PHP Warning: Use of undefined constant VBA_SCRIPT - assumed 'VBA_SCRIPT' (this will throw an Error in a future version of PHP) in ..../includes/functions_navigation.php(802) : eval()'d code on line 1 Maybe we should take a tougher approach
Any one see 60 minutes in regard to the the illegal fishing in the northern part of aust (or the southern parts they chased half way around the world.)
Just seems to me we spend a lot of resources targeting local fisho's (rightly so to), but out of 8000 boats up north they captured 200?
Lets not get emotive about the answers (not related to drugs etc, they done this, we should do this) but surely our fisheries and armed forces should have standing orders to disable any illegal boats in our waters. (i mean to say one got away with sharpened bamboo sticks)
Howard talks the talk about protecting our borders but does not walk the walk, who is he bowing to on this one slurp slurp. read into that what ya like
Saw the program and was amazed at how an old shitty boat with bamboo spikes can get away from a navy ship.
They should be able to fill their boats with lead.
You said it in a nutshell Blaze..Shoulda shot the arse out of that Boat they showed..Do it to a few and wander how many more would run the gauntlet!!??..
They is taxdollars thats spent allowing such aceholes to make a mockery of us..
I'm at a loss as to why they would chase that boat for over a day and still fail to apprehend it. Even the captain of the Navy ship said" they've attempted to ram us" as the fishing boat crossed in behind them at one stage.
Surely that is enough for those higher than the captain to allow him to take the measure neccesary to put a halt to proceeding. Let's not worry about going out in the rubber duck to board the boat. Pull along side in the patrol boat - break their bloody bambo spears and keep nudging them until they see the error of their ways. If they continue to try and avoid they face the consequences of 100 tone of steel agains 15 tonne of ricky wood. Then use the rubber duck to go back and pick up those that are left floating the water.
But let's face it - unless we build another 20-30 boats and keep a massive amount of staff and resources patrolling the area - it's only window dressing >
That was disgusting wasn't it. As was MacDonalds sidestepping the question. Even blind freddy would know that once the illegal fishos start radioing other boats that the got away by refusing to stop then word will get around fairly quick. The only doubt on the process is whether the Navy didn't want to get fair dinkum with the 60 Minutes cameras onboard. Maybe in other situations they might have taken some action. Lets hope so or it will be even more open slather than it is now.
It's a bit of a worry alright..They are on our doorstep, even camping on the beach.
Pretty embarrassing being beaten by some bamboo poles.
As Brett said ram them with the bigboat that would snap their bloody poles off.
Chase them for a day and a half and then lose them ,pretty useless and expensive exercise.
It makes you wonder alright
My two bobs worth
maybe be smaller hi speed pursuit vessels, able to get in position better, armed with 50mm. dont like to say it, but maybe a bit like the yankie coast guard. Rest assured you could run 20 smaller boats for the cost of one of the bigger ones. If you think of it a bit like the land coppers never pursuing there would be more trouble than there is now.
I will even go up there, month on month off, you wouldnt see them escaping.
Idont agree with the death penalty
When caught
jail them all for 6 months BUT each day they are in jail use one of their bamboo canes and give them 5 lashes, make them burn there own boats, then fly them back home to tell there story and send there goverments the bill for taking good care of their nationals
I am going to send the minister an email, yeh I know it probable wont get read but at least I will have tried
Pretty scary that the navy can't/won't take appropriate action. I wonder if the pollies really think the diplomatic row will be worth the protection of our fish stocks.
One things for sure in my book........they should have more balls like those plucky little icelanders. They only owned one old minesweeper but back in the days of the cod wars when they proclaimed a 100mile zone, they made sure they bloody defended it. The british Navy went out to protect the UK trawlers who had always fished a 50 mile zone, but when it came to the crunch, they were useless. The Icelanders put a shot over the bow of a British Frigate and the bugger withdrew Some of the British trawlers had more guts and continued fishing without navy protection. After a few of their boats were impounded by the Icelanders, it soon stopped. If you're in the right, then you're in the right and should defend it to the death. ..........Of course, it may just be that this bloody gov't ain't sure if it's in the right. It perhaps doesn''t want to be seen as "Imperialist Whiteys" using "gun boat diplomacy"
I was about to start a thread on this also, damn disgraceful and unfortuantely I don't see the australian government assisting any further as they feel they are already making inroads into the problem... BS!
It was disgraceful the navy couldn't even board that ship due to the metal poles they put out the side, doesn't send a very strong message! sink the bastards then and there!
Props to the local aussie fisherman who boarded the illegal fishing boat himself!!
Be better off with solid fenders around the boats like the Hong Kong police use. Closed cell foam with a polyurethane coating. The Brissy water police have one as well. Rubber duckies just aren't tough enough for the bamboo poles
That,s me in the far one with mackmauler as a decky
Should be Brett , spent enough time trying to ge the little fella lookin like that lol..
As for the post, lets hope we is not afraid of upsetting the Indonesians ey ..
They sure arent worried about upsettin us..
Dead right Volvo,
The fisherman and their government couldn’t give a stuff, so we get a few boats, burn them, fly them home so they can built a better boat and come back again…. >
I support the local guy going vigilantly style and stopping these thieves and protecting his patch, could make an interesting holiday destination , bring own 50 cal. Weapon, heaps of targets plus great fishing…. I’m with you Real Hard.
Seriously, this is a great concern and what if you reversed the situation and it was our fisherman going into say NZ waters, do you think the NZ government would be having a word to ours? Do you think Aus Gov would take action immediately??
If we as Aussies are going to play by the rules, and mostly respect our closest neighbours rights, plus give $$$$ in aid, and they come here a treat our home like its theirs, without respect or invitation, then we need to take much stronger action.
WE GOT BIG GUNS, USE THEM.