Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst 1234

Thread: Boatclub - VMR / Coast Guard Membership Pt 2

NQCairns

Re: Boatclub - VMR / Coast Guard Membership Pt 2

Hi Baitwaister, Who?... Me? I didn't say that ??? nq

Hi Guys,

It sounds like the BIAQ Boatclub is just a money making machine to get them more members all they are doing is trying to profit out of the VMR and the Coastguard, Yes that is all this is about MONEY.........if I was active in the VMR or Coastguard giving up my time and energy to try to save lives, I would be very angry knowing that the BIAQ are earning MONEY from my service and spinning a profit.

Thats the Bottom line, I would recomend every one who has served with the Units to phone up the BIAQ and tell then to stick their boat club and keep doing boat shows.

A very angry

Bruce

I'm not going to buy into the argument for or against but some background info might help make the situation a little clearer.

The idea of Boatclub was born from the desire to inform people about changes to regulations - I think it was initially as a result of the confusion about the new marine toilet legislation.
    In South Australia there is a similar club that costs about $25 per year and does only that - a newsletter to keep boaties up to date on regulations, new facilities and other boating related matters.
    I believe the BIAQ started with the same idea but then decided to add more benefits - discounted boat insurance, chandlery discounts and the contention one - a 'breakdown' rebate.

The initial discussion with VMR and Coast Guard was a 50% split of money raised by the then proposed BIAQ club - in other words they were going to hand over $25 for every member.
    Negotiation did not go as planned - the 50% did not eventuate so we have what is now Boatclub.
    It is my understanding that they are not offering a breakdown service - they are only offering to pay the first $200 of your VMR breakdown bill.
    Whether that will deter people from joining VMR is the big question.
    Currently, a non VMR or Coast Guard boatie that requires assistance is sent a bill - what percentage of these are paid?
    Boatclub will pay for its members.

It is also my understanding that every 12 months, if the amount paid to VMR for breakdown service of Boatclub members is not equivalent to their initial plan of 50% of membership fees - they will then donate direct to VMR cash to make it up to 50%.

I am a GoldCard member of VMR and will remain one - but I am also joining Boatclub.
    It is worth $50 a year for the emailed newsletter to keep me up to date with regulations etc.

It is a shame that there is not a national rescue service for boaties - RACQ of the water.
    Like RACQ / NRMA etc - it would be a very profitable venture.

Dave ><>

Hi Dave

Good input, but why is the BIAQ and the Coastguard trying to go into business with each other ???? The coastguard is a vollunteer organisation and the BIAQ do Boat shows and is a marine industry association. If the BIAQ wanted to help the coastguard they would make a donation like anyone else does, for the BIAQ to offer a membership for $50 and then agree to pay you $200 for a breakdown tow is financial suicide. How about: buy me one beer and I will give you four !!!!

It all dosnt make sense to me, Insurance companies dont even play those odds so how long will it take for the BIAQ to become bankrupt.

Fishing this weekend

Bruce

Hi Nugget,

If that is the initial reason for starting boatclub, i am still not getting it.

I don't see why I would be expected to pay $25 or $50 to be updated on new legislation which comes online. Why would I need to pay to hear about laws I am expected to abide by? Isn't that what they are supposed to be advertising and producing brochures for us all to have an understanding?

The laws are changed so frequently these days, it is very hard to keep up to date with it all, because I don't see the laws advertised or sent out with rego. Why should I pay for the priveledge?

Quote Originally Posted by boatboy50
    The laws are changed so frequently these days, it is very hard to keep up to date with it all,
    Exactly - Belive it or not, the responsibility is on you to know the laws.
    I wasn't told / I didn't know wont wash with inspectors.

Other info is also of interest to me - new marinas, new manufacturers etc - It's your choice.

Dave ><>

john_laura

Gday all, this is my first post on the chat boards but i have been reading them for a while know. This particular topic intrests me alot as I have just purchased my first boat and was look at joining a vmr/coast guard. The boat club, although it sounds like a great idea will no doubt take heaps of money away from the volunter orgs.

After searching the net i found the Victoria point VMR's web site with the waterside assist. I then contacted them and inquiered about the areas of coverage within the bay area. It was stated that they have reciprical agreements with clubs from bribe to Southport.

In my veiw this will be the best money that I can Spend as the money will be going to the people who need it, those on the water doing the hard yards.

John.

Welcome to the board John - yes it's hard to go past the membership offered by VMR - especially since the introduction of the reciprical arrangement giving a much greater coverage area.
    I am and will stay a member - they do a great job.
    Boatclub is not a replacement and the member rescue subsidy shouldn't be a reason to sign up to Boatclub.
    Dave ><>