Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst 1234

Thread: Ever rescued anybody in trouble?

Re: Ever rescued anybody in trouble?

Yeah, it amazes me how some people think, i'd have gone out of my way to thank someone in the same situation, especially when they had my phone number readily available.How come a shark never had a chew on one of them is a miracle, after all its uncommon not to see a few tigers in that area most fishing trips...

Gee Dave about time you posted your story on here i was about to post it myself what a story

www.wickedfishing.com.au The place for wicked fish pics, articles and DVD's. Your ultimate reef fishing DVD "Double Island Point & Beyond" on sale now.

well my story isn't as amazing as the hero's that have gone before me but I'll still tell it,

about 18 years ago use to go camping at sth straddie (tipplers) we were just sth of vmr (beenleigh air sea rescure)_ and just before morton bay trailer boat club, we were sitting on the beach in the deck chairs watching over the water around lunch time, when a old ski boat took off from just north of us, he got to about half way from tipplers to the couran cove or the canal's as we use to know them, he was going flat out with a 150 hp merc outboard on the back when his cable steering snapped, sending his boat in to flips may be 2 or 3 totally ripped the hull away from the deck, I will never forget it as soon as it happen boat's came from every way to get him and his boat back to shore which ended up being our camp site, I maned the radio and called vh4ang which was beenleigh air sea rescue and we ended up with the westpac heli coming out to get the guy the was still knocked out, I tell ya it scared the b jesus out of me and to this day after every trip I check my cable steering and spray it with wd40......

I have just started taking my kids out on the boat and they have lernt that boaties are the most freindly people out there, when in need of help wether your on the beach with your boat tied up and the motor cover off boaties will come over and check if they can help ,

I'm PROUD to call my self a boatie.....

Cheers Chris
    may you get a bend in your rod and your esky open often

One strange night while camping at south straddie I sitting back with me good mates in the green cans and this young bloke stumbles out of the dark all distrested like saying his boat is missing and can I help him find it. We head head out into the broadwater in my boat and he explains that some blokes from his high school thought it would be real funny to push a bunch of tinny's into the water. after about half an hour of searching in the pitch black we find his little tinny but this isn't before we find two other boats floating around with nobody on board right out in the middle of the chanel. All boats were returned to shore and I was left amazed at the sheer stupidity of these w$nkers. He found me in the morning and offered me his last ten bucks in thanks for helping him out but I said no thanks just glad to help.

One strange night while camping at south straddie I was sitting back with me good mates in the green cans and this young bloke stumbles out of the dark all distrested like saying his boat is missing and can I help him find it. We head head out into the broadwater in my boat and he explains that some blokes from his high school thought it would be real funny to push a bunch of tinny's into the water. after about half an hour of searching in the pitch black we find his little tinny but this isn't before we find two other boats floating around with nobody on board right out in the middle of the chanel. All boats were returned to shore and I was left amazed at the sheer stupidity of these w$nkers. He found me in the morning and offered me his last ten bucks in thanks for helping him out but I said no thanks just glad to help.

I remember once many years ago, a mate and I did a little bit of work on this boat I had. Finished the job and decided to take it for a little spin in the River to see if it was fixed. Launched at Fisherman Island and headed around into the River and towards the mouth. Everything was going along swimmingly until the pitch of the motor changed dramatically and everything stopped with a mechanical bang, puff and hiss. The tide was taking us out fast and, by the time we got the anchor out, we were opposite the grain wharf on the Northern side (we were able to steer and row the boat with the tide a bit). This was aboot 1230. The only rescue vessel in the area was attending to a sinking boat further up the river, so we had to wait. Investigation revealed that a piston had grabbed the bore and exploded; that motor was cactus. With a storm brewing and having no food, a bottle of water and smokes running out fast, we were towed in by the Water Police at about 1830. That added up to 6 hours swinging on the anchor rope. During that time, a number of trawlers came over for a look after we signalled to them; and they all refused point blank to render any sort of assistance. They are filed under "DON'T FORGET". Last year I took a mate for a quick ride over to Peel Island one afternoon. It was a bit blowy and a bit bumpy, but no major drama. Whilst showing him the Houseboat, these 2 blokes in a little half cab waved me over. They asked me if I could spare them any fuel. I then noticed that they were both sucking on cans of Bundy Rum. Even though I had about 150 litres under the floor, I said I couldn't spare any; they forgot to go to the servo on the way but they didn't forget to go to the pub. I'll help anybody in genuine distress who has suffered misfortune, but I won't help those who cause their own demise. It's usually the same blokes all the time who don't look after their gear and it fails, inconveniencing them and those who assist them. I'll tow a bloke to safety and contact rescue services if that is required, but i won't involve myself in their tales of woe.

