Can anyone answer these questions about VMR/coast
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Can anyone answer these questions about VMR/coast

Can anyone answer these questions about VMR/coast

This is the first post for this site for a long time. Just moved from the Central Coast in N.S.W to Maryborough QLD 5 weeks ago, am a keen boat fisherman. Have not been on the water as yet, still getting settled. Have read all the posts regarding the VMR and coastguard.
    1. Could somebody please tell me the difference between the VMR and the coast guard?

2. Why all the internal bickering?

3. Why on gods earth do they charge to tow somebody back to shore if broken down?

4. If broken down do you get a choice of who you contact for assistance? How does this work?

One of the posts that I read I think said that they were going to go national. My point of view is I hope they don't filter across the NSW border. The NSW volenteer coastal patrol do not charge any money to give assistance to a disabled vessel. To my knowledge they are not government funded, they are self funded by fund raising activities such as raffles and donations from boaties on boat ramps. I have been towed in three times by Volenteer coastal patrol NSW with mechanical problems and I gladly donate to them on a regular basis as most NSW boaties do.There is no limit to the amount of assistance received from this organisation. To only limiting to one tow a year is ludicrous. I was absolutly to read about this. Maybe if all your powers that run your organisation in QLD were to go and see how it was run in NSW they might learn something and get it right. I strongly hope that I have not offended anybody with my comments and if I have I am sorry.
    Regards RODBENDER

MulletMan

Re: Can anyone answer these questions about VMR/co

Geez Rodbender, what century and part of the world are you living in? The first question that leaps to mind is why our volunteers, often up to 75 years of age, who willingly give up their weekends to help you Boaties out, should have to go out at night - again in their own time - to shake tins, flog off dead chooks and the like in order to pay for the rescue vessels and the operational costs? Do you know that the average funding required to run a mid sized rescue Unit is in excess of $50,000 per year! Large Units require $100,000 a year just to provide assistance to the Boaties in distress, usually self inflicted! Do you also know that some of the NSW organizations receive huge subsidies as well? I am led to believe that Australian Volunteer Coast guard across the border receive $100,000 from a major sports club to assist in their operation. Did you also know that by legislation we are NOT PERMITTED to tow vessels back after a breakdown? Yep, all your crew jump on board the rescue vessel and let your little dreamer float away and sink, get smashed etc. Bet you would have a real bitch if that were to happen eh? Of course, there is such a thing as "community service" and we utilize this grey area to actually help you get your boat back safely to where you came from. And did you also know (guess not) that the NSW marine rescue services are in the process of adopting the Qld model of marine assistance and all it's principles? And also our counterparts in WA are going down the same road. If you break down in your vehicle no doubt you pay the NRMA or RACQ to come and help you out - why should your boating be any different? I mean like ah, try finding a free service for that and you will be on a trip to nowhere! Mate I could go for ever with "..... and did you know stuff" for ages but better yet, go and join up with a local VMR or AVCG unit and actually gets get your hands dirty at grass roots level and see what it is all about. It pays sometimes to engage yer brain before you engage yer mouth old son! You are correct on one issue insofar as the degree of conflict that this subject engenders. What you don't know is that the Commercial Operators use this great website to stir the old pot! Have a read of some of Sub Zeros posts and you will gain some appreciation and knowledge of the subject - you sure as hell don't have any now so every bit will be a new experience for you!

I was crew for 3 years with bribie island VMR, saw some realy tough rescues at night and so on, had to start charging as it cost so much for us to keep the base running, especialy when you give assistance to 30 foot long fly bridges that wouldn't even give a 'thanks mate' for spending 7 hours running time trying to pull them off a sandbar which the idiot's didn't see! yet youd get a worthy donation off a little tinney for towing him over to the boat ramp.

