Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Not wanting an arguement...just making a point

Not wanting an arguement...just making a point

As the heading says I am not looking for an arguement...get enough of them at work to want more here. I will listen to everyones opinions and I have fully read the 2 threads that are currently running that are linked to the point I am about to make.

So once again...not looking for anarguement...Just making a point!

but...

Why is it when there is a boating accident (which is happening more and more often) there is always plenty of concern for the people involved (as should be I guess), and a point of blame seems to be placed on anything bar the operator of the boat. Yet when there is a accident involving a jetski it ALWAYS is automatically blamed on the "irresponsible rider" and never other circumstances.

I am not saying that no jetski accidents are caused by the riders...some/most of them are. But the same could be said in regards to boating accidents as well! Yet the jetskis riders are still branded "irresponsible" and the boaties are just a hard luck story waiting for the news.

Re: Not wanting an arguement...just making a point

I saw this subject title, and thought uh-oh, here we go!

G'day ely,

Thats an easy one...

Jetskis are involved in approx 25% of reported marine
    incidences, yet represent less than 5% of registered
    marine vessels...

people buy them to have fun, sometimes at the expense
    of others..

However, being an arrogant moron is not restricted to
    jetski owners alone, but I believe the percentage is
    higher amongst them..

Harry..

Harry..

what a pet subject. jet ski riders prob get more blame because they deserve it. i went down to paradise point on sat and thought might get away from idiots at the pin, but think most are tarred with same brush. is there a sign on jet ski somewhere where it says only flat out allowed. dont turn left or right. go as close to fisherman as possible, and always make sure that there is at least 2 skis. if i only had a big enough boat and motor to chase em.

gif

Harry

where did you get that data?

Gary

Hi Gary,

Courier mail, been quoted on several occasions
    in the past 12 months.

I hate jetski's in general, but that being said.....I have had more problems with pro fishers and crabbers and their arrogance and complete and utter disregard for the law.

I suppose we are forunate enough up here that they mainly play around Magnetic Island, I have heard that they are starting to invade the other waterways around, but I am yet to have a bad experience with one.......

May be I'm just more tolerant.................Not bloody likely........just lucky I guess.......the missus and kids reckon my name and tolerance just don't fit in the same sentence, guess thats why I take happy pills.....
    May the winds blow lightly upon your sails
    May the seas buffet gently upon your hull
    May your chiller be full of piscatorial delights

Its simple. Because all jet ski riders are morons. And boaties are sensible and responsible. For example; what is the point of taking a jet ski out when there is no where to put the esky?

I guess I am just bored at the moment, -- work tomorrow.

yeh mate, i get your drift, its kind of like P-Platers and old people on the road. just ignorance i think mate?

I have had a few problems with jetskiers,but what i now see as more of a problem is the big boats doing 30 knots in the broadwater.I saw some huge vessel Sunday,i was 100mt away and the wake this thing pushed out was enormous.You could have surfed it without a problem.I'm in a 4.3mt tinny and i as worried as i was anchored and copped it broadside.If i was in a smaller boat i may have capsized.Can we lobby the government for any boat over maybe 20feet only do 6 knots in the broadwater?

gif

Bream Reaper

"We" is you my friend. So - you can start your lobbying by writting letters to MSB and your local member and the Minister - Paul Lucas.

And encourage others to do so.

Call me if you want some advice

Gary

0412 111 6=573

nobody nows to slow down near anchored vessels small or large any where

I know how to and do slow down to 6 knots if within 30mt of boats at anchor,but inspired you are correct, not enough do the correct thing.Gary just pm'd you as i'm having lots of trouble tonight replying to posts.

DaveSue_Fishos_Two

People do remember very quickly to slow down to six knots within the range if you yell out and tell them and reach for the mobile phone while they are giving you the finger. Works every time.