Page 6 of 8 FirstFirst 12345678 LastLast

Thread: Another boat swamped in the Bay HOW?

Re: Another boat swamped in the Bay HOW?

what i am really really hoping is that my post here will be the last on this thread. Its gone on way too long and for those who would like to carry on with it, maybe you can wait till the next time a boat sinks in the bay (should be next week the way things are going) and then reply to the thread that will no doubt spring up within minuites of its occurance.... cheers.

To Stephen & Daniell, I have followed the postings here with interest & can understand how things can get out of plumb a bit, the main thread tho' is from everyone pleased the outcome was good with you both back on the good old terra firma in one piece(the more firma the less terra eh! ), Stephen I admire your efforts to overcome your illness & to enjoy your fishing, I cant speak for everyone on this board but I dont know of a better bunch of fisho's that are willing to help one another, in saying that no one seems to have picked up the fact that you have a water damaged boat & probably lost a fair bit of gear, if you need any assistance with anything at all please let us know, I have been fishing Wello a bit lately with the plastics with a little bit of success so if you & Danielle want to test the water, so to speak till your craft is up & running again just send me a pm & we will organise a couple of hours for an early morning for a franger frow. Cheers Touchy.><> ><> ><>

Darryl

Adam you wont stop peoples curiosity. Nice try though.

Touchy if you get a pm and they need help mate , feel free to pm me and i will be glad to help.

Darryl.

Thanks to Danielle's mother for taking the time to post a bit of an explanation and not taking what has been written on here personally. Unfortunately, what was written still does not quite seem to explain a 4.3 m boat capsizing, but this could be due to lack of visibility and confusion at night. Things can go wrong very quickly as many of us no doubt know and perhaps at night it wasn't exactly clear what happened. I sincerely hope none of the people in the other boats that night actually saw them in the water. Would be a great blight on human nature (in particular theirs) if they saw them and left them.

At least Stephen and Danielle survived the experience and will be much wiser for it. Expensive exercise though. I always wonder at people who claim they cannot afford insurance. If you can't afford a couple of hundred for insurance......sure as hell ain't gunna be able to afford a new outboard and full set of electronics.

"The underlying spirit of angling is that the skill of the angler is pitted against the instinct and strength of the fish and the latter is entitled to an even chance for it's life."
    (Quotation from the rules of the Tuna Club Avalon, Santa Catalina, U.S.A.)

Apathy is the enemy

So what have we learned here.

Well I for one will probably place a lanyard or similar from my throttle to the grab bag to ensure I can always locate it easily after the mess of a flipped craft, maybe even a spare lifevest always clipped in the same location as well rather than just flung into the cuddy.

The other thing I will contemplate is the action of turning into a wave quickly to try and hit it front on. This I believe is a common cause for problems irrespective of size of craft if you are not turned and stable by the time the wave hits. If Stephen knew his craft would have behaved in this way when he turned he would obviously not have done it and same goes for plenty of people who get hit by freak waves or the like and then go down. I liken it to hitting the brakes when you see a freak speedbump and you need to release the brakes before you actually hit or you're toast.
    If I'm worried about a big wave offshore then often enough I've just throttled back and bobbed over the top.

Stephen is a young man who will exit this experience with more skill than he had before and it will make him a better skipper. We're all responsible for our crafts when something goes wrong so theres no point in blaming anything else, we're responsible for knowing our craft and we all try to ensure we don't push our own craft beyond its capability. Where that line goes we don't always know hence we find experienced skippers also making mistakes.

Congratulations to safely getting out of a sticky situation and guys there are heaps of great folks on this site so ensure you take up the offers of such a gentleman such as Touchy, he'll both teach you how to fish and how to handle a flattie we might then see you at a future meet and greet and we can trade stories.

I've got something out of the thread so thanks.
    BB

Quote Originally Posted by Burley_Boy

<snip>

I've got something out of the thread so thanks.
    BB
    Think we all have, even if it's only patience

Amen to that Kev!

Quote Originally Posted by adam_ngakiri
    what i am really really hoping is that my post here will be the last on this thread. Its gone on way too long and for those who would like to carry on with it, maybe you can wait till the next time a boat sinks in the bay (should be next week the way things are going) and then reply to the thread that will no doubt spring up within minuites of its occurance.... cheers.
    Adam,

This is a good topic for discussion..... since most people here have boats (if you havn't noticed )

Raising awareness of boating safety, by posting opinions and maybe doing a bit of a post-mortem, does no harm me thinks.

