That sounds pretty good to me. I would love to have a crack at some of those horse Barra up there.
Is Awoonga feasable for a weekend?
Gday everyone,
Ive been talking to our resident Lake Awoonga Barra Guru, Trev (AKA Awoonga) and he has been kind enough to volunteer his time to conduct a barra fishing class/seminar, nothing too formal but simply a get together where Trev can show us some pointers and tips on how to better our chances of catching some of the huge barra that he's been teasing us with photos of over the past few months. #Location would #preferrably be at Awoonga so we can put our newly learned talents to the test ASAP and also camp the night out there so we can all get on the piss after fishing. #In order to fit in with Trev, the M&G would have to be on one of the 1st 2 weekends in November.
Good onya Trev for offering your expert advise to fellow ausfishers, i know it will be greatly appreciated as i for one need all the bloody help i can get #[smiley=help.gif] #One thing i would like to add is that there should be NO requests for specific locations on where to catch the big ones, Trev's advice and tips should be more than enough info to assist.
So there you have it, topic is now up for further discussion.
JD
That sounds pretty good to me. I would love to have a crack at some of those horse Barra up there.
Is Awoonga feasable for a weekend?
I will be fishing AWONGA for he week between the first and second weekends in November. Can't get there before Monday 7th must leave Sat 13th so hope it is Satuday morn 13th
Darryl L
Great Idea!! I reckon three days is worth while from brissy any less is a bit of a stretch.
I'm suprised Awoonga has time to conduct a class he's generally run of his feet with work
Alcohol doesn't agree with me, but i sure do enjoy the argument!!!
Sounds good to me!!
I'm in.
Adrian
I would recommend this to anyone even thinking about fishing barra. Trev came to our camp and spent a lot of his time before going to work telling us how to catch the barra. The man is a legend and should not be missed if you have the chance.
P.S. Tony, are you going to give Jack lessons mate.??????
if your thinking of camping at the caravan park make sure you book as early as you can cause it get pretty full (like right now)
I am In definately
With the wife being a Scout Leader I may have an in to be able to camp at the Scout camp at Awoonga for 3 parts of stuff all, and we get to use all the amenties, camp kitchen etc, and it won't matter how many are in the camping ground ??
I will get the cheese and kisses to make some enquiries .
Try not to make it the weekend of the 13th November. I'm going away that weekend. It would be a shame to miss something that is so close to home.
Other than that, I'm in.
Corry
I am also up there from the 7-13th. Keep in mind that the Barra Tour runs on the 11-12th, so it will be busy that weekend. Keen for a M&G if it can be organised.Originally Posted by pelagic_chaser
"The underlying spirit of angling is that the skill of the angler is pitted against the instinct and strength of the fish and the latter is entitled to an even chance for it's life."
(Quotation from the rules of the Tuna Club Avalon, Santa Catalina, U.S.A.)
Apathy is the enemy
OK I have confirmation of dates and it will be Saturday 5th & Sunday 6th November. Apologies for those that have already expressed their interests but cannot make these specific dates. I'm still doing a bit more homework on the whole thing and im about to head out to Awoonga Caravan Park this afternoon to find out about vacancies, etc.
Mark, I'm keen to hear how "the cheese and kisses" gets on with the scout camping ground, please advise once you know more.
JD
Sounds like we will need to test it out next week JD. Bit of practice of an afternoon would be needed. What do ya think? I've got no kids during the week.
Corry
5th and 6th Sounds good, might fit in well with my trip north. I am keen for more info on the camping situation as it comes in and will get back to you with a definate yes or no.
Kendall
just checked my calendar and worked out the months correctly. Damit I will be back at work by then, it is October I’m heading north
Will miss yet another gathering of fine Ausfishers, not to mention a not to be missed lesson on barra
Hate that....
Kendall