuable funds were being spent on flash member cards, and glossy information sheets. Put my membership fee where it does the most good!!!
    There has been many achievments by KC, gary and others who are working there bums off for FREE!
    They are the only dedicated voice we have.
    The cost is about the same as one kilo of pilchards per year!!!!!
    Stop ya moaning and be thankful we have these guys on our side!!
    GO THE FISHING PARTY

Regards, Tony

Quote Originally Posted by Jeremy
    Derek, Sunfish is NOT a lobby group for recreational fishers. It is at best an educational group. Their hands are tied - they receive funding from the Government so they can't be too critical. Jeremy

My apologies for posting the link but if you go to The Fishing Party website at http://www.thefishingparty.info/ and click on the link to the Queensland Sub Branch it takes takes you to http://www.thefishingparty.info/wst_page9.html. On that page there is a link called VIEW QLD MEMBERSHIP FORM AND PRINT. If you click on that link it takes you to http://www.sunfishqueensland.org/fishing_party1.htm

I guess I should have read the form better, I just assumed it was the membership form. Maybe as was previously stated The Fishing Parety need to update this to prevent confusion.

Had I of known my concern on what is happening with The Fishing Party was going to cause so much agro I wouldnt have posted. If Fishing Party Members want I will delete this entire post. Please message or email me if thats the case.

Derek

Fisher_Boats

Derek,
    # # # Don't get the agro bit #???
    All publicity is good publicity and there will always be the few who aren't happy.
    James everyone is doing the best they can with what they have at the moment.

Cheers Col

Derek
    I would prefer that you left the post there.
    There may be a few people who feel that not enough is being done, at least the post gives the other side as well.

Regards, Tony

gif

James and Derek have a point

a very valid point and a good lesson.

... when all is quiet it looks like nothing is happening - and thats a fair enough comment.

Gary

Mad_Barry

I'm another whose paid $22.00 to a voluntary organisation doing their bit to put in a voice for my chosen past time.

All I got as well was cheaply printed cut out bit of light cardboard.

(Next time feel free to just scribble my number on the back of a post it note or something and save a little extra money, or better still wizz it on an email and it will cost nothing )

Quote Originally Posted by agnes_jack
    Very well put Gary!
    These guy's are doing heaps for us in support of our sport, leisure, hobby.
    The funds they have to work with are very small, #KC has always kept us informed of whats happening on this forum when necesary. Personally I would be SPEWING if I thought that our valuable funds were being spent on flash member cards, and glossy information sheets. Put my membership fee where it does the most good!!!
    There has been many achievments by KC, gary and others who are working there bums off for FREE!
    They are the only dedicated voice we have.
    The cost is about the same as one kilo of pilchards per year!!!!!
    Stop ya moaning and be thankful we have these guys on our side!!
    GO THE FISHING PARTY

Regards, Tony
    agree totally