Rodbender

Coast Gaurd do not "Charge" to tow you and your vessel, They do Ask for a Donation Toward expenses

I would have no problems paying a fee or donation to somebody that come to my aid whilst in a predicimate at sea. Just wish we had such a group where i boat. I think if your not prepared to put ya hand in your pocket rodbender you probably should sell ya boat. Dont be a tightarse.

Quote Originally Posted by rodbender
    1. Could somebody please tell me the difference between the VMR and the coast guard?

2. Why all the internal bickering?

3. Why on gods earth do they charge to tow somebody back to shore if broken down?

4. If broken down do you get a choice of who you contact for assistance? How does this work?

One of the posts that I read I think said that they were going to go national. My point of view is I hope they don't filter across the NSW border. The NSW volenteer coastal patrol do not charge any money to give assistance to a disabled vessel. To my knowledge they are not government funded, they are self funded by fund raising activities such as raffles and donations from boaties on boat ramps.

I have been towed in three times by Volenteer coastal patrol NSW with mechanical problems and I gladly donate to them on a regular basis as most NSW boaties do.

There is no limit to the amount of assistance received from this organisation. To only limiting to one tow a year is ludicrous. I was absolutly to read about this. Maybe if all your powers that run your organisation in QLD were to go and see how it was run in NSW they might learn something and get it right.

I strongly hope that I have not offended anybody with my comments and if I have I am sorry.
    Regards RODBENDER
    i agree with rob on this one as our groups are just plain VMR not coastgaurd
    they will tow for free no matter how many times however they do ask for a donation that as rob had mentioned he has paid and almost all boating in NSW are more than happy to pay
    hell i have never been towed yet pay a $50 donation membership cost as well as a yearly $200 donation
    i also agree that it is stange that you guys only get one tow a year free and that is only within certin boundarys

Quote Originally Posted by TheCommodore
    Geez Rodbender, what century and part of the world are you living in? The first question that leaps to mind is why our volunteers, often up to 75 years of age, who willingly give up their weekends to help you Boaties out, should have to go out at night - again in their own time - to shake tins, flog off dead chooks and the like in order to pay for the rescue vessels and the operational costs? Do you know that the average funding required to run a mid sized rescue Unit is in excess of $50,000 per year! Large Units require $100,000 a year just to provide assistance to the Boaties in distress, usually self inflicted! Do you also know that some of the NSW organizations receive huge subsidies as well? I am led to believe that Australian Volunteer Coast guard across the border receive $100,000 from a major sports club to assist in their operation. Did you also know that by legislation we are NOT PERMITTED to tow vessels back after a breakdown? Yep, all your crew jump on board the rescue vessel and let your little dreamer float away and sink, get smashed etc. Bet you would have a real bitch if that were to happen eh? Of course, there is such a thing as "community service" and we utilize this grey area to actually help you get your boat back safely to where you came from. And did you also know (guess not) that the NSW marine rescue services are in the process of adopting the Qld model of marine assistance and all it's principles? And also our counterparts in WA are going down the same road. If you break down in your vehicle no doubt you pay the NRMA or RACQ to come and help you out - why should your boating be any different? I mean like ah, try finding a free service for that and you will be on a trip to nowhere! Mate I could go for ever with "..... and did you know stuff" for ages but better yet, go and join up with a local VMR or AVCG unit and actually gets get your hands dirty at grass roots level and see what it is all about. It pays sometimes to engage yer brain before you engage yer mouth old son! You are correct on one issue insofar as the degree of conflict that this subject engenders. What you don't know is that the Commercial Operators use this great website to stir the old pot! Have a read of some of Sub Zeros posts and you will gain some appreciation and knowledge of the subject - you sure as hell don't have any now so every bit will be a new experience for you!
    what the hell are you on, you self-righteous prick?

"The underlying spirit of angling is that the skill of the angler is pitted against the instinct and strength of the fish and the latter is entitled to an even chance for it's life."
    (Quotation from the rules of the Tuna Club Avalon, Santa Catalina, U.S.A.)

