Originally Posted by fish2eat
???
???
it only reinforces the message to those that would not do it anyway...
the ones that think it is overkill or think they can get away with it will never change whatever their thoughts or attitude to the situation ..
I heard it on the ABC new last night, and IMHO this man showed a complete lack of commonsence and poor judgement....probably the same thing. The penalty was well and truely deserved.
GO THE CRUISER UTES!
....OH WHAT A FEELING!
Exactly - making an example of people has never, and will never achieve anything.Originally Posted by fish2eat
And until someone can precisely and rationally describe the mistake he made, there is no lesson here either.
Exactly - making an example of people has never, and will never achieve anything.Originally Posted by lunar_c
And until someone can precisely and rationally describe the mistake he made, there is no lesson here either.
[/quote]
the sea conditions were a catalyst for a series of events that led him to placing his children in Danger....
BECAUSE...they were incorrectly fitted...and supplied without the PROPER saftey gear...by HIM
Originally Posted by sf17fisherman
And that of yourself. IMHO you are limiting your children’s chance of survival if you aren't in the boat or out cold on the deck.
Juicy
[quote author=sf17fisherman link=1138699525/15#28 date=1138748388<snip>
as for what gear he had we yes he may not of had the right lifejackets (and i agree with him that boat dealer need to set up more) i have seen countless times of boats brand new being sold to young familys with mum dad and two kids and yet the dealers are more than happy to send them out with four adult life jackets and never mention how they are useless to the kids if the time comes
dealers should really look at who they are selling the boats to and fit them up according
[/quote]
Mate, this is what constantly frustrates me in life in general. What the hell has it got to do with dealers or anyone else for that matter just what your kids will be wearing? Their responsibility is to sell you a seaworthy boat and if it comes with adult life jackets then it isn't up to the dealer to say, "er excuse me, do you have kiddies so I can swap these adult lifejackets for you". Yes, it would be nice if he did, but I think that if we all think about it, there is just too much of this crap around nowadays.
As I have said, it's about owning *our* behaviour and accepting *our* responsibility. It's *our* responsibility to insure our kid's safety not some dealer.
I am getting the distinct feeling in this thread that some are judging this guy based on the notion that they may have similar "bad luck". They are arguing his case for fear that similar circumstances may befall them and they don't want to be judged as he is being judged. I am not aiming this at anyone, just stating that this is the "overall" impression that I am getting from this thread, and if that impression continues then I think there will be some of us who will have learned nothing.
I'm not perfect, and no doubt in the future (now I have tempted fate), something may happen whereby I will be in need of help, but when it's all over, I will not blame "unforseen" circumstances. You make allowances for the "unforseen" where your kids safety is concerned. What you think about your own "luck" is your business. Yes, I may make mistakes, and yes, I will be called to book for them, what I will not do is say that I was just "unlucky".
When you make mistakes, you hold your hands up, and when others make mistakes, you don't defend them just because a similar set of circumstances may befall you.
It is not against the law to be stupid, but it is stupid to be against the law.
And here's me thinking I had done just that???????Originally Posted by lunar_c
You can take a horse to water but you can't make him drink
Good points Kev, i wouldn't have made the trip in my 19 footer *myself* but if we dont make mistakes in life what do we learn...
I'm sure people in here have done a stupid thing or 2 in the past, and the only thing that seperates this guy from them is they didn't get caught.
And for everyones information , I have 4 kids and spent well over 700 bucks on the right gear, Overkill gear actually for where i fish with the kids, but i know they will be safe. Afterall you cant put a dollar value on a kids life.
Agreed mate and downright honest. We can all be prats at times and think that we're invincible but the sad fact is that some folk know they're *not* invincible, yet continue to put themselves, and others at risk.Originally Posted by Crestcutter
As I've said, we can't make allowances or minimise mistakes of others just because we've made 'em and may make a few more in the future. It's not the mistakes made via "human nature' that worries me, it's the recklesness and "she'll be right" attitude that seems to be getting more and more prevelant nowaday.
I mean, if we lose someone to a drink driver we don't minimise that just because we've driven when we've had a few drinks ourselves. Why then should we apply that non-logical stance to boat safety?
Don't know if folk are just getting used to "living life in the fast lane" and are less unafraid than they used to be? It's like the rave culture. Despite knowing that deaths and brain damage have occured, kids just continue to think of ecstacy as a "soft drug". I suppose they think they'll just be "lucky" and nothing will happen to them. When it does, they simply respond with, "I thought it'd be ok 'cause others are doing it <sigh> Similar applies to boat safety I suppose? "We've got away with it once so let's keep doing it.
It is not a war on drugs; it's a war on people.
Exactly right Kev.Originally Posted by kingtin
Everything that this guy has done wrong is a question of degree.
His kids were in PFD2 - a bit big but not ridiculously big - I saw the picture.
He had reserve fuel - but how much is enough?
Are we supposed to take the BoM forecast and double it?
Most of the hand wringing here is because it could have been worse.
Well it can always be worse - for any of us at any time.
I don't know what method you use to see the "unforseen" - but I'll wager anything you like you haven't seen all of it.
No one wants to acknowledge that he handled everything he was presented with that day and at no time were the jackets "tested". Until you can prove that his helmsmanship was incompetent, you can't assume his kids were "in imminent danger"
Once the law starts punishing citizens for outcomes that *might* occur, we are all in serious trouble.
I will happily stand corrected if someone can precisely identify the error he made.
i'm done on this one
well said Kev
see below quote![]()
the fine is ridiculously excessive.....i'd appeal it >![]()
lunacy..a fair reseserve of fuel..fair go mate.. missed by that much isn`t good enough..if you can`t calculate how much fuel you need (use worse not best conditions you shouldn`t venture further than you can paddle.to use thumps words and quote ,if i may .alex >>
![]()
kev not sure if you have seen what i have but i have seen dealer see young family with kids new to boating not knowing anything (it wasn't the case in this case)see them with their young kids and just hand them the brick type cheap pfd1 and say nothing
now in many cases the famliy goes out boating thinking they are fine they have 4 pfd1 as stated they must in the safty list unawear that the adult pfd1 is next to useless to there little 5 year olds
i have even seen it with a single mother buying a boat for the river for her and her three kids same thing left the store without proper jackets and where i'm getting at is that the dealer aren't even surgesting they they upgrade the jackets to the kids ones
in most cases people will be more than happy to fork out the extra for the proper pfd1 for the kids
sure in alot of our cases we are awear of what is needed and what we need above the standered safty gear but people new to boating don't they are only going by what the law says
back to the topic as i have said he may or maynot be ok with the fine me myself i couldn't care less about a fine aslong as my son got out ok
i would be so bitter with myself for putting him there
i have been caught out in squalls so i know they can pop up unexpected and very quick so i know takeing my family boating i'm putting them at risk each time