Lobby groups. Your opinion. - Page 2
Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Lobby groups. Your opinion.

darryl_l

Re: Lobby groups. Your opinion.

James,

Unless a group is at least State wide then what ever they do will not be considered by the majority of people, pollies etc. Some larger groups with some form of government funding tend to lend their ideas toward the people in power at that time so as not to lose funding and those with no funding appear to oppose these same ideas. Sorry if that sounds too black and white but I have seen it happen all too often.

Darryl L

Lobby group or political party you are talking about James? I'm not sure, can someone explain the difference to me, excuse me for my ignorance - and James, is it the Fishing Party you are talking about or indirectly reffering to here?

Ausfish Gold Member

Quote Originally Posted by raefpud
    Lobby group or political party you are talking about James? I'm not sure, can someone explain the difference to me, excuse me for my ignorance - and James, is it the Fishing Party you are talking about or indirectly reffering to here?
    Can't be The Fishing Party, they have a website with an open forum for all to ask any questions re what is going on. The link is in my sig.

Quote Originally Posted by PinHead
    Interesting question..BUT...most lobby groups are apolitical...if not then they are usually a political party or another organisation such as a conservation council who are far from apolitical. As with any organisation be it a sporting group, a political party or a lobby group..you will only ever get out what you are prepared to put in...if youy only want to send along a membership form and then expect to be advised regarding all decisions being made then that is not going to happen...that is what the executive is for...to make recommendations to meetings which are then voted on by those present at the meeting or...in some instances...the executive is vested with the authority under their constitution to make decisions without reference to the members regarding this. Alas James...unless you go to meetings of any group you will not be privy to what really happens.
    I would attend meetings,

1). If I was told when they are on.
    2). If they were held.

I know of 1 TFP meeting that I could have attended since I have been a member. Ive been a member for about 12 months.

I have recieved one newsletter from TFP in this time and it did not state when or where any meetings would be held.

I have not been able to find out too much about Sunfish, but according to some maybe I dont look hard enough.

Ive bought this up before with these groups, get professional because at the end of the day the government will not listen to an outfit that isnt co-ordinated and professional.

James

Ausfish Gold Member

Quote Originally Posted by Big_unit
    [quote author=PinHead link=1135753052/0#11 date=1135734772]Interesting question..BUT...most lobby groups are apolitical...if not then they are usually a political party or another organisation such as a conservation council who are far from apolitical. As with any organisation be it a sporting group, a political party or a lobby group..you will only ever get out what you are prepared to put in...if youy only want to send along a membership form and then expect to be advised regarding all decisions being made then that is not going to happen...that is what the executive is for...to make recommendations to meetings which are then voted on by those present at the meeting or...in some instances...the executive is vested with the authority under their constitution to make decisions without reference to the members regarding this. Alas James...unless you go to meetings of any group you will not be privy to what really happens.
    I would attend meetings,

1). If I was told when they are on.
    2). If they were held.

I know of 1 TFP meeting that I could have attended since I have been a member. Ive been a member for about 12 months.

I have recieved one newsletter from TFP in this time and it did not state when or where any meetings would be held.
    I have not been able to find out too much about Sunfish, but according to some maybe I dont look hard enough.

Ive bought this up before with these groups, get professional because at the end of the day the government will not listen to an outfit that isnt co-ordinated and professional.

James
    [/quote]

James read page 3 again mate.

also check out reply on other site. [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]

Daryl,
    One meeting in 12 months is a pathetic effort. Have there been other meetings ? None that I know of.

So is TFP going to put in more effort and better inform the members or not ?

Read my response on the other site.

Big Unit

I wish to see the result of your poll.

Juicy

Me as well Juicy, how about it James?

Roz
    GO THE CRUISER UTES!

....OH WHAT A FEELING!

Derek_Bullock

I think maybe James does actually have a good point. Below is an extract from the Fishing Party constitution from their website. It clearly states that the party will hold a number of special general meetings annually at dates set by the executive; and Notice of special general meetings is to be made available to all members with a minimum of 14 days notice.

Derek

Meetings

The party will hold an AGM annually on or about March of each year.

The party will advise all members of the AGM date with a minimum of 30 days notice.

The party will hold a number of special general meetings annually at dates set by the executive.

Notice of special general meetings is to be made available to all members with a minimum of 14 days notice.

The executive committee will hold a series of closed meetings annually for policy and campaign purposes. 5 members of the executive will form a quorum.

Cheers for that Derek.

I am always seeking knowledge on the different fishing groups/parties etc.

I was and still am curious of the results, even if, in your opinion, James point may be wayward. I'm sure that the voters weren't wayward in their response.

This was said with no disrespect to you Derek, and hope I haven’t worded the above incorrectly to indicate otherwise.

Juicy

Derek_Bullock

Quote Originally Posted by juicyfruit
    Cheers for that Derek.

I am always seeking knowledge on the different fishing groups/parties etc.

I was and still am curious of the results, even if, in your opinion, James point may be wayward. I'm sure that the voters weren't wayward in their response.

This was said with no disrespect to you Derek, and hope I haven’t worded the above incorrectly to indicate otherwise.

Juicy
    It's been a good discussion point Juicy.

Derek

Here you go its open to view but I think it locks out any more voters.

James

PS - Admitedly I am not the best writer but I think I made my point in the end.

Derek_Bullock

James thats fine as long as everyone was voting with the Fishing Party in mind and not lobby groups in general.

Time for an official response from the Fishing Party however.

Derek

PS ........... Stop putting yourself down mate. You write quite well. Keep it up.

Thank you James

Juicy

Ausfish Gold Member

James I really don’t know what you really expect for $7 pa, from fishermen that have volunteered their time (and money) to try and correct the injustices currently being pushed onto recreational fisherpersons. This is not a football club it is a political party and such there will always be backroom work that will not be made public for various reasons. You want some sort of professional third major party that has only contested one election with zilch funding; I’m thinking you assume the greens were overnight hits??? It took the greens 20 years to get where they are today and with support from recreational fisherpersons I am sure we can make a difference at the next election. Derek Bullock has posted some excellent information recently and I wonder how many emails you sent to TFPQ with your thoughts on these posts and your ideas as to what we should do. Maybe you consider a political party should think for all 800,000 recreational fisherpersons, hmmm 6 – 12 people deciding your fate??? We can have meetings, would you come up with an agenda????? All our current submissions are freely available on the website. Would you like us to print out the submissions (or better still, you could volunteer) and send them out as a newsletter? You ask for meetings, which are going to achieve nothing more than an excuse for husbands to get out for a drink. If you want to become involved read post’s such as Derek is posting, form an opinion and email TFPQ what you want done about it, or at least your thoughts on it.

For those that are not members of TFPQ please be aware you don’t have to be a member to post on the forum or send constructive emails.