NICK.

Foxy you did good mate, and as for the thanks.......I believe in Karma and you my friend have earnt yourself some really good karma

As for rescue, xmas day Brad, Bronte' and I where heading over to rattlesnake for an over nighter in our sportfish, we didn't even get out of the creek when we came across 2 young blokes in a long boat calling us over.

Turns out they had just got back from an over nighter at rattlesnake and had run out of fuel, we towed them back to the ramp and they offered us their best coral trout.

We did not take it but made them promise to do the same if they come across someone in need.

We headed back out had a great time and we had more than 50 litres on board so we made it home safe .............I never trust a tank that is not full.

Al

I've been helped on more then one occassion and will gladly return the favour if the opportunity arises. It can be a lonely place out there on the water and it's suprising the amount of stories about people refusing to lend a hand.
    Cheers, Jay
    Good on ya Dave .

Being towed back to land VERY slowly . Conditions were great there but got much uglier as the avo passed .

Bit quicker this time .

redspeckle

I have done heaps of rescue's in my 20 yrs of Surf life saving with being up and down coast of Queensland on Beach patrols done countless Rescue's of people, revive some back to life and others not thats life
    I have countlees story's to tell but not here becuse we are here talking about people in boats being rescued when in trouble
    I just done one about 12 months ago behind Coochie boat broken down and weather turning for the worse was his battery no charge left beacuase his plus where dirty and told didn't have motor serivce for 3yrs so I gave him one of my dual batterys and hook it up for him follow him to boat ramp back ask me for my address and phone no gave it to him but never herad from him again
    I read Dfox story the people rescued their they should be sending him at least a Xmas card every year wasn't for him they wouldn't be alive today
    Unfortunatly its way soicety is heading and people don't gave thanks
    only care about themselfs, because I am like Dfox + other ausfishers storys here saved people's lives and don't hear from them every again
    Mitch

Rescued a bloke once out of the Pine River a few years ago in the middle of winter. Heading back towards Deep Water bend on dusk my mate noticed a hull sitting out of the water bow pointing to the sky. Went over to the chap and as we got closer noticed a nearly emptied rum bottle floating down the river. Yep he was a pissed as a newt wearing only a pair of shorts He was hanging onto his boat with one hand and an esky with the other. By this time another boat had turned up and one of the blokes dove in the water and help up right the tinnie and bail the water out. (we had to led him a bucket)

The whole time the bloke would not let go of the esky. Eventually the skipper of the other boat got a hold of the esky and checked it's content. FULL of Jennies > he proceeded to empty the entire contents back into the river to the guys tears What an idiot pissed wearing a pair of shorts in the middle of winter keeping Jennies > One of the hire boats from Bears had also witnessed the ordeal and broke down so we towed them back to the hire joint. Two resues in one day Once the guy at the hire shop learned of what happened he tore of down the road to confront the bloke about taking Jennies. He even offered some free bait next time we were down that way for towing back the hire tinnie and occupants, yet the pissed bloke didn't even offer so much as a grunt for saving his sorry ass