Apathy is the enemy

MMMMMM?
    DID SOMEONE GET OUT OF THE WRONG SIDE OF THE BED THIS MORNING ?
    TRY THIS COMMODORE,

Gees Rodbender ya copped a fair old serve for asking a few questions eh? As a former West Aussie I can say from experience that the VMR are very organised and although they monitor the channels, very rarely do they do a tow. Coast guard does all that. I am now in Gladstone and I do have issues with the local VMR. Issues like the joining fee is not on a sliding scale. Eg I went to join up in march and the membership ends in June. They still wanted me to pay full price. What's up with that eh? The QLD VMR do seem to be in a bit of a mess with factional fighting. I thought the reason for these organisations was for the safety of "Boaties" not for some wanna be Hitlers to dictate and dominate. The whole VMR organisation needs an overhaul and general rules put in place for all QLD or Australia if it could be done. If there is going to be a fee for a tow, so be it. What the hell. If they weren't there it would be a bugger of a swim eh?Insurance premiums would soar.
    For the record I have been towed in twice in 8 years. First time I snapped a drive shaft and the WA coastguard towed me in. They said a "Tax Deductable" donation of $50.00 would be nice. Hell I gave em $100.00 no probs. The second time was February last year when I blew a power steering ram at bribie at 1am in the morning. Thanks to the fellas that got out of bed and came to tow me in. Once again a very minimal "Donation was asked for and once again I doubled it. If I had more in my wallet I would have given it to them.
    So I guess I am saying that although we pay a membership fee to be in the VMR, if we break down, I have absolutely no problem with paying a fee to be towed in and I think the fee should be trippled if you are not a member of VMR.
    I am also of the belief that if you are a member of one VMR it doesn't count with another? Is that right? That should be changed too I think. Why don't we start a post and get some ideas together of what we believe should happen within these organisations and present them to the overseeing bodies. Who knows? Maybe the old addage of "Divided we stand" will actually make a difference.
    And also for what it is worth, I think that "The Commodore" was a bit harsh in his response to "rodbenders" post. I don't think that sort of crap needs to be aimed at someone for asking a few questions. Nice comment Jeremy. I think that WAS deserved.
    I CAME INTO THIS WORLD KICKING, SCREAMING AND COVERED IN SOMEONE ELSES BLOOD. I HAVE NO PROBLEM GOING OUT THE SAME WAY.
    NEWBY T.G.

Question?
    In NSW you have to have licence to fish?
    Does any of this money go to "VMR" / " Coast Guard "?

At the end of the day each to there own wether or not they join a volunteer
    group. But I have to say Commodore you were a lil tough on the new guy.
    I can understand where you were coming from, but I think Rodbender wanted to find out some facts and was making criticial points of difference between NSW & QLD.
    I know it is orgin time............

My opinion we QLD'ers are more supportive of the Coast guard and VMR's in general.
    Well I would like to think we are, and with all the BS that has been throwin around the place of late, It is easy to get defensive.

kiktz none of the fishing licence money goes to any other organisation other than put back into the fisherys the reson for this is it would be unfair for the land base fisherman or for the fisherman in the country that have no rescue groups

Thanks,
    Just wasn't sure

i think you will find that commodore has a bit of an idea on what he is talking about. if he is the person i am thinking of, he think recently resigned as commander from Vicky Pt VMR.
    so he should have some knowledge of it's running..

he may have been a bit harsh in his wording , but there have been a few people on here lately who appear to be negative about VMR etc. for what may be personal gain.
    so you can't really blame him for being a bit grumpy..

DR,

You are not think of Lloyd by any chance?
    And totally agree as I said with the ammount of BS that has been flying it is not hard to be Defensive about things.

Kiktz, no not thinking of Lloyd, from reading his posts he pulled the pin also, but still does the radio course, which i highly recommend, because if he can teach me enough to pass he can get anyone through..