Roz
    GO THE CRUISER UTES!

....OH WHAT A FEELING!

I've just had to modify my post, missed reading a couple of posts back there.

There maybe a few borderline comments.

I still stand by what I've said Adam.

Roz

GO THE CRUISER UTES!

....OH WHAT A FEELING!

Hi all, there is one thing " i have learnt from these posts", that the sea is not to be taken for granted no matter what the conditions are. I will be making sure that my life jackets and safety equipment are in a more accessible place and not in some dark recess of the boat, even then these things can happen so quickly it might be an idea to wear life jackets at all times (now that would be a pain).

MAL.

Mal,
    This may seem like a bit of an over kill but I know in NSW it is law that you have to wear you PFD's whilst crossing Bars. I know this did not happen in a bar however, it brings me to the point of what harm is there in wearing our PFD’s whilst traveling. We often see children of all shapes and sizes wearing them whilst out in the boat. Maybe we should adopt the same as NSW and wear PFD's whilst crossing bar's and maybe also in semi open waters whilst traveling. Just a thought/idea I mean I do not mind looking like a Weirdo wearing a PFD whilst burning round the bay. Just take it off once you’re anchored up and fishing who knows.....it could save lives / incidents.

MAD!

I actually had trouble getting to sleep last night thinking about this thread. I was mulling over in my mind just how long it would take to open the lockers, get out the PFD's and don them.

This morning I tested the kid's ability to wear them correctly without me helping them, as there would be little time for helping in an emergency. None of the kids could complete the task correctly, despite us having had drills in the past. I concluded that the cheaper models are next to useless in an emergency as far as kids are concerned. They take time and effort to don correctly and unless worn often, it is easily forgotten (by kids) how to use the straps.

Where safety is concerned, (I concluded) cost should not be a factor so I resigned myself to purchasing new pfd 1's for the kids of the vest type that can be easily donned, are much more comfortable and therefore more conducive to wearing whilst underway. These types can be fitted in a couple of seconds.

I already feel as though a weight has been lifted from my shoulders and the kids are over the moon with them and are prepared to wear them whenever I deem fit.

Thanks to Jason of SM who advised, gave excellent discount, and was a breath of fresh air in regard to good old fashioned customer service.

kev great even if a little shocking to hear (wonder how quick many of us could do that in)
    i see you agree with me that those brick type PFD as next to useless and i belive IMHO that they should be taken off the market

we have the jacket type one and one think i like about them is that they are just the right shape to fit over the back of your chair makeing them so easy to get to

however this year i will be going a sep ferther and buying the misses and son a stormyseas inflatable job that can self inflate but can also be release if traped under something and re blown up via a mouth peice

p.s. never ment to get personal just got me off side with the large word however the last part about peopel saying sorry was more at derek whoquestioned if kazza wasfor real or not
    if that was me after only a few day at home i wouldn't be saying much either just wanting to spend time with the kids

Quote Originally Posted by sf17fisherman

<snip>p.s. never ment to get personal just got me off side

<snip>
    No worries mate. It's a credit to you that you tried to defend them, when you thought they were being attacked.

Safety is a very emotive issue and is bound to raise a few hackles now and again. As I say, we have all learned from it and I think there may well be a few more folk wondering just how quick they could get to their PFD's and put 'em on.

The brick types have their place though if you're prepared to wear 'em all the time. Having done the drills this morning I really am convinced that they're next to useless in a hurried emergency situation. I mean how many people could be bothered to bugger about with those straps just prior to bar crossing? A vest is so much more practical. That said, The "bricks" are better than nothing for those on a low budget estuary fishing and the like.

I'm just feeling so much more relaxed having done what I consider to be right, by my kids.

Hi Kev, good onya for taking the step to upgrade your pfd's and having your family carry out a drill. I have the jacket type pfd's 1, but no good to me if i have them under the floor of my boat, but that has now changed. I will take Mad_fisferman advice on board to wear pfd whilst under way and in adverse weather.

MAL.